We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Ranked #454 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place in Paris”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very beautiful hotel in Paris, I stayed there for the 5th time.
The location is great, the stuff is nice, the breakfast is very tasty. There is an elevator.
It may be difficult to find for the first time - so make sure you have a plan with you.
Good value for its money.

Room Tip: If you are not on a budget, choose bigger room with bathroom. At the same time smaller room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Katia,

Thank you so much for your great review and your fidelity to our home.

It is very pleasant to read that you appreciated the renovations of the reception and the breakfast areas. We put all our hearts in these renovations so it is very rewarding for us.

It is true that our location is great in the heart of the city and that our breakfast is a daily feast. We pay a lot of attention to it with not only regular dishes but also special dishes like crepes, fruit tarts, duck paté so we are glad that you enjoyed it.

We will be delighted to host you for your 6th time.

Have a nice day.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    265
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
89
197
84
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have been staying at the Grand Hotel des Balcons annually for a couple of nights for several years now. It never fails to be a perfect resting place for myself and my 2 friends......staff are always extremely helpful, the price is reasonable, excellent standard of cleanliness. The neighbourhood is easily accessible by Metro, and it is a good base for sightseeing. The Art Deco style of the building, and particularly of the newly redecorated reception and breakfast area, is very pleasing. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyC751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your fidelity to our home during all those years and your great comment. We were really happy to host you and your two friends for a couple of nights.

We indeed had renovations of the reception and the breakfast areas for four months last winter. This was really special to us as we put all our heart and efforts in this great project. It is really rewarding when our guests appreciate them, which is our goal indeed. We kept the Art Nouveau style which gives the charm of our home.

We are sincerely pleased that you liked our prime location in the heart of Paris and the cleanliness of the rooms as this is key for us with the service of course. All the team is always trying its best to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible. This is a must for us that we fulfilled your expectations.

Know that on our side having you and your friends has been a real treat and we are also looking forward to welcoming you again for many years.

Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and it never disappoints. It is lovely, very clean and centrally located. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I stayed on the 6th floor and the view from the top was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your fidelity towards our home. We were happy to welcome you and we are very grateful for this lovely message.

In the heart of St Germain and St Michel areas, we do our best to welcome our dear guests in a lovely atmosphere.

We are glad that you enjoyed one of our "under the roof" room with its balcony and the nice view. You can even admire the Eiffel tower from one of them.

For us it is really important to get this special contact with every guest. We are a family and this is the atmosphere we try to maintain with our team and the guests.

We hope having the pleasure to host you again in the future.

Our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We only were able to stay one night here, as we visited for the weekend only, and spent the last two nights out by Paris Disneyland where hotels are much cheaper. However, for the location, The Grand Hotel des Balcons was reasonably priced. The location was perfect, in a lovely area with lots of night life and a pleasant place to walk around. Metro is close. Breakfast is not included, but for a fee it is available in their small breakfast area. They do have a room (unlocked) to store luggage while you are out for the day, worked really well for us! The standing room only balconies are lovely and the room was quite large, as was the bathroom. We even had a full tub! Wifi was included and worked easily. Room was clean, bright and pleasant. There is an elevator but not large enough for suitcases, just one or two tightly squeezed people..

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with 4 single beds, two pushed together to make a queen. Plenty of space for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryland Sightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was sincerely a pleasure to welcome you for one night during your Parisian week-end to Disneyland.

We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay in our home. This is the most important for us. If we can do anything to help our dear guests having a great time in our beautiful city and leaving with great memories, then our job has been done.

We are happy you appreciated the clean rooms (our first maid keeps an eagle eye on it), the full tub in our bathrooms and our very convenient bagagerie to store your luggage when you arrive early or leave late.

We thank you so much for your kindness and those lovely words. We will be delighted to host you for a longer stay on your next trip to France.

Have a nice day. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This utterly charming gem is on the left bank, just a minute's walk from the Seine, Notre Dame, Luxemborg Gardens, the Louvre and other attractions, plus a metro stop. There are cafes in abundance (see pics), and a night spot that became our day's end go-to place for a glass of wine or beer - "Le Danton" - at the corner where the street meets the Seine. After a few nights, the waiters recognized us and welcomed us with a smile - and remembered what we wanted to drink! So much for so-called stuffy Parisians.

The St-Germain-des-Prés is a charming neighborhood that is lived in, not just all tourist stuff, and our favorite location in which to stay. There were four of us this time, in two rooms, both perfectly fine although not huge, both with French balconies. It added such charm to be able to throw open the windows! It is easy to get to the hotel from the airport via the fine metro system and then a short walk from Luxemborg station.

There are multiple stories to the hotel and one tiny elevator, but it never seemed to be much of a problem. Once or twice, you had to wait, but then we just walked up or down the stairs if the elevator was busy. No big deal. If you travel with giant suitcases, you will find it a bit of a squeeze, though. (And there is not a lot of space in the rooms themselves for big suitcases, either.)

The breakfast room is very cheery (see pic) and the buffet provided is one on the best we have encountered (see pic). There was a full selection of cooked food, fruit, breads, pastries, even paté. The coffee was do-it-yourself, with pods, and a fine selection was available.

The staff was friendly and helpful, always with a smile, despite our terrible French. This was not our first visit to Paris, but we will never stay anywhere else from now on.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the view and less sense of the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Madam,

it has been a pleasure to host the four of you during your stay last June in Paris. We really thank you very much for your time writing this long review about our charming home and our great neighborhood.

It is true that our prime location is really one of our major quality. We are right in the center of Paris in the very chic St Germain des Prés area. You have easy access to sights and museums. The neighborhood is full of cafés and excellent restaurants, haute-couture boutiques and small French shops.

Moreover, the hotel reception and the breakfast rooms have been completely renovated during the winter. We opened a third breakfast room on the courtyard. We kept the Art Nouveau style which gives the charm of our home.

We are glad that you enjoyed the French balconies, our tiny elevator which is a real curiosity and our very special breakfast with duck paté, cooked dishes like omelette, potatoes, bacon and saussages.

All the team gives its best to help you to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Your comment is really rewarding. This truly made all the team very proud.

We will be happy to welcome you on your next visit.

Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed six nights at the Balcons the second week of April and it was an even better experience than the first visit four years ago. This is an extremely well-run, excellent 2-star hotel. We chose the superior double this time, which was large by Paris standards. It is perfectly located, updated and spotless, and so easily accessible to all attractions. Every member of the staff was professional, pleasant, and helpful. We love this hotel and will return on our next trip to Paris.

Room Tip: Room 501 was a nice size with a good size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paristimes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you returned safely to Atlanta. Many thanks for your great comment. It has been a pleasure to host you for six nights. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in our beautiful city.

The fact that the hotel has been renovated during the winter brings a level of comfort to our guests which is appreciated. We work hard on cleanliness and quality. Welcoming our guests is essential to us.

Our superior double rooms are really appreciated for their size, bathroom on the courtyard and quietness because of their location at the end of the corridor.

We thank you very much for your kindness and support. it is really rewarding.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The location of this appealing hotel in the 6th arrondissement is superb. Its neighborhood quarters are atmospheric and the connections to the attractions of the city are convenient. The breakfast is tasty and various and the staff is friendly and helpful. This hotel with its traditional wrought iron balcons has often been my choice in Paris - and will in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine A, Directeur général at Grand Hotel des Balcons, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice comment about our charming home.

The hotel reception has indeed been renovated during the winter and we tried to keep the Art Nouveau style which gives its charm. So we are glad you appreciated it.

We are happy that you enjoyed our great location, our special breakfast and our helpful staff.

We hope to host you again soon.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#728 of 1,802 in Paris
295 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#154 of 1,802 in Paris
430 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Delavigne
Hotel Delavigne
#878 of 1,802 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#339 of 1,802 in Paris
561 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
688 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#646 of 1,802 in Paris
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Balcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Balcons

Property: Grand Hotel des Balcons
Address: 3 rue Casimir Delavigne | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#298 Family Hotel in Paris
#314 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#357 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel des Balcons 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Saint Germain district near the Odéon theatre, the Grand Hotel des Balcons is a family hotel. The decor in the lobby, panelling, stained glass windows and mirrors create a friendly atmosphere and give the hotel its special character recalling the Art Nouveau period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Hotel des Balcons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing