We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel des Balcons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Ranked #483 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Hotel des Balcons”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A perfect hotel for a visitor who wants an ideal location, close to a metro and good restaurants. It is ideally situated in a quiet nook between St.Michel and St.Germain The staff were exceedingly helpful and charming at all times. Breakfast was good and I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshunter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this great message on our home.
We are glad that you enjoyed the ideal location. It is true that our location is central and special, in the heart of Paris, close to St Germain and St Michel, in a quiet street.

All the team tries to give the best service as possible to our dear guest, this is the most important for us and it is every day our first concern. So your words are really rewarding.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to get our five stars comment.
Have a lovely day.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    263
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
197
82
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Grand Hotel des Balcons is a simple, but charming hotel, very well situated in the heart of Paris.
Easy access by metro. Rooms are simple but clean and not very expensive. Every time I have to go to Paris I choose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvanleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for this nice comment towards our home. As we are a family run hotel, it is really rewarding for us and for all our loyal team.
We are glad that you appreciated our simple and charming hotel. We have decorated it with an Art Nouveau style taking inspiration from the floral 1890s staircase and breakfast rooms windows.
The rooms are simple yet pleasing with their bright colors and fabrics. An eagle eye is kept on cleanliness.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed not only our premium location but also the good value for money.
Thank you for your fidelity to our home.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The morning breakfast was excellent! The coffee was superb! Service was fabulous! Loved the quaintness of it. I had sprained my ankle walking through Paris, and the maids came and checked on me twice throughout the day and even brought me ice packs to put on my swollen ankle!! The beds and pillows were great. I loved the fact that I could keep my window open all night, with soft curtains flowing from the window and could hear faint city noises in the background. It was lovely!! I stayed in a room with 3 beds, since it was myself and two daughters with me. The room was larger than what my other friends had, so I would pay the extra for that room again. The location is ideal, when you want to walk to other venues and sighseeing!! If I ever travel to Paris again, I will definitely book a room here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Mary,

Many thanks for your really nice message about our home. We feel very honored by your amazing words. It has been a pleasure to host you and your daughters. We were truly pleased to be able to help you during your stay in Paris. For us it is really important to get this special contact with every guest. We are a family and this is the atmosphere we try to maintain with our team and guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the family room which sizes 25m2, with its 2 windows and balconies facing our charming and quiet street, offering a bathroom with a bathtub and seperated toilets (which is unusual for Paris).

Our central location is also ideal. We pay a lot of attention to quality not only in food but also in the bedding.

We are happy that you left with wondrful memories of your trip. This is the most important to us. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We enjoyed being in a hotel with a real French flavor. It is in a good location near the metro and numerous restaurants and within walking distance of many attractions. The staff was extremely helpful. Many of the double rooms are quite small, but adequate with sufficient storage space. Bathroom was small without a shower curtain, but this did not cause problems (i.e., no flooding in the bathroom). It was under renovation when we were there, but this was not a problem and is supposed to have been completed by the beginning of March. The elevator is miniscule and often will only take one person.

Room Tip: More expensive doubles are substantially larger (but not that many of them exist).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Elaine,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice comment on our home.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Art Nouveau style which makes our hotel so Parisian and French. Our ground floor has been completely renovated to welcome handicaped people. The renovation is now completed. We put so much heart in these renovations that it is really rewarding when our guests appreciate them, which is our goal indeed.
As you wrote, our location is really central, the main touristic attractions are reachable by walking, or for those who don't like walking, either by metro or by bus. The neighborhood is really Parisian with its cafes, shops and great restaurants.
All the team give their best to be helpful to make you feel at home.
Talking about the size, we have classic double rooms but also elegant double rooms which are larger and sizing 18 m2, offering a bathroom with a bathtub.
We hope to welcome you again in our renovated hotel. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLETCHER
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have stayed at the Balcons at least 14 times over the years. Room 601 is our favorite. Jean Francois and his wife Sabin are perfect hosts. The rooms are spotless and the mattresses and pillows great. The location is ideal, near the Metro and walking distance to everyplace. The buffet breakfast is excellent. We highly recommend this hotel. L & G Coval

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Coval,
Thank you so much for your fidelity to our home. It was nice to welcome you again for your 14th time in our beautiful city. We are extremely pleased to read how much you appreciate the Balcons. This really means a lot to us as all the team put all its heart and efforts to satisfy the guests with cleanliness, quality beds and pillows and excellent food for breakfasts.
Many hosts like you enjoy room 601 not only for the Eiffel tower and Paris roofs view but also for its new decoration.
The hotel location in the heart of Paris is indeed great and it is easy to go and visit all Paris.
Thank you again for your kindness and for sharing your experience with everybody. This really helps us. We will wait for your next trip.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel is ok. The room was very small, even after ordering some kind of superior room. The one thing which really made me not want to come back was the fact the they had a smelly painting and reform going on. Sleeping in fresh paint is not exactly what you expect when paying 120 euro for a bed. Speaking of bed: the bed, pillow and cover were all of excellent quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank European201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really sorry that you did not fully enjoyed your stay with us. It is a shame that you have not told us directly your disappointment. We would have done everything to try and find a solution for you. Our main aim is to satisfy our guests as best as we can and make their stay enjoyable.

As you mentioned, we are totally renovating the ground floor to welcome handicapped guests. However we honestly do our best to bring our guests the comfort they need during the renovation and we have decided to offer the breakfasts to be forgiven for possible nuisances.

Thank you for your congratulations about our beds, pillows and covers. Quality is also important to us so you feel comfortable and sleep well.

We are again really sorry and we hope anyway that you will keep a good memory of our beautiful city.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have visited this nice Parisian style hotel for two times during the last year. First time with our children in a quadruple room and second time as a couple in a twin room. Hotel is well located in a quiet street and just 10 minutes walk from RER Luxembourg. Rooms were clean with white towels and linen. Breakfast was a nice start for the day and good value for money.

We will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for those kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you for the second time .
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the family rooms for 4 persons on your first stay.
The location is indeed in the heart of the city.
We are putting our efforts to keep the Art Nouveau style of the hotel. The hotel was built in the 1890s when the Art Nouveau style was most popular. That's what makes it so Parisian.
Breakfast is also important to us. We are trying our best to satisfy our guests with fresh quality food.
You should know that on our side having you and your wife has been a real treat and we are also looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#690 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#161 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#580 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#153 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#367 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Delavigne
Hotel Delavigne
#890 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Balcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Balcons

Property: Grand Hotel des Balcons
Address: 3 rue Casimir Delavigne | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#298 Family Hotel in Paris
#314 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#357 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel des Balcons 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Saint Germain district near the Odéon theatre, the Grand Hotel des Balcons is a family hotel. The decor in the lobby, panelling, stained glass windows and mirrors create a friendly atmosphere and give the hotel its special character recalling the Art Nouveau period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Hotel des Balcons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing