We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old-School Paris 2-Star”
Review of Hotel Sunny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunny
Ranked #1,263 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“An Old-School Paris 2-Star”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Desiring a left-bank stay for a change, I found an EUR 75 rate for a single at the Sunny and opted to stay there for a three-day winter trip. It's a remarkably average place--the room was small but not excessively so, the bathroom fixtures were a little worn, but the bed was comfortable and the satellite tv had a couple of English-language channels... Good parts were the night-shop down the street and the relatively easy (if longish) walks deeper into the Left Bank. Wouldn't consider this place romantic or plush, but is of good enough standard for a short Paris stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
7
44
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

It's a standard hotel. Staff was professionel and friendly. The location has its pros and cons. You can easily walk to the centre - and even do it on a nice route. As other posters mention it's also an area with much more than tourists. We eg. saw a a lot of French students at the nearby cafées. On the other hand it's maybe a little to far of to walk all the way to centre all days - plus you will have to get a taxi home at night if you go out until late. And we experienced that can be difficult in Paris - even on a November Saturday. (My first stay in Paris, so maybe I was just naive ;).

At our next stay in Paris (March this year) I think we will find another hotel - but that is mostly to live in another part of this truly extraordinary city. It's not really because there is anything wrong with this hotel - or with the area (which again seems quite "authentic").

One final note, when we checked in we were given the room right behind the reception. I had read other reviewers say that it was quite noisy - and we could sense it after 10 minutes. We therefore kindly asked in the reception if there were other rooms avaliable - and we got on on an upper floor. No noise there (no view either, but we did not really mind. The street itself is not very pretty).

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medium_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Only a few minutes walk to the Metro station Les Gobelins, located on the wide Boulevard Port Royal: this is a great neighbourhood to stay in, not too touristy! The staff at Hotel Sunny were very good to us. My mum fell ill durting our stay and they were so great helping us out. Mouffetard markets are very close, great to wander around. Great patisseries (You have to try the lemon cheesecake at Aoki, it is superb!) and chocolate shops (Jadis et Gourmande is great) The Sunny isn't 4 star but it is a pretty well priced hotel for Paris. We spent most of our time sightseeing but at the end of the day we came home to a comfy, clean room (albeit v. small!)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We did a reservation for this hotel before checking the reviews at Trip Advisor. Then, we realized we were expecting something to our honeymoon trip that this hotel would not fulfill. We canceled the reservation and we noted, a few weeks later, that they charged all days to our credit card! They did it couples weeks PRIOR to our arrival! This is an absurd, first because they asked for the credit card number just to secure the reservation; second, the reservation was canceled, and they charged after it was canceled. One can only imagine what type of service this place can offer...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sucupira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

My cousin and I have just returned from a visit to Paris to see other cousins. Our five day stay at the Hotel Sunny was great. Our room and bathroom were clean and the excellent double glazing kept the noise from the street away. We felt the Hotel Sunny offered us good value for money and thoroughly enjoyed the market in the Rue Moufftard close by. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of coffee and croissants. The staff were friendly and helpful. Transport, Metro and Bus are all near the hotel. Anyway a walk through Paris' streets is no hardship.

  • Liked — quiet bedroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank executive-nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2008

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was in a very good location next to the metro station with a direct link to the airport and the centre of paris was also easily accesible, it only took 10 minutes.
the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was small but nice.
plenty of bars and restaurants near by, would especially recommend academie de bierre.
overall a lovely stay and good value for money.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandYoungcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I appreciate we were in Paris, and hotels in the centre of big cities can be expensive, however I found Hotel Sunny very shabby and a bit dirty.
I'm quite happy to stay in cheap places as long as they are clean but when we arrived our bathroom was dirty (hairs in the shower, dirt around the sink) and there were water stains under the window.
The whole hotel also seemed to have padded material or plastic wall coverings - not sure if this was for sound proofing or something else?

On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and the reception is open 24hrs so we were able to check in very late.

One more point, is to ask for a non-smoking room if you don't smoke. We didn’t and ended up on the smoking floor - not very pleasant.

  • Liked — friendly 24 hr reception
  • Disliked — dirty bathrrom and stained walls
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Margoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,214 of 1,801 in Paris
218 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,456 of 1,801 in Paris
123 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,236 of 1,801 in Paris
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
#1,190 of 1,801 in Paris
239 reviews
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#681 of 1,801 in Paris
667 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
#1,212 of 1,801 in Paris
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny

Property: Hotel Sunny
Address: 48 boulevard de Port Royal, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,263 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunny 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel in Paris with 36 comfortable rooms, located a stone's throw away from the Val de Grace and Cochin hospitals. The hotel Sunny Paris is in the Latin Quarter, close to the Pantheon and the Rue Mouffetard. We offer quality accommodation in our hotel close to Montparnasse railway station and the Luxembourg Gardens. Our hotel Sunny Paris is also ideally located for the Gobelins district. Room adapted for use by people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Mouffetard Hotel
Sunny Mouffetard Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing