We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small gem in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atelier Saint-Germain
Ranked #1,065 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A small gem in Paris”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Atelier Saint-Germain is a tiny boutique hotel located in the attractive Montparnasse neighborhood of Paris. It is relatively quiet, super clean, and open 24 / 7. The staff is very friendly and service oriented.
Rooms are a bit small but this is typical for Paris. Finally for those of you who care about these things, there is no fitness room or swimming pool in this hotel. However, there is a great bikram yoga studio 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Gérant at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review regarding your stay at Atelier Saint Germain Hotel

All your remarks are right and we like especially the one about our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you for your next trip in Paris,

Best Regards
Sabrina Hervy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    105
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
27
146
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed at Atelier St Germain for a week to start one month in Europe and I was not disappointed. The staff were extremely friendly, welcomed and encouraged my poor french speaking skills and it was very safe and clean property. Saturdays are noisy and smelly with the bar downstairs going until very early in the morning. It smelled like people on my floor were smoking cigars. Yes the lift is tiny but it's a refurbished Parisian apartment building. Le metro is just a step away and it's a lovely 40 minute stroll to the banks of the Seine, Notre Dame, shopping in St Germain and to the louvre. On Sunday morning there is a lovely open air market on Boulevard Raspail worth spending time in. Loved this part of Paris!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspired-wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Gérant at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your very nice review regarding your stay at Atelier Saint Germain Hotel. We’re happy to read that you loved the Montparnasse area and the open market on boulevard Raspail.

Thanks also for pointing out the several strolls possible to discover Paris from the hotel and the nice comment about our staff.

We hope that your trip around Europe will be very pleasant. If you have to stay in Paris on your way back, we’ll be glad to welcome you again.

Best Regards
Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in November. I chose it because it was close to the RER train line as we were going to a rugby game at Stade France on the Saturday night (also makes it very easy to get to from Charles de Gaulle airport, with no line changes needed). Also very close to Vavin metro station, and many more. Very easy to get around Paris from. And nice streets nearby to wander. Very close to Jardin du Luxembourg too.

The front desk staff are very very friendly and do speak english. We arrived early on check in day and our room was ready so we could check in and we left our baggage there on our day of departure until after 6pm as we had a late flight out. We were in room 11 which they advertise as a 'low light room' and it was but didn't bother us at all. This room is cheaper than other rooms because of the low light, it does have a window but you don't get any view from it. Bathroom modern and clean. Bed comfy. Tiny tiny elevator and tight staircase to get to the room but again didn't bother us.

Also, we bought the Carte Paris Visite metro and train pass from the airport when we arrived. For 32euro each we got unlimited travel on metro and train for 42 hours including airports - getting from CDG airport to Paris is 9.50euro each way as was getting to Stade France from Paris so is a good deal if you are travelling a lot. And it was a rainy day on Saturday so we could just jump on and off the metro wherever we liked.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Lisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Gérant at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thanks you very much for your time to write this long and detailed review about your stay at Atelier Saint Germain Hotel.

We’re grateful for the precise description of room n°11 and your confirmation that we advertised it well. The readers of your review will appreciate your tips regarding the Carte Paris Visite. Thanks for your compliments about the staff, the bathroom and the bed.

We hope you enjoy the great Rugby match that occurred on Saturday.and to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.

Best Regards
Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is very close to the Vavin Station on the metro line. As all the other reviewers mentioned, the staff is superfriendly and very helpful. We loved Esther and everyone else who greeted us with a friendly smile everyday. The rooms are comfortable and clean. My husband who is 6'4" loved the rainshower. Overall we had a very comfortable stay. It is not right in Saint-Germain in the middle of all the restaurants but we did not mind the short walk. After eating at delicious restaurants, we liked the exercise. The only con for me was that since our room was right above a bar, it was noisy till 4-5 am. But that was only on the weekends and we figured we're getting the full experience of sounds of Paris!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilesaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Gérant at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re very thankful for your time to write this so kind review about your stay at Atelier Saint Germain Hotel.

We love your comment about all the staff. They feel concerned about guest’s satisfaction and will enjoy your review. Regarding the sounds of Paris, we can only agree with your tactful observation. It’s Paris night life you have experimented.

For your next, we suggest you ask for a room overlooking the courtyard or at the top floor

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.

Best Regards
Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I selected this hotel at random when I needed an additional night's stay in Paris. I am very pleased that I did. This boutique hotel is tiny but filled with character and charm. The rooms are dance themed, beautifully appointed, and creatively designed. The decor was new and comfortable. I loved the bathroom, which made very creative use of the small space, providing excellent nooks and crannies to put things, and everything needed to be comfortable. The Atelier St-Germain is in Montparnasse, close to cafes, restaurants, and shopping. The metro is just around the corner. Service at the hotel was excellent when I stayed. Both day and night staff were friendly, efficient, and very helpful. They responded to my questions with care, watched luggage for me after I checked out, and called a taxi when I needed to go to the airport. I would definitely return to this hotel, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms has a different theme and decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oteaatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Gérant at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your time to write this very nice review about your stay at Atelier Saint Germain Hotel and your warm recommendation.

We do appreciate your comments about the use of the small space in the bathroom as you’re the first one to mention it and we tried to do the best when we refurbished the hotel one year ago.
Of course, we’re glad you like our dance theme different in each room and presenting a unique view of Paris each time.

We’ll be happy to welcome you soon

Best Regards
Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Well located small hotel. Nicely decorated room was functional, air-conditioned, very clean but tight. A good place to sleep, with a good bed. Room was quiet with the window closed and not bad with it open even though the area is active and we were on the first floor. Not a place to hang out in an easy chair. Friendly staff especially during the day at the reception desk. Cafes, restaurants and shopping nearby. Multiple metros available. Really a Montparnase location rather than St. Germain as the name might imply.

Room Tip: We enjoyed breakfast around the corner at a place with a similar name that was open 24 x 7, called A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Gérant at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Robert,

Many thanks for your time to write a review about your stay at Atelier Saint Germain Hotel.

Apparently, our hotel didn’t meet all your expectations and we’re sorry to read it. Regarding the name of the Hotel even if we’re very closed to Montparnasse area, we’re not so far from Saint Germain area : 15m walking distance.

The most important is that several metro and public bus lines are available to take you to all the main attractions in Paris.

For your next stay, we suggest you book our Junior Suite at the top floor to enjoy more space and a great view over the roofs of Paris

Best Regards
Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We knew from previous reviews that rooms and lift were small & this was certainly true but very good use was made of space in bedroom and ensuite. Spotlessly clean and interestingly decorated. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Good choice of items for breakfast.
Location was ideal, close to 3 Metro stations, range of restaurants (La Rotonde on the corner was very good) and interesting small shops. 10 minute stroll to the Luxembourg Gardens - great little boulangerie on the way! Excellent base from which to explore Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braikley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atelierhotels, Gérant at Atelier Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Atelier Saint Germain Hotel.

We do appreciate your comment about the good use of space and the decoration. We’re also glad to read you like the buffet breakfast items.

We hope to welcome for your next exploration of Paris

Best Regards
Sabrina Hervy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Danemark Hotel
Danemark Hotel
#1,213 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#155 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Edouard 6
Hotel Edouard 6
#736 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Perreyve Hotel
Perreyve Hotel
#1,107 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#633 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Mayet
Hotel Mayet
#757 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelier Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelier Saint-Germain

Property: Atelier Saint-Germain
Address: 49 rue Vavin, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#440 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atelier Saint-Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atelier Saint-Germain is a 3 star charming hotel, ideally located 10 minutes walking away from the lively neighborhood of Montparnasse, the Luxembourg Garden and the legendary neighborhood of Saint-Germain-des-Pres. The proximity to the metro station Vavin (line 4) 40 meters away from the hotel, the station Notre-Dame-des-Champs (line 12) 300 meters from the hotel (3 minutes walking) and the RER station Port-Royal 500 meters (10 minutes walking) allows you to quickly reach all the main monuments and famous places of the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Atelier Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Saint-Germain Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing