We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Basic, Basic, but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Ranked #54 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Basic, Basic, Basic, but good location”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Basic is the theme here and truely the hotel is not charming. Upon arrival the desk clerk was veryy helpful and friendly, but some of the staff during the couse of our stay was not much help.

The rooms are very large by European standards,but the wallpaper peeling off the wall and lack of art or anything on the walls did not help the ambiance. The bathroom on the other hand was very large and nicely done in ceramic tile. All in all the hotel was ok if you are just looking for a place in an excellent loction.

There was alot of street noise at 2 or 3 every morning, but the comfy beds made up for it. Disappointing WiFi service and the staff could not assit. We had both IPad and Pc and neither would connect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francetraveltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    267
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
196
483
67
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel D'Orsay in mid-June 2011. We had been traveling for almost two weeks at the point we stayed at this hotel. Our experiences prior to this stay were exceptional until we arrived at this hotel. We found the front desk personnel to be very rude and not very helpful. The rooms were just okay, not as described by the hotel. We were very grateful we were staying for only one evening as we were moving on to London the following morning.

I must say, the young lady that was at the front desk the morning we left was far more pleasant and helpful then the two men the night before.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Gene and I stayed at the Hotel D'Orsay 9 nights and found it to be the perfect location for us - just off the Seine and a short walk to the great museums and gardens of Paris. Easy access to the metro and buses. The staff was courteous and helpful and the breakfast was very good and the kitchen staff excellent - happy to indulge requests as well as serve a hearty buffet. So happy we found the quiet, restful D'Orsay and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJtheScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a top floor room looking out over the rooftops with a romantic Paris view and nice cross ventilation. It was the largest room we have ever had in a European hotel. The lift only went to the fifth floor, so we had to climb one, but we loved the space and privacy. Very helpful manager and staff. Breakfast was expensive, but good. As other reviews have mentioned, the location is excellent, particularly for walkers. The d'Orsay was recommended by good friends whom we sent a thank you postcard.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

this not being my first trip to paris, I like to try different locations, since each neighborhood has it's own flavor. this hotel is really very well located as convenient to cafe's on St. Germain as well as transportation to anywhere in front of the Muse DOrsay a block away. it is on a quiet side street and the staff is very helpful getting you around. for the location the price was fair, the room adequate size for three, but the buffet breakfast was a disappointment- no brie in paris? I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: our room was nice, no special requests made
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geeLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We returned to the Hotel d' Orsay for 4 more nights in May of 2011. Requested our favorite room #17, big, quiet, comfortable bed, big bathroom, separate W C, table, chairs, two big windows. Staff is very helpful, speak English, use of Internet Computer, one block from the Musee d' Orsay. Near a subway entrance, Restaurants, bars, shopping, one block from the Seine, one block from Blvd. Saint Germain, near the Latin Quarter, just across the river to The Louvre. All of Paris within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Hotel typically parisian - nice reception area, rooms quite a let down. Booked a "Club Room" with courtyard view - view onto the back end of other buildings and view into their kitchen skylight. Not Impressed :(
Location - Excellent! within walking distance of practically everything (Musee d'Orsay, Tuilleries, Louvre, Concorde I could go on) for those not so inclined, train and metro station 5-10 minutes away.
No restaurant or bar in hotel - mini bar in room and room service available (45 min wait and excessively expensive even by paris standards!) Walk and explore the area - Boulevard St. Germain, Rue de Raspail (off BSG) good brasseries around, lots of locals eating.
In all, not a hotel for first time visitors to Paris, would put you off. For return visitors it's great for exploring the Left Bank with a good pair of walking shoes :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fac2r50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#176 of 1,801 in Paris
765 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#7 of 1,801 in Paris
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#77 of 1,801 in Paris
753 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#73 of 1,801 in Paris
690 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#52 of 1,801 in Paris
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Address: 93 rue de Lille, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#73 Family Hotel in Paris
#110 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#139 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel d'Orsay, housed in two beautiful XVIIIth century buildings, is close to the Orsay museum. A delightful patio, pleasant to the eyes, a large and smartly furnished lobby, warmly decorated rooms, classical or modern works of art provide a setting of refinement, comfort and serenity. In the heart of Paris and set in a quiet area, a stone's throw from the river Seine, the magnificent garden of the Tuileries (Louvre Garden), the Louvre Museum and Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter, the Hotel d'Orsay opens its doors to Art, gardens and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Orsay Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing