We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single room don't do it”
Review of Royal Bastille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Bastille
Ranked #1,555 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Single room don't do it”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for work one night as is was in the neighbourhood. Wel nice area, place de la bastille around the corner.but hotel, very average, small room, no elevator and a lot of stairs. Consider it budget hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    31
    38
    18
    26
See reviews for
16
50
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were reserved suite for three persons because it looked so nice and spacious.
And there should have been for example minibar, two tv:s, telephone and much more space.
But we got two terrible room together and there weren´t minibar and so on.. So i can't suggest that "suitehotel".
In the hotel guide they have put so nice pictures of those "suites", which are not true.
They are only cheating tourists..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piudeEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were taken here after rejecting an apartment close by due to cleanliness. Were given a suite (101) right next to the reception desk. The room was large by Paris standards and reasonably well equipped (bar fridge, fans - no a/c, separate bathroom with a bath.) Furnishings were dated, and a repaint would have been good. We could smell cigarette smoke all night from the bar underneath, and it was quite noisy, but ok if you closed the window and used the fans. The Fluoro hotel sign outside the window didn't help keep it dark, and the curtains didn't close properly. The staff on the reception desk outside smoked 24/7 , but so does all of Paris! The staff speak English. Cleanliness was ok, and room was serviced daily. Breakfast was included in the price, but we ate at Starbucks after the first day! Coffee was weak and cold, the bread roll was colder, and the orange juice was watered down. However, it was a central location, steps to metro and taxi, and a Sunday market around the corner. You are only steps from the Bastille monument, and 5ks from the Eurostar and GTV. Heaps of eateries on the street, ice cream shops, bakeries etc. 10 min walk to Seine and attractions.

Room Tip: If you want a large room, ask for front level3 up. Back rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddles19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The first think I thought once I went in was "how can exist an hotel like this one??!".
Actually it is not an hotel but a dump, the worst ever.
Little room with very bad and small beds. I booked the room and I was completed embarrassed with my boyfriend. The bathroom literary dirty with no towels and hairs on the floor and in the bath.
I asked the boss to come into my room and personally have a look who insured me that the housekeeper was there few minutes ago to clean the room!?!
Is that a joke??
Really bed and expensive! Please do not go!
Ivana

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanaguarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The big plus about this hotel is it's location.
A reasonable 2 star hotel right at the Basteille, just beside the Metro ( line 1 ) was the reason I decided to stay here for the Tour de France weekend.
I found the staff in the main helpful and friendly. The room was small at the back of the house , so no view, but I didn't come to Paris to sit in a hotel room. The main thing was that it was clean and fresh. Another plus was free WiFi in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Daval
Hotel Daval
#1,258 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel des Sans Culottes
Hotel des Sans Culottes
#1,446 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#316 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
#1,504 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Baudin
Hotel Baudin
#1,407 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#113 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bastille

Property: Royal Bastille
Address: 14 rue de la Roquette, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,555 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Bastille 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bastille Paris
Royal Bastille Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing