We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Ranked #335 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at this Boutique hotel in the heart of the Marais district for 3 nights after intensive searching online. Location of the hotel is convenient for the Metro, good diverse restaurants, great little shops around. Walking distance to the Notre Dame and the Louvre.Room size average for Paris,clean and comfortable. Carpeting in our room could use freshening up.Offered a good variety for breakfast for €10.Staff helpful and welcoming.Ask for a room toward the backside if you want to be away from noise! We had to open our window to sleep , since it kind a got stuffy w/ the window close hence the street noise in the AM. Overall, a good value for this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street if you want to open the window like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscangal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    224
    46
    7
    7
See reviews for
96
215
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very close to Notre Dame. Easy walk to cafes and shopping. Lovely hip area. We asked for a room facing the courtyard. Yes the room was a bit quirky, but the bathroom was large. The view out our window was charming. And let me say the staff was helpful, warm and welcoming. Overall a lovely experience in Paris. I will go back again. Tres bien!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. Take a long walk along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkdeal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, TN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I stayed five days in the Hotel de la Bretonnerie recently. The hotel is very charming and was comfortable. It was my fifth trip to Paris but my first time in the Hotel de la Bretonnerie. I love the Marais area of Paris and this hotel is perfectly situated and as others have already written, it is very convenient to everything. I will certainly stay here again in the future. The Hotel de Ville Metro stop is nearby and it is a short walk to many curtural sites. The Marais area is very lively and when you walk out the door of the hotel you are in the middle of it all.
The staff was friendly , the room was clean, and the breakfast was fine. My only negative was that the room {#25} smelled a little like smoke although there is 'no smoking' sign on the door. The hotel still provides an ashtray in the room which seems to send a conflicting signal to the guest. We kept the windows open so the slight smoke smell was not bad but I would suggest the hotel remove the ashtrays in the 'no smoking' rooms. Also rooms facing the back may have a bad view of a courtyard, but are quiet.
The breakfast was good and enough to start your day. The fresh orange juice machine was a hit and let it be known to make it work you need to press the button on the side of the machine to make the oranges roll down the tube into the machine that slices and extracts the juice. It seems many people had problems figuring out how to turn it on.
Bottom line. i would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing the back courtyard may not have a good view but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eibsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first trip to ParisWe arrive on a Friday and were unhappy with our first hotel in which our room was a closet.I quickly began my search to relocate ,and called Hotel Bretonnerie .Afterni spoke to Karen we walked over to take a look.Karen was so kind and went out of her way to show us several rooms .We settled on a junior suite with lots of room.We had a queen size bed (nice bedding) ,a separate toilet and bath,a small terrace,small sitting area and lots of light.The room was old world Paris toile ,toile and more toile but,that added to the ambience.Right outside the door is amazing boutique shopping,restaurants ,bakeries and a two minute walk to the Jewish section with its amazing culinary choices(best falafel outside of Jerusalem)The price was right,the staff(especially Karen)knowledgeable and lovely,and what a great location it made us feel like locals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having reviewed this property before I was a fan. Until we came back and were given a room on the top floor, basically where the roof slopes. Certainly atmospheric with the wooden beams but try walking upright through the room. You literally could not be more than 5 foot 4 to be able to navigate around the room. So basically I was walking slanted / sloped the whole time and we asked for a different room the next day which we were granted and which was perfectly fine as per our previous stay. But to be honest the whole experience put me off and we ended up staying in another hotel during our visit to Paris a few months later. I do not think we will return unless we are guaranteed a room on a floor other than the top one. Cannot imagine that we were the only ones with this problem. I am 5'11 and my parnter 6'2.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Have just spent 4 nights in the Hotel de la Bretonnerie, situated smack dab in the heart of the Marais, within walking distance of multiple metro stations, bus stops, and sights such as The Pompidou Centre, Notre Dame, the Museum of Jewish Art and History and multiple other places speedily accessable by metro. The staff were all polite, pleasant and accommodating, the European breakfasts in the wine cellar (cave) were filing and delicious, and everything about the place just oozes charm, welcome and hospitality. Wifi available and works like a charm. I hope to get back in a year or two if I save, save, save. An excellent start for a European trip, or a start to an exploration of France.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was great, even facing the street. With the window closed there was no apparent noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've been to this little charming jewel of a hotel for years.
Always requesting the same charming rooms. The staff is very accommodating. Ask for Karen who is very knowledgable. Breakfast is as you would expect at any high end european hotel, and well the location is simply tres Parisienne! Wonderfully situated among museums, sites, river boat tours, gay bars, restaurants, boutiques and the artists and bohemian world.
A more perfect taste of Paris at a reasonable price and dreamlike location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#372 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#7 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#75 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#413 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#469 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Bretonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Bretonnerie

Property: Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Address: 22 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#479 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
#494 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the Place des Vosges, the Picasso Museum, the Georges Pompidou Center and from the Notre-Dame, you will enjoy a charming residence typical of the Marais area, which has managed to preserve its character.Each of its 7 suites and 22 rooms, uniquely decorated, invites you to an intimate stay. It resides in an old private hotel from the 17th Century and buried in the heart of Pari, where it is easy to get lost among the old facades and flowered interior gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Bretonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Bretonnerie Paris
De La Bretonnerie Hotel
Hotel De La Bretonnerie Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing