We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tonic Hotel Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tonic Hotel Louvre
Ranked #1,514 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice. The people working it are very helpful and speak English. The price is cheap and it's a great location! It's in the middle of everything, walking distance. Rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels. I enjoyed me stay at this hotel

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank whitdanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    122
    92
    58
    68
See reviews for
79
127
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have to say how disappointed I was with this hotel. I got it for the location because it was close to the Louvre and didn't think it would be too bad. My mistake. There were no mirrors in the room except in the washroom so when you are traveling with 2 other people it was impossible to get ready. The doors to the rooms need to be oiled. When other guests would open and close their doors it would make a really loud squeak. The blow dryer gives lukewarm heat so when you are there late October when it starts to get cold, it will take you a good hour to dry your hair if it is long. The windows all need to be replaced. Every morning around 6:30 am the recycling trucks will drive by the hotel and it sounds like about a million bottles being crashed and thrown around. You will also enjoy the beeping of trucks backing up, people yelling in the middle of the night. I think there is a nightclub close by because every night people were screaming and singing and you can hear everything as though all the windows in your room were wide open.

The walls are so thin, you can hear people blowing drying their hair next door. You can't sleep at night and will manage to get some rest between 8am to 11am when things get a bit quiet.

The elevator only fits one person. If you have a big suitcase, good luck getting in with your suitcase up the elevator. Ther is a TERRIBLE sushi place across the street called Yaki Shop. I don't even know what it was they served us. There is a place close by called Takara owned by a japanese chef that is supposed to be fantastic. They were booked solid unfortunately so we couldn't get in. Most places we tried you needed to have made a reso...first red flag when we walked in to Yaki Shop was that there was no one in there. Cucumber was off, not sure what their miso soup was, chicken did not look like meat at all, fish very salty so I think they are trying to keep it longer than they should for raw fish.

I hate to be down on this hotel because I love Paris, but people...avoid this one. You'll thank me in the end.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoes4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent as it is very close to the Louvre Museum, the main shopping street (Rue de Rivoli) and the metro station (Louvre-Rivoli and Chatelet). However, the hotel was not very clean, especially the bathroom. Dirty glasses were not changed or removed by the cleaner and there were a number of rodenticides in the hotel room which I found appalling to find.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageur-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

with reading the other reviews, the name is the same, the address is the same with what is being said it sounds like a totally different place?!
the rooms were not remotely close to what is shown on the website, the room we had faced the street that had a bar just a couple doors down which was very loud until the very early hours. Tried our best to keep the windows open not just to keep the room cool but to let in some air and let out the smell (wet dog comes to mind).
The 7 Euro breakfast was bread/croissant, yogurt or fruit salad (unused is recycled), coffee - the 12 Euro breakfast would have gotten you eggs or cheese.
Location was fantastic, and the staff were friendly and the room was tidied each day (even when the do not distrube sign was on the door), the shuttle was on time and inexpensive.
But those items wouldn't make me want to stay there again, nor recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Need to spend weekend in Paris, find Tonic from Expedia package. It is a value hotel with great location. very friendly staff. Our room was small but clean, bedding was comfortable. private small bathroom was sufficient. The shuttle bus took us to airport, it took longer time than taxi, due to other pickups, so plan ahead to suit your transportation need, so as to not miss your flight.

Room Tip: it was booked online with default, wish to see hotel room photo when booking, it's smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a very attractive 3 star hotel in the fashionable centre of Paris and in a pleasant quiet street. The hotel has been carved out of three buildings giving the hotel a rather eccentric appearance due to differing levels. My room was spotlessly clean and well serviced. There was a large bathroom with a bath, shower and lots of hot water. The lift was said to take a maximum of four people but they would have to be good friends. Breakfast was provided at two different prices, one including scrambled eggs and sausages, whilst the other was the standard Continental type of breakfast.

I found all the staff very friendly and helpfull at all times and I must particularly complement the dark haired receptionist for her cheeriness. The area has a good selection of shops, cafes and restaurants giving plenty of choice. This is not the cheapest area of Paris but it is most convenient for Ile de la Cite, via Pont Neuf, and Jardin des Tuileries with its walks and cafes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Very good located with great service. Rooms are big, with comfortable beds and very clean. The breakfast is very nice. For 7 euro you can have croissant, yogurt, jam, butter, mussles, eggs, coffe and tea. The receptionist kindly arranged a taxi and helped to find museums and restaurants.
And for me the biggest plus was the calm street, where the hotel is located. Not noizy, without clubs and bars. A really good hotel for a weekend with family or couple.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaZab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Saint-Honore
Hotel Saint-Honore
#923 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Les Halles
BEST WESTERN Ducs De Bourgogne
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,370 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#309 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Konfidentiel
Hotel Konfidentiel
#850 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,121 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonic Hotel Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel Louvre

Property: Tonic Hotel Louvre
Address: 12 rue du Roule, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,514 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonic Hotel Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonic Hotel Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Paris
Tonic Du Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing