We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel, well located”
Review of Hotel Pax Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pax Opera
Ranked #369 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel, well located”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a 2 night stay in May 2014 and very happy with the service, cleanliness , people , buffet breakfast. Good location for taxis , metro and bus. Beds are comfortable, staff helpful and rooms are clean. Within walking of good restaurants and bars. We came by Eurostar and walked from the station easily. Also well located to the Hop on Hop off tour bus. Good to see tea making facilities in the room. But paper cups not ideal, however the staff were happy to supply crockery cups on request.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the rue de Trevise was good, not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acaciagrove_original
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your comment, Thank you very much. We all enjoyed it.

We are happy to know that you appreciated the hotel, the location and the cleanness of your room.

We offer tea and coffee facilities in each room as well as a bottle of water upon arrival.
In the bathroom, we provide cotton buds, tissues and slippers.

Hoping to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris,

Kind Regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    394
    106
    28
    16
See reviews for
175
389
60
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 5 day break and very happy with the service, cleanliness , people , buffet breakfast. Good location for taxis , metro and bus. Beds are comfort , staff helpful and rooms are clean. Within walking of good restaurants and bars.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay in our house.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel, the location, the breakfast, the cleanness and the comfort of your room.
There are many restaurants and bars in the area.

Hoping to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind Regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Overall, it was a very good hotel with good service and a great location (in the city centre, 2 minutes walking from the metrostation Cadet). There were some things that weren't really good (for example how clean it was), but it wasn't terrible. It isn't very special; you just have two or three beds and a bathroom with a shower and a toilet. But you don't really need any extra's, cause you've got a wonderful city all around you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evalugard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay in our house.
Our location is central, 2 minutes away from Metro Cadet Station (line 7) 5 minutes away from Metro Grand Boulevard Station (Line 7) and a-10 minute walk to Gare du Nord Station and walk to the Opera House and department stores as Galleries Lafayette and Printemps.

We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived early at the hotel after an exhausting flight and our room was ready for us. Everyone was very friendly and the service was excellent.
When we had to leave early for another flight they helped us with an early breakfast. They really want out of their way to accommodate us! The rooms are beautiful.
Staying at Hotel Pax Opera really made our stay in Paris awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacoline L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.Welcoming service is one of our priorities.
We are glad to read that you appreciated the decoration of your room.
Hoping to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind Regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This five day break was a 60th birthday present from my husband to Paris and the hotel was very good. Staff were very helpful especially the girl who was on reception she gave us names of places to eat which served French cuisine and they were excellent. The hotel rooms are adequate but clean and comfortable. The hotel was in a good position to walk to most places. The breakfast was continental which was also good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Maria appreciated to read it.
Welcoming service and the cleanness are our priorities.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel, our breakfast and the location of our house.

We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind Regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musk, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel three times. The breakfast is a very good buffet. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Basically I cannot fault them. The staff have always been very helpful particularly when organizing a shuttle to the airport. I had begun to view it as my hotel in Paris. However after my last visit I would not stay there again. I am gay and I was with my partner. Our room had been booked as a double with a double bed. We were asked on check-in by the male concierge whether we wished a double bed or two single beds. I said it didn't matter. To which I got the reply:"oh, one of those". I said nothing, but I resolved never to stay there again. It's a pity that such a nice hotel is marred by such behaviour. We travel through Paris often and have now booked a hotel in the Marais, where I presume such comments would be unthinkable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bdx1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment and for your satisfaction about the comfort of the room.
We are really sorry about the misunderstanding concerning the bed type.
Having an international and multiple clientele, we respect all our clients included the gay ones.
Once again we are sorry if you felt that the attitude of the male receptionist who welcomed you was not appropriated.
Hoping your understanding, we would be glad to accommodate you again in our house.
Best regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Garde du Nord area of Paris can be, let's face it, nasty at times and finding a good hotel for an overnight can be tricky. I was coming in by Thalys from Brussels and flying out the next day from Charles-de-Gaulle airport, so wanted something close to the Gare du nord but not right in the thick of it.

Hotel Pax Opera turned out to be a good option. It's about a fifteen minute walk from the Gare du nord, so walkable with luggage, or two metro stops from the gare. I found it fairly easily. Go down rue La Fayette, pass by a church and a park, and then it's down a block on rue Trevise. As it's off the main drag, it's quiet for being in such a central zone.

The lobby screams the hotels I remember as a child in Paris, but the room I had was surprisingly modern. Like most Parisian hotels, it was snug, but adequate. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke English from what I could see. You have to leave your key when you go out, so you do get a bit of Old World charm.

The breakfast buffet was very good and included a variety of options. I am so glad to see hotels in Paris move towards a buffet. Who can manage a day of travel or sightseeing on a couple of croissants?

Overall, it was good value for money, a hearty breakfast for a day of travel and a good location. I'd definitely stay there again if I needed a night or two in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miccodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice comment.
We are happy to read that you appreciated the decoration, the atmosphere of our house, the location of our hotel and the buffet breakfast.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.
Kind regards,
Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#432 of 1,802 in Paris
649 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#373 of 1,802 in Paris
461 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#791 of 1,802 in Paris
373 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#109 of 1,802 in Paris
1,274 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Opera Cadet Hotel
Opera Cadet Hotel
#310 of 1,802 in Paris
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pax Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pax Opera

Property: Hotel Pax Opera
Address: 47 rue de Trevise, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in Paris
#466 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pax Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pax Opera is in the 9th district of Paris, between Opera Garnier and Gare du Nord. It offers modern rooms in the heart of the capital with free Wi-Fi.The soundproof rooms feature air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite and cable channels.A breakfast buffet is available in the hotel breakfast room. Pax Opera also serves a continental breakfast in the guest room upon request.The hotel features a 24-hour bar and can arrange an airport shuttle service upon request from hotel to airport.Pax Opera is a 2 minute walk from the Folies Bergères music hall, theaters and shops. Cadet Metro Station is 220 yards from the hotel, providing access to the city’s numerous sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pax Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pax Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing