We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable well located hotel in Paris”
Review of Lenox Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Montparnasse
Ranked #249 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a stopover on our way out of France after a two week vacation. Located a short walk from the Montparnass train station in an area with lots of cafe choices. Also near to a convenience store if you want to pick up some extra food or beverages. The rooms are smallish, but not to an unexpected extent given the Paris location. I found the bed to be comfortable, and had a good night of sleep. The bathroom was clean and modern, and actually spacious compared to the room itself. Air conditioning and wifi worked well. We had a small balcony with a table and two chairs overlooking the street which was appreciated. Front desk staff were able to help us in English. There is an "honesty bar" in the lobby where you can partake of some alcoholic beverages for prices similar to a cafe. Breakfast is expensive at 17E, and limited in scope, so I would recommend making other arrangements. All in all, I would be happy to use this hotel again in the future for another short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CourtneyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
There are newer reviews for Lenox Montparnasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had an absolutely lovely stay at Lenox Montparnasse. We were in junior suite 60 - top floor, facing the courtyard. We stayed for *nine* nights!

First of all, when we checked in, Expedia had incorrectly booked our room for two adults. It was just me and my two children...so Lili at the front desk quickly figured out what to do and rearranged a room for us so that one of my kids got their own, cute bed. It was equally made up to my king bed - with soft sheets and fluffy pillows.

Second, the hotel was fabulously clean and very comfortable. The staff is exceptional and were gracious enough to allow us to practice our French. :-) They were fantastic with my kids, who are 10 and 8. We didn't eat at the hotel but I got the impression the breakfast would have been very good. Our washroom was HUGE and well lit. We had a separate water closet, which the kids thought was really cool. (Admittedly, I enjoyed that because we could come back from a long day and one person could wash up while another used the WC.) The weather was quite nice while we were in Paris, but they did have working air conditioning and on the warmer days we were welcomed back to the room with the air turned on for us. We preferred to leave all the windows open and get fresh air - and our view of the courtyard was really nice. Noise was never once an issue for us, even when we slept with all the windows open.

Third, this hotel has the benefit of location, location, location. Jump on the Metro and go anywhere quickly. Walk to Luxembourg Gardens. Stroll out for dinner, crepes, or gelato. I appreciated that Montparnasse was a very slightly quieter neighborhood - all the benefits of a big city with a bit more of a neighborhood feel to it. We stopped at the same bakery, fruit market, and little grocery every day for all of our supplies. We got to shop at the weekend food market. Because we were there for nine days we also used the laundromat just down the street. It was really quite a treat to spend a little time "living" in this neighborhood.

To be honest, I was nervous about visiting Paris with two kids in tow, when we weren't familiar with the city, knew only the bare minimum in terms of language, and had to navigate around. Lenox Montparnasse was such a good experience that it was literally like a "home away from home" - not a big industrial strength hotel (ie. They recognized us every time, chatted a little and had our room key ready for us), but not so small that they didn't have every amenity available.

Thanks to Lili and all the front desk staff. You made our stay so wonderful. I can't wait to come back and stay! (Next time without kids!) :-)

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel Lenox Montparnasse is centrally located to everything; dining, cafes, cheese shops, and homeless people sleeping on the street. The entrance appears to be in an alley, but many shops also enter on the street. So do the garbage and recycle cans. It could be pretty smelly. Once inside a friendly desk clerk will greet you in French. Say Bonjour. You're in France. All the clerks speak perfect English so the rest of your conversation can be either language.

The Good:
Service is impeccable and never pretentious. When the bar no longer has a bartender on duty there is an "Honesty Bar". You mix your own drinks and leave a tally with your room number. The tab is added to your bill. Heavy weight key fobs force you to leave your key at the reception desk. If you forget your room number, it can be looked up by your last name. Unlike most European hotels, this one has face cloths in the bathroom along with a generous supply of towels, bath mats, and clean (but ragged) terrycloth robes. The maid will leave one round of shampoo, bath salts, body gel, lotion, sewing kit, and cotton swabs. Our bathroom had 2 sinks and a very deep tub and shower. We had a junior suite, which had a king bed, stocked refrigerator, sofa, coffee table, 2 chairs, desk, sideboard, and plenty of room to do yoga. It also came with 2 gratis servings of coffee, Nescafe, 3 teabags, and a single half liter bottle of Evian daily. The central AC worked very well.

The Bad:
We were on the 6th floor, which had a great view of the city, but it faced east. Ask for a western view and avoid the early sunrise coming through the cracks of the shutters on every window. The courtyard is noisy and at night you find yourself close to the guest in the hotel across the courtyard. The walls are very thin and our neighbors were noisy. It was a problem come 2:00 am but the reception desk handled it eloquently. The bed do not have sheets, only duvets. They were hot for July. Getting the television to turn on was hit or miss. There were 3 English channels. The elevator is tiny. At best it could hold 3 average people. Your group will have to go up and down in shifts.

The Ugly:
The furniture is far older than the hotel. If it's wood, it's chipped and damaged. Paint was peeling from the ceiling. How can this be left month after month? Decor was skimpy and dated as was the lighting. The cleanliness of the carpet was questionable.

Overall, Hotel Lenox provided a charming stay in Montparnasse. The location was great and we managed to find a wonderful price, too.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces West (street). The courtyard on the east side is noisy all day and the sunrise...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank honkrattlecrashbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Lenox for a total of 4 nights for my 30th Birthday. We had a Junior Suit room that was spacious and offered a nice sitting area. It was huge compared to the first hotel we stayed in near the Eiffel Tower.

Some Cons: Our room faced the street and there was a bar facing our room that was incredibly noisy almost every night. We were unable to keep our windows open due to the noise level. If you are planning on staying out late be prepared for possible complaints when you come in late. The rooms are not very well insulated so you have to be very quiet.

Some Pros: It was a good location and close to the Metro with lots of places to eat. Close to the Catacombs and only about a 20 minute subway ride to other landmarks. If you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep then this hotel works. There is also air conditioning that works, which is nice during the warm summer days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really liked this hotel. First impressions were average but I liked it more and more the longer I stayed there.

We paid 185 Euro for a room for 1 night including breakfast for 2 and I got exactly what I expected. We selected the hotel because it had a hotel car park. It is a typical Parisian hotel, narrow hallways, and small rooms, a tiny bit shabby.

It has a lovely atmosphere in the communal areas and very friendly receptionist. It is clean, welcoming and has personality. I love reading about its historical associations with Man Ray, on its fast and reliable wi-fi.

Its location is great, I know Montparnasse is a popular destination in its own right, but on day 1 we walked through the Luxembourg Gardens to the Latin Quarter for dinner, a lovely short (25 minute) walk.

The next day we used the metro to visit Notre Dame and Musee’ d’orsay, it was easy and convenient. The hotel looked after our bags and they felt secure and looked after. They have free tea and coffee for guests in the communal areas. The breakfast was included and lovely, but if I was paying for it 17 Euro is maybe a bit expensive.

Thank you for a lovely stay, I think I will come back and try and stay in Man Ray’s Studio.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed here a half dozen times in the last 10 years. The location is great, right where we like to be in the city. We only stay in one of the junior suites. The other rooms appear small from the hallway. The staff is always helpful. Its not glamorous but solid value and a refuge from the use city.

Room Tip: Junior suite but quieter on courtyard side. 62, 69
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trianon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My Friend and I arrived as planned, tired yet excited we checked in and settled for 5 minutes before getting out to check the neighborhood.
What great area !!! A great variety of restaurants and shops.We had the opportunity to speak with the staff at the hotel who were all so very helpful in every way!! My First trip to Paris and it was more than I expected.Their exceptional
and professional service is to be commended. Thank you all and we hope to see you all again soon !!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#262 of 1,804 in Paris
625 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#373 of 1,804 in Paris
805 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#70 of 1,804 in Paris
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#442 of 1,804 in Paris
335 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#557 of 1,804 in Paris
342 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#542 of 1,804 in Paris
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Montparnasse

Address: 15 rue Delambre, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in Paris
#168 Family Hotel in Paris
#276 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £97 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lenox Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Left Bank, in the heart of mythical Montparnasse, where the great artists, writers and painters of the 20th century once lived, the hotel will delight those who love Parisian art and literature.Housed in a period building, hotel Lenox Montparnasse has genuine character and a warm atmosphere brought to life by portraits of the legendary personalities that were the soul of the area. Man Ray was once resident in room 37…A friendly welcome combined with a chic, casual atmosphere invite guests to relax and enjoy the French art of living.Nearby theatres, cinemas, cafés and restaurants offer numerous entertainment and dining options.The location is also close to the Latin Quarter and Saint Germain des Prés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lenox Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Montparnasse Paris
Lenox Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing