We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in the Marais”
Review of Castex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castex Hotel
Ranked #554 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in the Marais”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This little hotel is a block from the Bastille. It is near many restaurants, great shopping, galleries and museums including the Picasso Museum which will be re-opening after years of restoration. The hotel while old is clean and quiet with a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    344
    82
    23
    8
See reviews for
96
253
76
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I recently stayed at this property for the second time, first time was a few years back. The things I liked held true again: it's a good location with access to numerous metro lines, clean, and has friendly and helpful staff. This time I had a room in the back versus the street, definitely much quieter. Best of all, front desk graciously was able to check me in early, as I was arriving on an overnight flight. The rooms are small, but clean. Probably about ready for a bit of a facelift. Bathrooms modern. Restaurant had a reasonably priced breakfast, but I also hit a restaurant and bakery nearby to mix it up. The only knocks - TV is very small with limited English channels (all news) and the hotel wi-fi was terrible; ended up using the shared computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Room fine but small. Issue with noise from stair and lift. Good location. Deco is a bit old style would be nicher with out the heavy browns and wrought iron headboard. Clean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daneaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Small, but nice rooms. Great location near Bastille where you find buses and Metro station. Also lots of restaurants and I can really recommend Brasserie Bofinger, who is just around the block. The staff was very friendly, helping out with taxi, how to travel to places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in Castex hotel lately for 4 nights. Great location , Bastille metro station nearby, lots of nice restaurants and shops in the area. Our room was located on the ground floor on the courtyard next to small private garden. The room was clean with a big bathroom. No carpet so I reccomend you to take slippers with you. Free wifi connection is appreciated. We didnt take breakfast for eur 11- too expensive for the kind of breakfast was offered - this is only minus I found about this hotel. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful, especially the gentleman at the reception working on the day of 2nd March - he went miles away to offer us a late check out. He made our last day very comfortable and easy going.
A bottle of wine upon arrival waiting in the room is a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, being only a couple of blocks from the Bastille Metro station. There are many restaurants in the area. The hotel itself was very clean and well cared for. Our room was off a courtyard in the back, very quiet and private. Bathroom was quite large for European standards. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had the breakfast each morning, and there were many foods to choose from, including some huge, delicious croissants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CruisinCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hiccup with the booked room, not the hotel's fault, and the staff were very quick to offer a solution. Very helpful and friendly. Handy location, easy to get around and close to the Metro. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Single room and a small double were very small for two people and two suitcases, fine if you just ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baselgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#709 of 1,801 in Paris
378 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#384 of 1,801 in Paris
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#350 of 1,801 in Paris
475 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#332 of 1,801 in Paris
489 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#500 of 1,801 in Paris
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castex Hotel

Property: Castex Hotel
Address: 5 rue Castex | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#351 Family Hotel in Paris
#591 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This three star hotel is located right in the heart of the Marais. With its Louis XIII furniture and style, it has retained its 17th century character, the golden age of this district.Charm and originality blend with elegance, thanks to a subtle mix of wood panelling and wrought iron.Your stay in our hotel is sure to be a marvellous experience, because we know that when you travel, you hope to feel like you’re at home, if not even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castex Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing