We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location a block from the Seine, warm and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Ranked #57 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel d'Orsay for four nights. The hotel was located on a quiet street just a block from the Seine and the Musee d'Orsay. The Solferino metro station was just a few minutes walk away, as was the Musee d'Orsay RER station.

We were in room 15 on the first floor overlooking the street and main entrance to the hotel. There were double windows, so we rarely heard any noise from the street below.

We were in a superior room, so our room was quiet large by European standards. There were two twin beds in the room, and a small writing desk with two chairs. There was plenty of space for our bags.

Our only complaint aboout the room was that it was much too warm, and we could not get the heat turned down to a comfortable temperature. We were able to get a bit of air into the room by opening the inner set of windows.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. They were always willing to offer suggestions and directions. The manager was always around during the day, and was making sure that the guests had everything they need. Gregory at the front desk was fantastic. He was warm and friendly, and always offered a few kind words when we entered or exited the hotel. He always greeted us with a warm smile and asked about our day.

We were on a package that included breakfast. The breakfast was excellent, but it would have been nice if there was a bit more variety from day today. There were always bread, croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, and proscuitto. Although the breakfast was good, we were a bit tired of it after a couple of days.

One thing to note about the Hotel d'Orsay is it's located in a residential area. There weren't as many cafes in the area as there are in other areas of Paris. Many of the cafes in the area closed at 7:00 p.m. The Cafe Mucha and the Cafe Solferino were the only ones close by that were opened at night. The Cafe Mucha was excellent, but the Cafe Solferino was disappointing both times we ate there.

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel d'Orsay, and would stay there again on a future trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JellyrollsKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsayrelationclients, Responsable relations clients at Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear JellyrollsKaren,

What a pleasure for all our team to discover your opinion so nicely shared with the Trip Advisor community !

We would like to thank you sincerely for these compliments addressed to us. Real rewards that invite us to always excel to serve you better.

Our central location upgraded your stay in our city and we are delighted to know that you could benefit from this asset of our Property.

We are happy to see that every detail has made the difference !

Be assured that we would be enchanted to welcome you again during your next stay in Paris.

Warmest regards,

Jérôme Cavelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

I concur with the previous reviewer that this is really a great choice. It's location is its top selling point. Our room was reasonably priced at $260/night. The beds were comfortable. Plumbing was good. Heat was adequate and necessary. An elevator is available. Decor is modern but not too motelly. Service at the front desk was reserved but warm enough. The staff would not discuss the recent election. Avoiding politics is probably a good idea.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsayrelationclients, Responsable relations clients at Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear BostonGoose,

We deeply thank you to have shared your experience with us with the Trip Advisor community !

We are thrilled to to know that our House was such a match with your expectations.

Be assured that we would be glad to welcome you again at the hotel d'Orsay.

Warmest regards,

Jérôme Cavelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It's the location! Every evening - a walk in the Tuilierie Gardens - walk up and down the Seine to other sites. Easy metro. Hotel personnel helpful and caring when baggage missing for a couple of days. Our second stay at D'orsay in as many years. Good breakfast. The rooms are lovely - the beds comfortable - a perfect home base for us. We tend to stay about 8-9 days when we go so know the room service is prompt and professional. Check website for good deals. We call it our home in Paris.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, which was on the street side, but noticed little or no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJtheScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsayrelationclients, Responsable relations clients at Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear JJtheScrivener,

We deeply thank you to have shared your experience at the hotel d'Orsay.

Our central location upgraded your vacation in our wonderful city and we are delighted to know that you could reach major places of Paris within walking distance.

Be assured that it was our pleasure to make you feel like at home in our House.

We would be glad to welcome you again in our Property.

Warmest regards,

Jérôme Cavelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When we travel to Paris, about three times a year, we always book a superior or deluxe room at the Hotel d'Orsay, because of :
* the absolutely perfect location, making it possible to walk everywhere, yet also with easy bus and metro connections and easy to find taxi service
* the attractive building (right behind the socialist party headquarters, and believe me, they always choose the most luxurious!)
* elegant furnishings in the rooms, which have been renovated to top standard
* friendly, efficient service
The hotel has no restaurant, but who needs one, when right by the best addresses in the city?
We also recommend the d'Orsay to all of our guests, and have had nothing but enthusiastic feedback to date

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsayrelationclients, Responsable relations clients at Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Lorka,

All the members of the hotel d'Orsay's team want to deeply thank you to have shared your experience with us.

What a pleasure to read that you used to come 3 times a year in our House. We are grateful for your loyalty.

We are delighted to know that our Property was such a match with your expectations !

Be assured that we would be enchanted to welcome you again at the hotel d'Orsay.

Warmest regards,

Jérôme Cavelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Nice place to stay. Nice decoration and clean hotel. LCD tv, minibar etc...
Breakfast is't big but that just normal in France.
This hotel is often used by members fo politic parties from other citys during their visit in france. Minus points comes that there is no restaurant and road that is used quite a lot, is going in front of the hotel. Hotel front steps ends to this road. Windows are single. Not double or triple. So if your room is on street side, you can hear even higheels walking on the street.
Metrostation 100m away. Also RER train stop is 50m, on next to musee d'orsay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donjohnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsayrelationclients, Responsable relations clients at Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Donjohnsson,

All the members of the hotel d'Orsay's team want to deeply thank you to have shared your experience with us.

We are delighted to know that our House was such a match with your expectations !

We are sorry to understand that you couldn't find the quietness you needed during your stay.

Be assured that we would be enchanted to allot you a room on the courtyard for your next stay at the hotel d'Orsay.

Warmest regards,

Jérôme Cavelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Firstly the location is fantastic, down a quiet street 2 minutes from Musee D'Orsay. Our room was quiet and well furnished - great shower, huge wardrobe, big comfy bed. Breakfast was a buffet although there were hot options - lovely fresh pastries, good coffee... a lovely start to the day. The staff at reception could not have been more helpful or friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a solid base from which to explore Paris.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janewrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsayrelationclients, Responsable relations clients at Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Janewrexham,

All the members of the hotel d'Orsay's team want to deeply thank you to have shared your experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you our House was such a match with your expectations !
Our central location is one of our best advantage and we are enchanted to know that you could easily reach major sights of our city.

All the staff is heart warmed to know that you felt welcomed and assited with us.

Be assured that we would be glad to welcome you again at the hotel d'Orsay.

Warmest regards,

Jérôme Cavelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Our first trip to Paris, this boutique hotel couldn't have been better. Steps from the D'Orsay and Louvre Museums, a great location near Metro and RER stations. We booked a larger room (#55), spacious and comfortable, for a week's stay in November. The staff was both friendly and helpful, with recommendations for the restaurants nearby. There was a even a great boulangerie at the end of the block. Easy access to all of Paris, we never had to taker a cab. We even walked from the hotel along thje Seine to Notre Dame, and we in our 70's! Breakfasts at the hotel were pricey, so we ate at bistros down the block. We would stay there again, and recpommend it to any who ask.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsayrelationclients, Responsable relations clients at Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Charles H,

All the members of the hotel d'Orsay's team want to deeply thank you to have shared your experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you our House was such a match with your expectations !

Our central location upgraded your stay in our city and we are enchanted to know that you could beneifit from this asset of our Property to reach easily major sights of Paris.

Be assured that we would be glad to welcome you again at the hotel d'Orsay.

Warmest regards,

Jérôme Cavelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#158 of 1,805 in Paris
872 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#199 of 1,805 in Paris
897 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#23 of 1,805 in Paris
527 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France

Address: 93 rue de Lille, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Paris
#48 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#138 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £131 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel d'Orsay, housed in two beautiful XVIIIth century buildings, is close to the Orsay museum. A delightful patio, pleasant to the eyes, a large and smartly furnished lobby, warmly decorated rooms, classical or modern works of art provide a setting of refinement, comfort and serenity. In the heart of Paris and set in a quiet area, a stone's throw from the river Seine, the magnificent garden of the Tuileries (Louvre Garden), the Louvre Museum and Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter, the Hotel d'Orsay opens its doors to Art, gardens and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Orsay Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing