We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overall except for one incident” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Bastille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Bastille
Ranked #1,506 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Westport, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good overall except for one incident”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I can't fault the location as food,shopping and transport were all within walking distance.We stayed 6 nights and thank goodness,our floor were at the 3rd floor,so the noise from the street didn't really affect us.Our room were clean enough,though for 100euro a night,a few more amenities would have been welcome.The staff were friendly enough and were helpful.However,on the 2nd night of our stay,when we came back to our room after being out the whole day,we found the painting that was on the wall had fallen to the ground and the glass frame had shattered to pieces.A quick check revealed nothing was stolen,so a robbery was ruled out immediately.We hadn't a clue what happened.So,the sensible thing to do then was to inform reception.When we told the person at reception(who was of Filipino or Vietnamese origin-the reason we're telling this is if the management ever reads this review,he/she knows who we're referring to),we were met with the most incredulous and umsympathetic response.Initially,he was reluctant to come to our room and see for himself.He kept saying that he couldn't leave his station as he was the lone person there.I understand that but it takes only A MINUTE to check our room.When he finally came to our room,he kept repeating that it was impossible it could have happened.Yes..but we didn't break the painting.Then he just took the painting and left,leaving all the broken pieces of glass on the floor.Seriously??Are we supposed to step on broken glass?Incredible!I personally had to pick up the broken pieces and brought them to reception.Then I had to personally sweep the floor and scoop up the broken pieces.And all the while this staff member showed no empathy and being ever so unfriendly.For 100 euro a night,the least we can expect is for someone to pick up some pieces of broken glass!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lphred25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    31
    37
    18
    25
See reviews for
15
50
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for work one night as is was in the neighbourhood. Wel nice area, place de la bastille around the corner.but hotel, very average, small room, no elevator and a lot of stairs. Consider it budget hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were reserved suite for three persons because it looked so nice and spacious.
And there should have been for example minibar, two tv:s, telephone and much more space.
But we got two terrible room together and there weren´t minibar and so on.. So i can't suggest that "suitehotel".
In the hotel guide they have put so nice pictures of those "suites", which are not true.
They are only cheating tourists..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piudeEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were taken here after rejecting an apartment close by due to cleanliness. Were given a suite (101) right next to the reception desk. The room was large by Paris standards and reasonably well equipped (bar fridge, fans - no a/c, separate bathroom with a bath.) Furnishings were dated, and a repaint would have been good. We could smell cigarette smoke all night from the bar underneath, and it was quite noisy, but ok if you closed the window and used the fans. The Fluoro hotel sign outside the window didn't help keep it dark, and the curtains didn't close properly. The staff on the reception desk outside smoked 24/7 , but so does all of Paris! The staff speak English. Cleanliness was ok, and room was serviced daily. Breakfast was included in the price, but we ate at Starbucks after the first day! Coffee was weak and cold, the bread roll was colder, and the orange juice was watered down. However, it was a central location, steps to metro and taxi, and a Sunday market around the corner. You are only steps from the Bastille monument, and 5ks from the Eurostar and GTV. Heaps of eateries on the street, ice cream shops, bakeries etc. 10 min walk to Seine and attractions.

Room Tip: If you want a large room, ask for front level3 up. Back rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddles19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The first think I thought once I went in was "how can exist an hotel like this one??!".
Actually it is not an hotel but a dump, the worst ever.
Little room with very bad and small beds. I booked the room and I was completed embarrassed with my boyfriend. The bathroom literary dirty with no towels and hairs on the floor and in the bath.
I asked the boss to come into my room and personally have a look who insured me that the housekeeper was there few minutes ago to clean the room!?!
Is that a joke??
Really bed and expensive! Please do not go!
Ivana

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanaguarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Daval
Hotel Daval
#1,218 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#386 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#666 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
#1,496 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Baudin
Hotel Baudin
#1,409 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#116 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bastille

Property: Royal Bastille
Address: 14 rue de la Roquette, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,506 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Bastille 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bastille Paris
Royal Bastille Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing