We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Ranked #560 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have visited this nice Parisian style hotel for two times during the last year. First time with our children in a quadruple room and second time as a couple in a twin room. Hotel is well located in a quiet street and just 10 minutes walk from RER Luxembourg. Rooms were clean with white towels and linen. Breakfast was a nice start for the day and good value for money.

We will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for those kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you for the second time .
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the family rooms for 4 persons on your first stay.
The location is indeed in the heart of the city.
We are putting our efforts to keep the Art Nouveau style of the hotel. The hotel was built in the 1890s when the Art Nouveau style was most popular. That's what makes it so Parisian.
Breakfast is also important to us. We are trying our best to satisfy our guests with fresh quality food.
You should know that on our side having you and your wife has been a real treat and we are also looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past years and will go back, despite the fact that the elevator was out for almost 48 hours. It was obvious that management felt embarrassed that it took so long for the elevator people to get it fixed. The elevator was a minor annoyance given the hotel's location, warmth and charm.

Room Tip: Rooms with two twin beds seem larger than rooms with a double bed. Us the shutters to lessen street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment and your fidelity to our home. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted to know how much you appreciate "the Balcons".
We are sincerely sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us because the elevator was out of order during the week-end. The maintenance services came three times during the week-end but were unable to fix it. The elevator was repaired on Monday at 9am. Major improvements are planned on the elevator in a couple of weeks. We would like to apology for this breakdown.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We loved the hotel. Located in the Latin Quarter and close to everything. Odeon Metro stop is right down the street. Lots of excellent cafes/bistros in the area for dining. Many interesting shops in the area. Easy walk to the Luxemborg Park. Staff is very friendly and everyone was bilingual. Would definitely stay here again if I get back to Paris.

Room Tip: No coffee maker or mini-fridge in the room. Dining room in lobby served breakfast or it was availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneK1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for taking time to write a five star comment on our home. We are delighted to read that you loved it.
The location is great not only to walk to Luxembourg gardens or Notre-Dame but also for shopping, dining or enjoying a drink siting at a terrace.
Thank you again for your nice comment on our friendly staff. It is really rewarding for us.
We hope to welcome you again.
Our warmest regards and a happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel for a dozen years, every time we are in Paris. We love the beautiful art nouveau wood, the lovely stained glass in the stairwell, and the staff. The location is fantastic, within walking distance of museums, concerts, great food, and super people-watching. It is near the best subway and bus lines throughout central Paris. Great value, quiet street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneetRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
thank you for this great comment and your fidelity to our home for a dozen years.
We are happy to read that you liked not only the charm of the Art Nouveau style but also our fantastic location.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you for a thirteenth year in 2014:)
Our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

When we visit Paris, we find it easiest to stay at a hotel on a direct metro line from Gare du Nord. This is very very near the Odeon station and we came across it in the book "Charming small hotels in Paris "by Duncan and Glass. They were very enthusiastic about its Art Nouveau charm and generous breakfast so we booked.
The hotel was very good value for money, being centrally located and much cheaper than previous hotels we have stayed in. It realy does have balconies and we were able to look down from ours but as it was December we didnt stay on it for long.
I liked the fact that the places at breakfast are laid on trays so you can carry your tray round the buffet and ge several items at once. The down side is that the dining room might be described as bijou or petit and you cannot always have room to put your tray down if there are several people also collecting their breakfast. There were three cooked items available from a container and you helped yourself to hot drinks. Some hotels have tea and coffee freshly made and brought to your table, but this did not matter. The breakfast is much cheaper than most Paris hotels who charge twice as much just for petit dejeuner. The hotel was quiet . The room was large enough for a double bed, desk, armchairs and room to move around them. It got a little hot at night. The wifi connection was good and easy to use. It was disappointing that the only English channel on the TV was CNN , as we would have preferred the BBC.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babarandceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
First of all, thank you for your nice comment. As we are a family run hotel, so it is rewarding for us and all our loyal team.
We are glad you admire our Art Nouveau style. Our floral windows in the breakfasts room and the staircases were designed in the 1890s.
We are pleased to read that you feast on our generous breakfasts.
We have also registered that you would have preferred BBC than CNN as an English tv channel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to get our five stars comment:).
Kind regards and happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lovely staff. Excellent breakfast, especially the coffee. Modern and clean rooms with small but very nice bathroom. Newly renovated. Central yet still quiet location. Loved our stay there and can warmly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Small but wonderful rooms with excellent beds. Free wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for this great message. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Paris in our home. All the team tries to give the best service to our guests. This is important for us. It is our first concern so your words are rewarding.
Many guests enjoy our great location, the friendly staff, the cleans rooms and our great breafast and coffee.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

When in Paris I have often stayed in this cosy hotel in the heart of rive gauche. I prefer an upstairs room with the view over roofs.The location of the hotel between the Jardin de Luxembourg and boulevard Saint Germain is great and the street Casimir Delavigne is really calm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Out P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your fidelity to our home. We were happy to welcome you again. Our rooms on the 6th floor are very appreciated for their view over the roofs which make them really Parisian. You can even see the Eiffel Tower from one of them. Our guests not only enjoy the quietness of the street Casimir Delavigne in the busy St Germain and St Michel areas but also the cosy Rive Gauche of Paris. We will wait for you next trip. Friendly regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#194 of 1,803 in Paris
473 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#706 of 1,803 in Paris
318 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Delavigne
Hotel Delavigne
#859 of 1,803 in Paris
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#377 of 1,803 in Paris
587 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#99 of 1,803 in Paris
393 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#179 of 1,803 in Paris
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Balcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Balcons

Address: 3 rue Casimir Delavigne | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#298 Family Hotel in Paris
#314 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#357 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £107 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel des Balcons 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Saint Germain district near the Odéon theatre, the Grand Hotel des Balcons is a family hotel. The decor in the lobby, panelling, stained glass windows and mirrors create a friendly atmosphere and give the hotel its special character recalling the Art Nouveau period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel des Balcons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing