We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of Hotel Pax Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pax Opera
Ranked #367 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“short break”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having never been to paris before I cant compare to other hotels, but I think pax opera was fine, the staff were vary helpful, breakfast was good the room was very small, but had a kettle and tv so I was happy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank india w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. All the staff were happy to read it. Welcoming service is one of our priorities. We are glad that you appreciated our buffet breakfast.
In each room we provide tea and coffee facilities.
We have several types of room with different sizes.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind Regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    396
    107
    28
    16
See reviews for
175
392
60
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a real gem of a Hotel, probably the nicest one we have stayed in during our multiple stays in central Paris. You can easily pay extortionate prices to stay in this fabulous City however, this Hotel goes to prove that there really is no need to.

It’s located really closely to lots of sites and The Hotel Peyris is the Hotel Pax’s sister Hotel and is literally a stones-throw away so I would imagine that it would be of a similar standard.

The staff at the Pax Opera were so friendly and amenable, check-in officially wasn’t until 2pm but, when we arrived at 10am, they asked if we could wait 10 minutes and they would get a room ready for us! So obviously we did wait and were able to quickly unpack before heading off out! Our room was beautiful (room 22), it was really big and had lovely complimentary amenities in the bathroom (including slippers), in the lounge/bedroom there was tea and coffee making facilities, a sofa, full size double wardrobe, massive flat-screen TV, complimentary bottles of water and more!

There was a carpeted spiral staircase that took you to each floor with a small lift that ran up the central section of the staircase. They said the lift held up to 3 people (but they would have to be very skinny), 2 people was much more comfortable and would have been reduced to one person if you had a suitcase as well!! Saying that though, walking the stairs was no problem at all and in between the first floor and reception was a mezzanine floor where a locked luggage room and safety deposit boxes were located. There was also free Wi-Fi throughout and a computer that was free to use if you wanted. Going briefly back to the safe, there is a charge of about 4 Euros per day and a 20 Euro (refundable) deposit is also required. The safe is huge though and comfortably fits a large amount of valuables and would easily accommodate belongings of 2-4 people (if you are holidaying with friends and family, you could easily share one safe).

There was a small bar and breakfast room (breakfast was in the continental style – cereals, rolls, bread/toast, jams, marmalade and other spreads, croissant, cake, juice, tea, coffee etc) on the ground floor and the furniture would not have looked out of place in an Alice in Wonderland film as they were plush velvet burgundy chase-lounges and elaborate chairs.

The Hotel was directly off of one of the main streets and a 2-minute walk away from a metro station (far enough away from both so as not to be disturbed by any noise!). There was a supermarket on the next street across and everything else was in really close proximity.

The night before we were due to depart, (as we were leaving early) we asked if they could provide a ‘breakfast box’ (as breakfast had been included in the price we paid). They were more than happy to oblige and asked what time we would like it for (we had confirmed that we would need it for 5.30am) normal breakfast time at the weekends is 7.30am (7am I think during the week).

However, the following morning when we went downstairs to check-out, the same gentleman was on duty and we couldn’t believe our eyes as he had laid out the ‘drawing room’ with drinks and pastries just for us – it was such a kind and thoughtful gesture!

Anyway, after eating what they had laid out (well nearly all of it, they had been extremely generous with what they had served us), we left to walk to the Gard du Nord station which was about 20 minutes away.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone and we hope to return next year!

Room Tip: Room 22 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay in our house.
Your description is wonderful and it will help other travelers.
We now have a safe in each room and it is free of charge.

We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a three-star hotel, so don't set your expectations too high. We did not choose to stay here as it was booked for us, and I wouldn't have chosen it myself. The best thing really is the location - within walking distance of cafes, bars, restaurants, the Gelleries Lafayette etc. The receptionist advised us that it would be too far to walk to the main sights but it really wasn't - there's no need to get on the underground. Just wander around the lovely side streets... it's the best way to discover a city!

The room was ok - somewhere which is fine for one night. The bed was comfortable and there is a good shower. But it is definitely a three-star place, i.e. awful carpet throughout, dodgy-looking lift, windows with no privacy (you're totally overlooked by the apartments opposite), and maybe not as clean as it could have been.

Breakfast was fine - the usual bread/jam/coffee buffet.

Come here if you want a cheap night but just don't set your expectations too high.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to read that you are not satisfied with our hotel.

We thank you to have mentioned that you enjoyed the location, the breakfast and the bed.

Best Regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location of the hotel is good given that it is near a Metro Station (Cadet). There are also sufficient eating places in the vicinity as well as a supermarket and laundromat just round the corner. There is an electric kettle in the room which is useful for guests who enjoy having hot drinks often. The room size is good enough for two persons. The room is pleasantly decorated and has an air-con unit which allows guests to adjust the temperature to one's preference.

However, there is room for improvement for customer service. There is simply no staff at all on duty to help guests with their luggage and it certainly did not help that the hotel has a lift that can only fit 2 adults and 1 child at a time. In addition, when my husband requested for hotel transfer service to the airport, he was not told that we would be sharing the vehicle with another guest from another hotel. We were charged 18 Euros per person under the impression that it was a direct ride to the airport which could save us time hailing a taxi. We were disappointed that it took us 20 mins more to get to the airport as the driver had to pick up the other guest. Fortunately, we were in time for our flight.

Also, the cleanliness of the room remains to be further assessed. I returned to my home country straight after my stay in Hotel Pax Opera and a couple of days later, red spots manifested on my body. According to the doctor, they are possibly bites by bugs or mites inhabiting in beds and/or upholstery and spots usually appear on the body a few days after the person has been bitten. Besides, there was a blood stain on the quilt!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissusDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direct at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
For airport transfers we work with several independent companies.
This type of service is a less expensive option than a taxi. However the performance is not the same.
For your information it is very difficult to predict the travel time, depending on the congestion often important in Paris.

We are sorry that you are not satisfied with the level of cleanness and particularly about the blood stain on the quilt. Rooms are cleaned every day and the quilt regularly washed.

Concerning the bites that appeared on your body, we must say that we did not register any other complaint so we have doubt about the fact that you had this problem in our hotel.

Our elevator is small because it was built in the middle of the twentieth century in the staircase, as in many buildings in the center of Paris.

We thank you to have mentioned that you appreciated the location, coffee and tea facilities.

Best Regards,
Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

. The staff were very pleasant and helpful which increased the pleasure in staying there. The rooms were clean, bed comfortable. We had 2 rooms which was ideal for our family.
Breakfast more than adequate. Would be more than happy to stay again. Plus Very convenient for the metro. There was a nice friendly bar next door

Room Tip: 23 was a bright airy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay in our house. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our staff, our location, our buffet breakfast and the cleanness of your room.
We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location was perfect - walking distance of the Paris Opera House and Galleries Lafayette (for the shoppers - all the top labels are there !) Great choice of restaurants in the neighbourhood, and a very convenient super market right around the corner...and a bank machine right there too! Quiet at night. Staff will help you book tours and make the appropriate arrangements too! Breakfast was included and lots of variety. Yes, the rooms are small and the elevator only accommodates one or two people, but everything works smoothly and all is easily accessible. We would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your nice comment.
All the staff were happy to read it.

We are glad to know that you appreciated our location, our buffet breakfast and your room. There are many restaurants and bars in the area.
Hoping to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris,

Kind Regard,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked the Pax Opera for a short stay having read the reviews. Hotel was excellent. Receptionist on our arrival very helpful and gave us a description of useful places. Location was fine and we walked from Gare du Nord. Hotel handy for Metro but Paris is quite compact and we walked to most places. Metro tho' is incredibly cheap. Good choice at breakfast. Yes, the room was somewhat small but it was perfectly adequate and very comfortable and in any event you don't spend time in your room when there's the whole of Paris to see.

Room Tip: We took pot luck and the room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay in our house. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our staff, our location and our buffet breakfast.
Our location is central, 2 minutes away from Metro Cadet Station (line 7) 5 minutes away from Metro Grand Boulevard Station (Line 7) and a-10 minute walk to Gare du Nord Station and walk to the Opera House and department stores as Galleries Lafayette and Printemps.

We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#467 of 1,801 in Paris
654 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#391 of 1,801 in Paris
470 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Opera Cadet Hotel
Opera Cadet Hotel
#297 of 1,801 in Paris
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#209 of 1,801 in Paris
698 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#237 of 1,801 in Paris
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pax Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pax Opera

Property: Hotel Pax Opera
Address: 47 rue de Trevise, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in Paris
#466 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pax Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pax Opera is in the 9th district of Paris, between Opera Garnier and Gare du Nord. It offers modern rooms in the heart of the capital with free Wi-Fi.The soundproof rooms feature air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite and cable channels.A breakfast buffet is available in the hotel breakfast room. Pax Opera also serves a continental breakfast in the guest room upon request.The hotel features a 24-hour bar and can arrange an airport shuttle service upon request from hotel to airport.Pax Opera is a 2 minute walk from the Folies Bergères music hall, theaters and shops. Cadet Metro Station is 220 yards from the hotel, providing access to the city’s numerous sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pax Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pax Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing