We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”
Review of Hotel Jules Cesar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jules Cesar
Ranked #1,195 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nothing extraordinary about the Hotel Jules Cesar, very average, but also worth the price. Rooms are small but bed was comfortable, which is all you need when you are only in the hotel to sleep. Decent location, used the Gare de Lyon to catch the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    107
    56
    13
    5
See reviews for
20
80
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

There are enough clues to confirm that this is really no more than an average hotel. Everything from the internet photographs to the pricing and location confirm this.
It is what it is and surely no right minded person would consider dining there. In fact the pricing of meals is reflective of the most likely policy of the 'direction' to steer one elsewhere.
It is a what it is providing secure but adequate refuge. Only a few hundred metres away are classier choices, but then I would prefer to use my disposable income on a memorable meal, like

Room Tip: No, it is not terrible but I cannot upgrade from 'Terrible'. Apologies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginfizz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Location, staff & price are good
Rooms are tiny, walls are think and you can literally hear everyone, especially the elevator. I recommend eating out because the eateries around the hotel are delicious and significantly cheaper than what the hotel offers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the location. Next to one of the main train stations in Paris - Gare de Lyon. 2 min walk maximum.

Staff: friendly but not too overwhelming
Rooms: ok, but you can hear every word that is being spoken in the hall way, sometimes even in the next room. Also, all the rooms like 11, 21, 31 etc. are located literarily next to the elevator and you can hear it the entire night. Try to get a room facing the courtyard.
Cleanliness: ok

All in all good value for price and location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here for one night before taking a train from Gare de Lyon the next morning.the hotel is very close to the station making it good for this purpose.The single room was basic but very clean and the bed was comfortable.The bathroom was small,more of a "wetroom" with the shower in one corner and a curtain to pull round it, but the water was hot and drained away quickly,not leaving a slippery floor.Although the traffic noise from the street was pretty loud ( an almost ubiquitous problem in Parisian budget hotels) there wasn' t much noise from within the hotel itself,and I slept quite well.The breakfast buffet was good, bread, croissants and pastries, fresh fruit, cheese, jams ,fruit juice and a choice of hot drinks.

Room Tip: try for a room that doesn't face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jancar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel charges one night's rate as a deposit on booking. This deposit is non-refundable no matter what. I was trapped by their cancellation policy and lost my deposit. Their cancellation policy is in two paragraph. The first would state that if you cancel after a certain date (the day before your arrival) you will be charged for one night's stay. I make the mistake of stopping after reading this first paragraph because I thought it is good enough. If ever I am going to cancel my booking, it will be before the date provided. I then cancelled my booking about a week ago and it was then I found out that the deposit will not be refunded because there is a second paragraph to their policy which is exactly the same as the first except for an additional three words - "on or before" the date. So when you put the two paragraphs together, it would mean that the deposit is non-refundable no matter what date you cancel. Granted I should have read the whole thing, but the way that this cancellation policy is put together is very close to being misleading. It should state the cancellation policy in one simple paragraph and directly stated that the deposit is non-refundable instead of making it sound as though you will only be charged if cancelled after a certain date while in another paragraph go one to say that you will be charged no matter what.. My booking agent contacted the hotel and the staff at the hotel told her that if I sent in an email, they will refund my deposit. I did sent in two emails since then but no response at all from the hotel. I am still hoping that they will credit me with the deposit or in the very least, change the way their cancellation policy is put together.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DannyandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I arrived earlier than the official check in time. On noticing how tired I was after a long flight, the receptionist Mr. Phillip requested me to give him 45 mins and he got my single room readied.

The room was small but functional. It has a closet, a tv, a desk and clean bed and bathroom. The hi speed wifi worked beautifully and a password can easily be obtained from the front desk for free.

The elevator is VERY OLD and I did feel claustrophobic inside it. With luggage you can accommodate only one person. It's slow and creaks. The steps are narrow. This is the only minus at the hotel. It's nothing fancy but very functional.

It's a short 5 minute walk from the Gare de Lyon stn.

Breakfast was basic hence I did not use it. I just walked out and enjoyed food in various eateries around the area.

You can pay and have a soft drink or a hot beverage from the bending machine.

The house keeping ensured all rooms were well aired out so they don't have any kind of smell. The rooms also had a balcony which was good for fresh air. I noticed split airconditioning unit but I didn't need it for the winter time.


I would most certainly recommend this hotel to others. It's NOT luxurious but very practical and functional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MumbaiIndiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,352 of 1,801 in Paris
226 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#953 of 1,801 in Paris
217 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Alexandrie
Hotel Alexandrie
#1,003 of 1,801 in Paris
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,073 of 1,801 in Paris
84 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jules Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules Cesar

Property: Hotel Jules Cesar
Address: 52 avenue Ledru Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,195 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jules Cesar 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jules Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jules Cesar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing