We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to love?”
Review of Esmeralda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esmeralda Hotel
Ranked #770 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here about a dozen times over the last 15 years, we have tried 4 other hotels and they may be smarter, cleaner, trendier - definitely more expensive - but none is as completely Parisian or atmospheric and in none of them can you be awakened by the peel of bells from Notre Dame on All Saints Day or throw open the shutters and look directly onto the vagrants in the park of St Julien! Spent 10 or so years complaining why we couldn't stay somewhere else - then realised it is perfect and great value and has the most FANTASTIC STAFF - and now this place's future could be in jeopardy and I'd be COMPLETELY devastated! Shakespeare and Co and Aux Trois Mailletz in the same block and a cardio work out every time you need to climb the stairs to your room .and those cute little key rings, each individual just like every room, we have stayed in many rooms but this year twice in room 8 with the Toile de Jouy decor and the WHITE bathroom (i.e. not the brown one that freaks me out) and where else can you stash your clothes in a filing cabinet ? I'll be back here again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Notre Dame
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catsdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Excellent tiny quirky French hotel........you have to be fit though. We started off on the top floor.....87circular steps up.....but moved down to the first floor after one night which was fine. No restaurant, but there are patisseries and restaurants all around. Staff very helpful. Position brilliant. We will be back to Paris and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the lower floors as there is no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Averil797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

For 110 Euros a night in Paris, the price is certainly right. The location could not be better, directly across from Notre Dame and overlooking a lovely little park right outside your window. RER and Metro just a few steps away. The furnishings are shabby, the rug is worn and the fixtures look a little beat up, but then again, you can't expect a posh room for 110 Euro. This was my third stay at this hotel. The previous two stays were in the early 1990s when the hotel did not accept credit cards, did not have a reservation system online, refused to even try to meet English speaking people half way, and the rooms were dirty and dusty. So, it has come a long way. The biggest loss is that breakfast is no longer served in that lovely little nook under the stairs. But now there is free Wi-Fi. It didn't work well in the room but was available in the lobby where there are comfortable chairs. For people wanting to be pampered in luxury, look elsewhere. For those looking for great value and location, this is the answer. Just do not expect high end furnishings. Bedding was clean and towels fresh daily.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great wallpaper and fantastic location, you are basically part of the same corner block as Shakespeare and Co - invaluable. But it was all a bit smoky and not really clean and bathroom door didn't close and bed was a bit dubious. I won't return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just spent a few nights of our honeymoon in the Esmeralda (having previously spent a holiday there a few years ago). The hotel is beautiful and has buckets of atmosphere. It's also clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Anyone who complains about this hotel because there is no lift is clearly a moron. The building dates from the 14th/15th century I think - of course there's no lift! If you are elderly or infirm and can't cope with the stairs then I'm sorry for you, but really you should have checked this out before booking. If you have an ounce of imagination and romance in you, you will love this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benjicott2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

i loved!!! this hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
the view from my little room was amazing and its so close to everything its crazy.

you can grab a bike from just outside the door and ride around paris all day, lots of great food and drink in the area.

the rooms are small but very clean.

although be warned the stairs are hard to clime and you have to take your own bags up them

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed six wonderful nights at the Hotel Esmeralda last month. It completely met our expectations (the great and the not so great). If you are considering a stay, I would recommend that you read all the reviews on Trip Advisor and decide whether it's the place for you. As many have said, it's not for everyone. We arrived early in the morning before any rooms were ready. We were offered the chance to look at two rooms to decide which we wanted. We looked at Rooms 7 and 14. Either room would have been fine. We chose 7 because it had two reading lights on tthe wall over the bed. The room was a good size and clean. The carpet could use to be replaced and the toilet had difficulty flushing but the view of Notre Dame and St. Julien de Pauvre was amazing and worth the stay. The location could not have been better, close to the Seine, Notre Dame, St. Germaine des Pres....way to many places to list. I love that the hotel has four pages devoted to it in the children's book Linnea in Monet's Garden. I bought copies in a French and English. The hotel had a welcoming feel to it thanks to the friendly staff. I felt at home sitting in the lobby using the WiFi (although my home does not have such wild wallpaper). If you don't need room service and other luxuries consider the Hotel Esmeralda. We'll be back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank redboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
Hospitel-Hotel Dieu Paris
#1,062 of 1,802 in Paris
203 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#234 of 1,802 in Paris
927 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#429 of 1,802 in Paris
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Degres de Notre Dame
Les Degres de Notre Dame
#1,359 of 1,802 in Paris
210 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#520 of 1,802 in Paris
434 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#185 of 1,802 in Paris
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esmeralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Hotel

Address: 4 rue Saint Julien le Pauvre, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #770 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £82 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Esmeralda Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most original hotel in the French capital. Opened over 100 years ago in a 17th century building, the Esmeralda Hotel bears the name of the gypsy girl that, thanks to her grace, illuminated the story by Victor Hugo. Central, well communicated, charming, quiet, comfortable ... Each room is unique and has its own personality. Artists such as Hugo Pratt, Bejart, Gainsbourg ... were regular clients at the hotel. You can also talk about Paris, art and literature as most of our receptionists are writers and poets with PhD at the Sorbonne. Please, do not miss the authentic flavor of the Latin Quarter. Be warmly welcomed at the nearest hotel to Notre Dame for the best value for money in Paris: the staff will immediately address all your queries with their proverbial kindness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esmeralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esmeralda Paris
Esmeralda Hotel Paris
Esmeralda Paris
Hotel Esmerelda Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing