We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at good location and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel George - Astotel
Ranked #109 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at good location and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel was perfect. The area is really good near Montmatre, the Opera and close to the metro station (St. George). The free snacks and drinks from 13 pm to 21 pm was also a big pleasant surprise. The staff, especially Lynda, was the best part of the stay. Lynda was helpful with all our questions and was always cheerful and welcoming. We look forward to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_lorette_75, Directeur général at Hotel George - Astotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Thor,

I was thrilled to read your comments following your recent stay with us at our George Opera Hotel.
I was delighted that you enjoyed this trip and I have passed your kind words on to Lynda who ensured we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Stéphanie Pautut,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    229
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
120
402
45
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

First visit to this Hotel and it won't be my last. What a superb place to stay. Situated on a quiet street it is central to everything. Five minutes walk to Pigalle and the moulin rouge, it is also ten minutes walk to Opera Garnier and Galleris La Fayette. The closest Metro is two minutes away downhill. The Hotel itself is smart modern and well presented. The staff are warm and friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Rooms are well appointed and air conditioned. Quiet spacious for Paris Hotel rooms. Breakfast is pleasant with the option of omelettes if desired. Plenty of variety for everyone. I have no problem recommending this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_lorette_75, Directeur général at Hotel George - Astotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our George Opera. Always a good feeling to see the recognition is noticed and thank you for your nice recommendations.
Do ask for me the next time you are planning one of your weekends away, we are all looking forward to that next trip you mentioned!

Best Regards

Stéphanie Pautut,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for four days in early August 2014 and had a fantastic stay. The hotel exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The staff were on hand 24/7 and always very helpful.

The breakfast is very good, the room was decorated really well... all in all I can't praise it enough. You'll find some nice (reasonably priced) cafe's and restaurants close by and the areas of Monmartre - including Sacré-Cœur and the Opera area are both just a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel exceeded my expectation; very kind staff, nice hotel room and happy vibes. I was impressed by the standard of the rooms, reasonably sized and aesthetically pleasing.

Hotel staff were extremely helpful, making good recommendations for restaurants and even helpful us book tickets for Disneyland.

Would defo recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Lovely stay in Paris!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tan_man911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel were very pleasant to deal with and happy to chat or make recommendations for restaurants or sightseeing.

The room was small but very comfortable and clean. The bed and pillows were super comfy and the toiletries provided were lovely.

Breakfast was included for me plus they had an open "minibar" from 1-9pm each day which had all you can eat snacks, fruits, chips and soft drinks and juices. Bonus!

Would definitely stay again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kgor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

That's a lovely small hotel nearby the Monmarte, 2 minutes away from Saint-Georges tube station. My experience was great. The room and the bathroom were very clean (small but not very small), the staff was very helpful and friendly (very good english too), the breakfast is reasonable (small selection but great quality). Price-wise I don't think you can get that much for £80ish/night.

Free soft drinks and light snacks was also a nice extra!

Room Tip: L'Affineur' Affine is accross the road, perfect cheese platters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teo_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights

Pros:
+ Staff on the front desk was friendly when we arrived and when we left.
+ Room was bigger than expected, lots of hangers for clothes
+ Easy to walk from Opera if you use roissybus from CDG
+ Easy to walk to St Pancras for Eurostar. The neighborhood felt shave even in the early morning.

Cons:
- Breakfast was not good. Milk was warm and selection was concise.
- We had no light on bathroom, so we had to use our cellphones for lighting at night.
- No big mirror, only a very narrow one.
- Beds were very uncomfortable and the towels were very thin and not comfortable to use.
- There was a bath tube, but you were not able to take a shower as there was no space. We had to sit in the tube in order to take a shower, which was extremely difficult.
- We put "Do Not Disturb" -sign to our door as we did not want the room to be cleaned (on the other side the sign was a "please clean up my room" text). However, when we came back in the afternoon, our door was open and there was a man putting the sheets and towels. We had left our belongings to beds etc. because we thought that nobody would go there. We were extremely disappointed that our privacy was not respected. I would not trust in this hotel again.
- We had to take our bags to a very small halls and stairways with no help from staff.

Tips:
If you have any problems with movements (stairs, carry big suitcases/luggage, bending to funny positions during shower) this hotel is NOT for you.
- There is a lovely italian pizza place just few blocks away.

We choose this hotel because of it´s good reviews. Well, we would not have lasted more than two nights. Next time we will choose another place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAndMissBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#112 of 1,801 in Paris
1,280 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
#138 of 1,801 in Paris
1,264 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#58 of 1,801 in Paris
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#34 of 1,801 in Paris
1,312 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#174 of 1,801 in Paris
1,138 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#66 of 1,801 in Paris
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel George - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George - Astotel

Property: Hotel George - Astotel
Address: 46, rue Notre Dame de Lorette | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Paris
#58 Family Hotel in Paris
#64 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#80 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel George - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful, century-old building in the 9th district of Paris, the George Hotel is the perfect place for your stays in downtown Paris. Completely renovated last year in a decidedly Parisian style, it perfectly combines modernity and practicality. With its quiet and colorful atmosphere and its location near two metro stations, our hotel is recommended for both business travelers and holidaymakers. Upon arrival, you will be greeted by our warm and caring team , at your disposal 24 x 24. Our 46 rooms are decorated with modern furnishings, provide excellent soundproofing, comfortable beds, satellite TV and a private bathroom with bath or shower. The hotel is entirely air-conditioned and offers free Wi-Fi. A rich and varied breakfast buffet is served every morning including hot drinks, pastries, juices, cereals, eggs, etc. The hotel is ideally located between Montmartre (Moulin-Rouge / Sacred Heart) and Opera, just steps away from a Metro station with direct connection to the Champs Elysees. Find endless shopping options right around the corner with Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann, etc. The airport shuttle A/R is available for a fee and upon reservation. The trip takes about 30 minutes. There is also a convenient car park nearby. The George Opera Hotel is 140 meters from the Saint George Metro station (line 12) and 400 meters from the Pigalle (lines 2 and 12) metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel George - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Opera Hotel
George Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing