We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #330 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile


Hotel staff.. Fantastic
We had room 25 on 3 rd floor. Very quite and bed firm . And good size bathroom for Paris .. We were able to sleep with windows wide open.. Great as no air con!!

Friends had huge room and bathroom .. 3rd floor room 20.. But noisy on street.. So they were not able to have windows open .. Hot!
Location is great.. Restaurants . Shops .. 10 min walk to Norte dam . .
Hotel sorted taxis restaurants helpful hints .. And DHL parcel .. Extremely helpful
Breakfast was fine .. In the basement cave. Fresh orange juice ... Cereal fruit salad mostly canned.. Breads cheese meat.. And coffee
Breakfast was included .. In tariff

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Bretonnerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have stayed at the hotel several times and have liked the hotel and the location in Le Marais. Our last room was on the top floor. It was a room of character but it seemed smaller than the ones we have previously had. Part of the reason it felt small is that it is up in the rafters and the ceilings are sloped. The room was hot even though the weather was not particularly hot so it would be a real problem in the summer with just one small window in the room. The décor is very nice. They did provide a fan however which was helpful but not that attractive and took up a substantial amount of space. The management was very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Loved it, we will always return here when visiting Paris! Great location, nice room, helpful service and reasonable price. Probably wouldn't bother with the breakfast again, but everything else was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A few caveats; I stayed there during the middle of a nasty heat wave this summer, and it's not air-conditioned. Main concerns were that my room was on the top floor, and room temperature was 95 degrees when I arrived. In one of the other rooms, a man propped open his door with a suitcase and walked around in his underwear. Not a pleasant sight. Being on the top floor, the ceilings were angled, and I needed to continually duck my head to get around the tiny room. A few doors down and across the street was loud nightclub where people were jammed in the street; it took my taxi about a minute to wade through the crowd on the street. I moved hotels after paying a 1 night penalty for leaving early (I had booked a week).

I'm sure the experience would have been much different in the winter, but recommend avoiding this place in the heat of the summer. My experience was actually a "1" but I don't like to penalize a place.

Other than that, the staff was pleasant, the price was 120 euros, the room and environs clean, and breakfast was nice, though.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, especially if you're tall and if it's in the winter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Social-Dis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel. It is a very charming guesthouse full of charm, character, and lovely people. Its everything you'd expect as an American. It is located in the heart of the Marais, but you feel like you're in a quiet corner at night. We loved wandering around the twisting narrow streets and sitting outside in the area cafes. We had a mini suite, I guess - it had a main room with a large bed with a view of the street and mini fridge, a large modern bathroom with a huge tub and a decent sized separate room with a single bed (daybed type so you could use it as a couch) with a view of the back. The furnishings look "French country antique" (I.e. old) but to my great surprise, that was a seriously comfortable bed. The lobby doubles as an internet lounge and library, which is pleasant. There is a Starbucks about 3 blocks away which had the best coffee I've had in my life and we don't even like Starbucks. I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a suite and a view of the street
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We got off to a shaky start (receptionist "lost" our Paris Passes and sent us on a wild goose chase around the city only to "find" them when we returned) however we settled in and really enjoyed our stay. It is located in the heart of the Marais, within walking distance from bars and clubs, Pompideu Centre and the metro. Quintessentially Parisian in style, we would recommend the Bretonnerie to anyone seeking an authentic French experience - staff included!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff are friendly and go out of their way to meet your needs. They can tell you where to eat, where you cn go for a Zumba class, how to catch a metro, etc. The owner takes pride in both of his hotels (also owns the Hotel Chopin).

We have been staying at these two hotels every year for at least the past 10 years. We will be retuning soon and of course we will be staying at the Hotel Bretonnerie!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 309Nancy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#70 of 1,803 in Paris
220 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#391 of 1,803 in Paris
712 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Nice
Hotel de Nice
#723 of 1,803 in Paris
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#388 of 1,803 in Paris
634 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#24 of 1,803 in Paris
174 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#356 of 1,803 in Paris
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#479 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
#494 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £121 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing