We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Staff”
Review of Castex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castex Hotel
Ranked #742 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is very-well located and is walking distance from Pantheon, Notre-Dame and Seine, that is if you don't mind walking for 1-2 kms; otherwise it's very close to the Bastille metro station, which is barely 2 minutes away. The hotel is very nice and clean, and they offer you complimentary wine as well. :)
The staff is extremely wonderful and very very helpful. The man in charge at the reception was of great help to us, he explained us everything and how we had to get from one place to another in Paris, as this was our very first time in Paris. He even printed us google maps and directions for us so we wouldn't get lost. i would definitely come back to Paris and i would definitely stay again in Castex hotel, its value for money, very clean and comfortable and the staff of the hostel is among the friendliest and most helpful i've met anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Compared to the rest of the Parisians we encountered.... the hotel staff were quite friendly and very helpful! Free wifi, nice big bathroom (though small room) and a great location that was within walking distance to many restaurants, shopping, and we actually walked to the Louvre and Notre Dame multiple times .Great stay! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cupcake472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Visiting France as a follow-on to a business trip and stayed at Castex Hotel. So quaint, cozy and wonderful! The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is near Bastille and many small shops. Had a great time wandering around the area! Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EyshaShirrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you are looking for a nice hotel within walking distance of most of the frequently visited tourist sites in Cental Paris, check out the Hotel Castex. It's located near the Bastille area at the edge of the Marias with multiple nearby Metro stops for longer journeys. The rooms are the standard "Paris small" but not uncomfortably so. Our 4th floor room faced the street but Rue Castex is a smaller cut-through street so the associated street noise was minimal The lobby is neat and every portion of the hotel we saw (room, lobby, breakfast area) was clean. With an agreeable price for the area, an friendly attentive staff, and a working elevator it was just what we were looking for to kick off our stay in France. The breakfast buffet (11 Eur/person) offered a nice array of cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, pastry, toast, tea and coffee. To address a couple of other comments in some previous reviews, our wifi (free) worked fine on the 4th floor albeit we did have to login repeatedly. This is listed in the new Rick Steves guide which came as news to the hotel as they had not renewed their agreement with Mr. Steves, so the rates published in his book are a bit outdated but not dramatically so. All in all I would gladly return to Hotel Castex in the future

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickPringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Well, we just visited paris a few days ago and stayed at the castex hotel. This was a wonderful stay! We received a bigger room than expected ! The room was so clean!!! So homey! The location is the best in paris! Safe , clean, great shops and restaurants . We had breakfast at the hotel . Wonderful! Lovely little dining room: pastries, cheese,sausage, eggs, coffee, butter and honey and a variety of jams . Fruit salad- amazing and fresh! Cornflakes-3 or 4 kinds! Which is very good for a breakfast in paris. And most important: everything super fresh!!! Special thanks to Nassim at the reception! For the help snd advice and allways smiling!!!

Great hotel!! Cant wait to come again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veredcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We did have a lovely stay at this hotel. However, since we were traveling with a toddler the location wasn’t too great. its about a 25 minute walk to notredam. However, you could take bus 87 which passes through most of the attractions in Paris, the last stop being Eifel tower. You could also take the train M1 Or M5 which takes you to champs Elise and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that opens right into the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenise211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We loved the location of this hotel for our 5 day visit to Paris. After just having been in Normandy we were ready to see Paris! This hotel was the perfect place for us to stay since we were overwhelmed at which area of Paris to book in before our trip.
So pleased that we choose the Bastille area, and this is how we found the Castex Hotel. It's just a few feet down the Rue Castex. The area was very much a neighborhood that was quaint and yet had everything you needed. Many Cafes, grocery stores, outdoor markets, etc in the local vicinity.
Three Metro stops were nearby so we were always only 15-20 minutes from anything major that we wanted to see in Paris.
The room price was fair and the room was very clean. We loved having an electric tea kettle in our room. This is something we always want while away traveling and it was right there waiting for us. The room was a bit tight but we've grown accustomed to this in Europe so it never bothered us.
The Receptionist's were fabulous. One man was over the top and even printed us off maps and information of of the beaten track places we wanted to visit. Very helpful. Always kind and warm. Full of suggestions. The Hotel staff were nice to us and caring. Totally accommodating. We didn't try the breakfasts because we went to the Patisseries every day.
We would stay here again!

Room Tip: You might want to request a room on the street if you want a view, if the noise won't bother you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dejemahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#665 of 1,804 in Paris
418 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#250 of 1,804 in Paris
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#377 of 1,804 in Paris
650 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#449 of 1,804 in Paris
510 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#79 of 1,804 in Paris
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castex Hotel

Address: 5 rue Castex | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#165 Family Hotel in Paris
#590 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £85 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This three star hotel is located right in the heart of the Marais. With its Louis XIII furniture and style, it has retained its 17th century character, the golden age of this district.Charm and originality blend with elegance, thanks to a subtle mix of wood panelling and wrought iron.Your stay in our hotel is sure to be a marvellous experience, because we know that when you travel, you hope to feel like you’re at home, if not even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castex Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing