We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hostel great company!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Ranked #126 of 194 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We met some great fellow travelers who taught us some interesting new words, shared their juiceboxes, and accused me of robbing the louvre...

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Freecoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff of this hostel is just terrible. I´ve never been so mad at a hostel before. Me and my wife felt being stolen by this third-rate hostel. The shower is a joke, just a hole with cold water passing through. We left the day after and lost our money. The worst cost-benefit relation. NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvieirabsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The hostel has a friendly environment and is situated in a teenage friendly neighborhood. The people at the front desk were always willing to help with any troubles. Also, everyday our rooms were cleaned -- something that doesn't always happen in hostels. The location was great because we were very close to the metro station and some great (reasonable) restaurants. Overall, the hostel is an inexpensive place to be in the middle of Paris. We recommend renting an extra sheet at the front desk and a towel if you didn't bring one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Believeinji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This is the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff was incompetent and unhelpful. The system of reservation is awful. You reserve a specific room, so I had to check in three different times during the course of my 5-day stay. You are not allowed to return to the hostel between 11 a.m. and 4 p.m., but if you re-check in you have to move your things out of the damp, dungeon-like storage room by 8 p.m., which messed up my entire schedule in Paris. In the middle of the day there's a chance they might move you to another room without telling you. One of my friends who booked a girls-only room was disturbed to wake up with a guy sleeping beside her.

But perhaps the worst part of my stay was the group of 70 9-year-old school children who stayed in the hostel. They yelled at us for knocking on the door to our room at 10 p.m. because we were too loud and they were sleeping, THEN they woke me up at 7 a.m. two days in a row, running down the halls for an hour, gathering right outside my door and being obnoxiously loud. Have you ever heard of 9-year-olds staying in a youth hostel? It was absurd and ridiculous.

Internet access is not free, and no access to an outlet in some of the rooms, so no way to charge our camera batteries, phones and ipods. The breakfast is awful. The water in the showers was only scalding hot.

Terrible hostel. I would much rather pay a little extra money for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chocopup90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights... Terrible breakfast, no internet, uncomfortable beds, bathroom floods whole room every time you shower, rental towels were absolutely disgusting, very very rude staff (see below):

2am on the second night water started gushing through the roof into our room, the only way to get our bags out of the water was to put them on our beds... went to the reception to see if we could change room, response was: "no". Asked for at least a couple of big buckets to try and contain the water: "we don't have any". "there might be one outside for the cleaners, go get that". Took the bucket back to our room and started catching water, till there was a knock at the door, it was the front desk guy asking for the bucket back because he just realised the cleaners would need it at 6am.
Needless to say we were all a bit annoyed by this stage. I asked for at least a partial refund for the night's accommodation and again the answer was: "no".

I cannot recommend strongly enough that you don't stay at this hostel... pay the extra to get somewhere decent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azzarocks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The hostel is cheap by Parisian standards and for the money you pay you get a really comfortable stay in a great localization. The two bed rooms have one comfy bunk-bed, a sink, a kind-of cabinet and a radiator which can be turned on or off as you please. The four-bed rooms also have a toilet and a shower- but I have to say that ours wasn't working so well so we had to use the ones in the hall. Each of the four floors has a bathroom with three relatively clean showers and two toilets. In the morning you can have breakfast from 7 to 9.45 - you get a roll, jam and butter, also coffee, tea or hot chocolate - second helpings aren't a problem and if you need something more you can bring something else to put on you bread- we did that. There are also microwaves which you can use and a machine with hot water. The lockout from 11 to 4 is a bit annoying but if you're there to see sights you won't want to waste time to go back to your room in the middle of the day anyway. All the staff we've met spoke pretty good English and could give you info on the metro and other stuff. Remember to ask them for a map of Paris - it's useful with marked sights, metro and RER lines. The hostel is very close to a metro station called Ledru - Rollin - purple 8 line, many bars and restaurants, a Monoprix supermarket and a handy bakery. The walk to Notre Dame takes about 40 minutes and to the Eiffle Tower an hour and a half. I don't know about wifii cause we didn't have a laptop but I saw people using the Internet downstairs so I assume it's there. The storage room for baggage is damp and small but it's locked and safe- on the day of your departure you can leave your bags there till 8pm.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank black_angell1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Were given twin room with a wash-basin and shared bathroom. For 25 euros per night was probably the cheapest deal we could find in Paris. Rooms were fairly clean. We were not bothered too much with cleanliness since we were using it only to sleep and shower. Sleep quality was a tad on the toss because the corridor remains noisy all night mainly due to party animals walking up n down trying to find their room at 4am. But if you are exhausted enough that noise does not affect your sleep, its perfect.
The manager kinda guy at reception seemed very helpful and accommodating to all. He also advised us to get a cab for less to get to the airport on an early sunday morning (at 5am) since the public transport is not that frequent, apparently, which we thought was good on his part.
Basically you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikasShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Père Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#36 of 194 in Paris
242 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Bastille Hostel
Bastille Hostel
#129 of 194 in Paris
222 reviews
Arty Paris
#13 of 194 in Paris
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#39 of 194 in Paris
544 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#17 of 194 in Paris
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Internationale des Jeunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Internationale des Jeunes

Address: 10 rue Trousseau | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 194 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £19 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A youth hostel in the center of Paris. During your visit in Paris, you will certainly be looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay. Our hostel represents the best alternative for young travellers, as it combines an excellent location, a good quality lodging (clean, safe and nice) and the most competitive prices in the City of Lights (recommended by Lonely Planet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Internationale des Jeunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Internationale Des Jeunes Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing