We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay in Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castex Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Castex Hotel
Ranked #594 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in Castex hotel lately for 4 nights. Great location , Bastille metro station nearby, lots of nice restaurants and shops in the area. Our room was located on the ground floor on the courtyard next to small private garden. The room was clean with a big bathroom. No carpet so I reccomend you to take slippers with you. Free wifi connection is appreciated. We didnt take breakfast for eur 11- too expensive for the kind of breakfast was offered - this is only minus I found about this hotel. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful, especially the gentleman at the reception working on the day of 2nd March - he went miles away to offer us a late check out. He made our last day very comfortable and easy going.
A bottle of wine upon arrival waiting in the room is a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    332
    81
    22
    8
See reviews for
94
243
74
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, being only a couple of blocks from the Bastille Metro station. There are many restaurants in the area. The hotel itself was very clean and well cared for. Our room was off a courtyard in the back, very quiet and private. Bathroom was quite large for European standards. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had the breakfast each morning, and there were many foods to choose from, including some huge, delicious croissants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CruisinCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hiccup with the booked room, not the hotel's fault, and the staff were very quick to offer a solution. Very helpful and friendly. Handy location, easy to get around and close to the Metro. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Single room and a small double were very small for two people and two suitcases, fine if you just ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baselgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The perfect location for visiting Le Marais. Located a few steps away from the Place de Bastille. Wonderful breakfast spread to start the day. Rooms are smaller (to be expected) but very clean with a modern bathroom. Provided a free bottle of wine which was excellent. Friendly staff. I definitely recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the street side for the view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apollo444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been staying at Castex occasionally for maybe ten years, roughly since the renovation that moved it from two to three stars. Was there again earlier this week. I really like the location. Decent restaurants at reasonable prices around. Good stores, in a lively neighborhood they's easily accessible.

Simple hotel, rooms are small but at least these in the back are very quiet. Since last time I was there, breakfast has improved, now with ham added to the selection. I also figured out that they have an espresso machine hidden somewhere and they'll get you one if asked.

Recent changes: they finally replaced taps by decent German ones. Also, they installed card keys.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllAmericanGirlv1
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel isn't anything fancy at all, but it is charming. The receptionists are hospitable, and the location is great. The breakfast served in the basement is basic but a good option if you're on the run. The beds are a little hard, but I would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllAmericanGirlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Close to the clubs and bars of the Bastille. They let you put your bikes in the courtyard. Breakfast is an expensive 11 euros each. But you get a free bottle of red wine in the room. The bedroom was small, but that's Paris. Free internet and computer in reception area is useful. This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_from_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#692 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#371 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#404 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#310 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#643 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castex Hotel

Property: Castex Hotel
Address: 5 rue Castex | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#352 Family Hotel in Paris
#592 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This three star hotel is located right in the heart of the Marais. With its Louis XIII furniture and style, it has retained its 17th century character, the golden age of this district.Charm and originality blend with elegance, thanks to a subtle mix of wood panelling and wrought iron.Your stay in our hotel is sure to be a marvellous experience, because we know that when you travel, you hope to feel like you’re at home, if not even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Castex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castex Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing