We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castex Hotel
Ranked #589 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent location close to subway and bus transportation. Friendly and efficient staff. Rooms are "european small" yet comfortable and clean. Breakfast area is well designed and adequate as well as the food selection and presentation. Would definitely recommend and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    332
    81
    22
    8
See reviews for
94
243
74
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice friendly "petit" Hotel in the my favourite district in Paris, Le Marais.
Clean, nice dressed, friendly welcome (which is not so easy to find in Paris). The district is very good if you stay in paris for job trip since you will find beautiful stores, individual brands, brasseries, restaurants, cafés...

Room Tip: I got a room on the garden.. nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have to say this place really grew on me. Due to some major jet lag, I wasn't very happy when I first walked into our room. It was small and dark. The bathroom was large with a big tub. After soaking in the tub, having a glass of wine (complimentary), opening the door to our sweet little garden patio, my feelings swiftly improved. After 13 hours of sleep and a lovely breakfast at the hotel, I really fell in love with the place. The staff was so helpful and kind. I loved that we could take our mugs downstairs and enjoy a good cup of coffee on our patio every morning. We even had a few light meals out there after a busy day of walking around. If there were some brighter reading lights and a different bedspread, it would have been perfect. Great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minneapolis_MnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was my second stay. First was perfect so I reserved months in advance for the same accomodations, noting that if a room with tub could not be guaranteed I would not reserve.

Re-confirmed that all was in order..including tub request..a week in advance. Was assured all was in order. Upon arrival was given key to room w/o tub! Told hotel was fully booked...actually shown paper and pencil reservation sheet. Due to "we work as a team" someone else had messed up the reservation. After pulling out copies of my e-mails, and checking another hotel, was given larger room with tub for first nite...move to "promised" room next day. Free breakfast next day.

Had been traveling on Provence for a few days, 2 nites in two cities so basically living out of suitcase and just wanted to settle in to the pleasant hotel remembered from the year before for the remaining 8 nites.

Rest of stay was fine, but if you want/require particular accomodations, check and re-check,,and even then....perhaps they should refine/update reservation system.

Room Tip: Be specific! Check and re-check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perfectly locaties hotel in the center of Paris near the Bastille, making it very easy to go to the central attractions like Louvre or Tuilleries taking line 1 metro. Line 7 takes you back to gare du nord Thalys/Eurostar station in about 10 minutes. Tip: take a 20 tickets booklet for metro/RER, easy and cheaper.Some very nice restaurants in that region of Paris, les Marais. Tip: Le Gorilla Blanc, a little bit hidden but very very good price/quality and extremely nice people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvenDePaepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I love Paris; but I haven't loved the two previous hotels - hotel Castex was a pleasant suprise. I like smaller properties that have character and convenient location to local transportation (Metro). This hotel is just a block and 1/2 from Bastille metro station. The staff (both day and night) were freindly and helpful. The next time I visit in Paris, I will definitely check on the availablity of hotel Castex in this quiet and convenient part of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramonkmcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is very-well located and is walking distance from Pantheon, Notre-Dame and Seine, that is if you don't mind walking for 1-2 kms; otherwise it's very close to the Bastille metro station, which is barely 2 minutes away. The hotel is very nice and clean, and they offer you complimentary wine as well. :)
The staff is extremely wonderful and very very helpful. The man in charge at the reception was of great help to us, he explained us everything and how we had to get from one place to another in Paris, as this was our very first time in Paris. He even printed us google maps and directions for us so we wouldn't get lost. i would definitely come back to Paris and i would definitely stay again in Castex hotel, its value for money, very clean and comfortable and the staff of the hostel is among the friendliest and most helpful i've met anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#707 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#384 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#325 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#420 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
#1,186 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castex Hotel

Property: Castex Hotel
Address: 5 rue Castex | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#352 Family Hotel in Paris
#592 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This three star hotel is located right in the heart of the Marais. With its Louis XIII furniture and style, it has retained its 17th century character, the golden age of this district.Charm and originality blend with elegance, thanks to a subtle mix of wood panelling and wrought iron.Your stay in our hotel is sure to be a marvellous experience, because we know that when you travel, you hope to feel like you’re at home, if not even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castex Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing