We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in perfect location”
Review of Castex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castex Hotel
Ranked #707 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The perfect location for visiting Le Marais. Located a few steps away from the Place de Bastille. Wonderful breakfast spread to start the day. Rooms are smaller (to be expected) but very clean with a modern bathroom. Provided a free bottle of wine which was excellent. Friendly staff. I definitely recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the street side for the view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apollo444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been staying at Castex occasionally for maybe ten years, roughly since the renovation that moved it from two to three stars. Was there again earlier this week. I really like the location. Decent restaurants at reasonable prices around. Good stores, in a lively neighborhood they's easily accessible.

Simple hotel, rooms are small but at least these in the back are very quiet. Since last time I was there, breakfast has improved, now with ham added to the selection. I also figured out that they have an espresso machine hidden somewhere and they'll get you one if asked.

Recent changes: they finally replaced taps by decent German ones. Also, they installed card keys.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel isn't anything fancy at all, but it is charming. The receptionists are hospitable, and the location is great. The breakfast served in the basement is basic but a good option if you're on the run. The beds are a little hard, but I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllAmericanGirlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Close to the clubs and bars of the Bastille. They let you put your bikes in the courtyard. Breakfast is an expensive 11 euros each. But you get a free bottle of red wine in the room. The bedroom was small, but that's Paris. Free internet and computer in reception area is useful. This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_from_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent location close to subway and bus transportation. Friendly and efficient staff. Rooms are "european small" yet comfortable and clean. Breakfast area is well designed and adequate as well as the food selection and presentation. Would definitely recommend and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice friendly "petit" Hotel in the my favourite district in Paris, Le Marais.
Clean, nice dressed, friendly welcome (which is not so easy to find in Paris). The district is very good if you stay in paris for job trip since you will find beautiful stores, individual brands, brasseries, restaurants, cafés...

Room Tip: I got a room on the garden.. nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have to say this place really grew on me. Due to some major jet lag, I wasn't very happy when I first walked into our room. It was small and dark. The bathroom was large with a big tub. After soaking in the tub, having a glass of wine (complimentary), opening the door to our sweet little garden patio, my feelings swiftly improved. After 13 hours of sleep and a lovely breakfast at the hotel, I really fell in love with the place. The staff was so helpful and kind. I loved that we could take our mugs downstairs and enjoy a good cup of coffee on our patio every morning. We even had a few light meals out there after a busy day of walking around. If there were some brighter reading lights and a different bedspread, it would have been perfect. Great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minneapolis_MnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#684 of 1,803 in Paris
406 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#422 of 1,803 in Paris
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
#1,140 of 1,803 in Paris
277 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#398 of 1,803 in Paris
635 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#950 of 1,803 in Paris
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castex Hotel

Address: 5 rue Castex | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#351 Family Hotel in Paris
#591 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £91 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This three star hotel is located right in the heart of the Marais. With its Louis XIII furniture and style, it has retained its 17th century character, the golden age of this district.Charm and originality blend with elegance, thanks to a subtle mix of wood panelling and wrought iron.Your stay in our hotel is sure to be a marvellous experience, because we know that when you travel, you hope to feel like you’re at home, if not even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castex Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing