We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Parisian Experience”
Review of Hotel Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
Ranked #1,089 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Parisian Experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Upon arriving at Hotel Eldorado, we were warmly greeted at the reception. We had arrived early but since the room was ready, we checked in early and dropped off our luggage. Subsequent visits to the reception were very friendly and helpful, especially when the stopper in the sink got stuck and the water wouldn't drain. The room was small but it was enough space for us and the luggage. The room was refreshed daily, replacing towels that were used and fixing the bed covers. The covers themselves were not changed even though we were there for 6 nights. With no AC, the room was stuffy whenever we returned after going out, but opening the window for a bit easily remedies this. As the hotel is in the 17e, we had to take the metro to get anywhere we wanted to go, but the Place de Clichy metro station is only 5 minute walk away. We visited the bakery across the street for breakfast every day and there are numerous varied restaurants around the hotel. The restaurant connected to the hotel is pretty good too. The bistro is also where breakfast is served in the morning. We tried their breakfast for 9 Euro pp on the last morning: one mini croissant, one mini pain au chocolate, healthy helping baguette slices with butter and jam, coffee or tea (and quite a big pot of it), an Activia yogurt and orange juice. It didn't seem like a lot, but we didn't leave hungry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    134
    46
    27
    19
See reviews for
28
110
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was here with my boyfriend in June 2013.
We loved this quirky little hotel from the moment we stepped over the doorstep. We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the street and with ensuite bathroom. And walking up the stairs (no elevator) was a joy of it's own because of the tilting and personality of each step.
The room had beautiful bohemian decor and a comfortable bed. Be prepared for a tiny (or cosy?) bathroom.
Beautiful garden where we rested our feet at the evening with a bottle of wine from the restaurant.

Loved the restaurant downstairs!! They speak good english and the food is delicious! Go there and you will be dining with the locals and with jazz music in the background.

Room Tip: If you have no problem walking in stairs, choose a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great neighborhood and a lovely room. We were treated really well despite speaking no French, or slaughtering it when we tried. I was traveling with my mom and they accommodated us by giving us a room on the first floor. The room was spacious and lovely and well thought out. I loved the artsy interior. There was a nice little table to have breakfast (try the excellent bakery up the street and get there early as some of the tastiest pastry sells out fast). The surrounding neighborhood has some fantastic restaurants and cute little bars. Fun exploring around and the Metro is just a few blocks away. We were facing the street and we could hear people at the bar or on the street but it never went on very late. Plus if you are doing Paris the way you should you will be so exhausted from a day of having fun walking and exploring that nothing can stop your sleep. The cleaning staff were really sweet and helpful. I really recommend this place it's a great deal for Paris!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dstumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed in a triple room on the 5th floor, street side for 4 days in November. The rooms were very cute in a boho chic way. It was raining the entire time we were there so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor garden courtyard but it looked like it would be great if the weather was good.
We had a shared bath that was never a problem and we didn't find any problems with noise. However, it was also winter so we had the windows closed at night. We could see the Eiffel tower from our window and the Metro is close so you can quickly get to all the main sites of Paris from there. There were several little cool coffee shop/bars and cafes in walking distance to hang out in
Inexpensive great coffee, fresh made crepes and baguettes are available from stores and vendors on the street the hotel is on.
The price of the room is so reasonable for Paris that it leaves you more to spend on enjoying all the wonderful things in Paris!

Room Tip: The restaurant downstairs is a bit pricey for breakfast but you can get fabulous croissants, baguett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cselkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for about the 4th time now and we're still quite happy with it. The Metro ist just around the corner and also many really good bus lines stop just nearby. The hotel has individually styled rooms, small but functional. There are rarely any luxury ad-ons but it its clean and for this price you can't argue with it. If you want more, pay more.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Restaurant just next door is also recommendable and there is a really good bakery just opposite. We enjoyed and will come back again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are just beautiful and very quiet. The stairs in the main building are steep and na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SabiTobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a very different type of stay, let me explain. We had booked what is called a garden room, essentially a room that looks out over the outdoor seating area between the actual main hotel and the house where we stayed. The rooms are basic, don't expect a tv, tea/coffee facility etc. So I hope that sets the scene?
Now moving on, the staff were very helpful and all spoke English which, despite my dreadful French, was a great benefit! The location is good, a taxi from Gard Du Nord was about 13 Euros, the Metro was a 5 minute walk, the nearest was Place de Cliche, a days ticket to anywhere on The Metro cost 7 euros.
The GREAT benefit to this basic hotel was the adjoining bistro, which is part of the hotel and is excellent, full every night with Parissians so the right place to be! A starter was around 7 euro, mains about 16 and deserts about 8 euro. Wine started about 20 euro so two people would spend around 70 - 80 pounds.
Overall I would not rush back to stay there but equally wouldn't be upset if I ended up back there, guess I'm too used to 4 star places with work!! Don't expect too much and I think you should be pleasantly surprised as the Eldorado grows on you!

Room Tip: If you get a room in the house take note of poor lighting leading to house and steep steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toyotaverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel was cheap compare to other places..Friend of a friend stayed here and recommended it. I travelled with a friend so we needed twin room. We were given a room on the top floor and shower was 1 floor down..It was clean and quiet and we never had to queue or anything...They left plenty of towels too...reception staff was nice...cant say the same about staff in the hotel bar..wine was sort of expensive compare to other bars we were in (at 6 eur per glass...I know its Paris, but it is also a 2 star "hotel" in a "not very central location"). Anyways, the area is good and turned out to be next to Moulin Rouge..(doh..we did not notice it when booking). I was on my own on the last night and went to the bar to browse stuff on my tablet and have a glass of wine....it was relaxing and there were only 4-5 people in the bar....if you dont count the mouse that was casually browsing around...I nearly screamed and was trying to move away and alert staff..they looked at me like everything was fine and carried on...Needless to say...I wont be coming back here...It is clear that mouse is a sacred animal in this establishment or they are too cheap to buy traps...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrlandeRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel des Batignolles
Hotel des Batignolles
#720 of 1,800 in Paris
514 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Abrial Hotel
Abrial Hotel
#1,162 of 1,800 in Paris
369 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#514 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Excelsior-Batignolles
Excelsior-Batignolles
#1,167 of 1,800 in Paris
18 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,030 of 1,800 in Paris
281 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#781 of 1,800 in Paris
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Property: Hotel Eldorado
Address: 18 rue des Dames, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familial hotel with charm, located a few meters from Place de Clichy metro station and 600 meters from Moulin Rouge and Montmartre. Only 4 metro stops to go to Champs-Elysees. With a well known restaurant, the Bistrot des Dames. Includes a recently renovated garden pavilion dated 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Paris
Hotel Eldorado Paris
Eldorado Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing