We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smallest room I ever stayed in, but ok for 2-3 days in Paris”
Review of Hotel Sunny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunny
Ranked #1,275 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“smallest room I ever stayed in, but ok for 2-3 days in Paris”
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I must say that it was a good choice for 3 days in Paris. The Subway that you can take until 12PM is close to the hotel (Port Royal and Les Gobelins stations).
I have chosen this hotel because of his position in Paris, it's close to the most important attractions.We only stayed there 3 days and we wanted to visit everything. The room is very small like others said before, but when you leave the room at 9am and you return 2am, it doesn't really mater. We booked the room on their site and we asked for a room with a view on the boulevard (Port Royal). We received a room on the 3-rd floor (the hotel has an elevator) and the view was fine, we could see from the window the Montparnasse Tower. The Hotel is very close to the Louxembourg Gardens(5min by foot), the Latin Quarter(5mins by foot-lots of cheap restaurants), Pantheon, Montparnasse Tower and Notre Dame. The Lady at the reception was very kind and she gave us all sort of informations (for example, we asked her where could we find tickets for the footbal match between PSG and Montpelier besides the stadium Parc des Princes and she recomanded us the FNAC shop). Breakfast (between 7-10am)was 6.2euro and included 1 little bread, butter, jam, 1 croissant, 1croissant filled with chocolate and coffee/hot chocolate/tea/natural juice. You may have the option to leave luggages at the receptions when you check out if you want. Also you can have your room cleaned every day and the towels changed. Free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urahsqbesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
7
44
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Desiring a left-bank stay for a change, I found an EUR 75 rate for a single at the Sunny and opted to stay there for a three-day winter trip. It's a remarkably average place--the room was small but not excessively so, the bathroom fixtures were a little worn, but the bed was comfortable and the satellite tv had a couple of English-language channels... Good parts were the night-shop down the street and the relatively easy (if longish) walks deeper into the Left Bank. Wouldn't consider this place romantic or plush, but is of good enough standard for a short Paris stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

It's a standard hotel. Staff was professionel and friendly. The location has its pros and cons. You can easily walk to the centre - and even do it on a nice route. As other posters mention it's also an area with much more than tourists. We eg. saw a a lot of French students at the nearby cafées. On the other hand it's maybe a little to far of to walk all the way to centre all days - plus you will have to get a taxi home at night if you go out until late. And we experienced that can be difficult in Paris - even on a November Saturday. (My first stay in Paris, so maybe I was just naive ;).

At our next stay in Paris (March this year) I think we will find another hotel - but that is mostly to live in another part of this truly extraordinary city. It's not really because there is anything wrong with this hotel - or with the area (which again seems quite "authentic").

One final note, when we checked in we were given the room right behind the reception. I had read other reviewers say that it was quite noisy - and we could sense it after 10 minutes. We therefore kindly asked in the reception if there were other rooms avaliable - and we got on on an upper floor. No noise there (no view either, but we did not really mind. The street itself is not very pretty).

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medium_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Only a few minutes walk to the Metro station Les Gobelins, located on the wide Boulevard Port Royal: this is a great neighbourhood to stay in, not too touristy! The staff at Hotel Sunny were very good to us. My mum fell ill durting our stay and they were so great helping us out. Mouffetard markets are very close, great to wander around. Great patisseries (You have to try the lemon cheesecake at Aoki, it is superb!) and chocolate shops (Jadis et Gourmande is great) The Sunny isn't 4 star but it is a pretty well priced hotel for Paris. We spent most of our time sightseeing but at the end of the day we came home to a comfy, clean room (albeit v. small!)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We did a reservation for this hotel before checking the reviews at Trip Advisor. Then, we realized we were expecting something to our honeymoon trip that this hotel would not fulfill. We canceled the reservation and we noted, a few weeks later, that they charged all days to our credit card! They did it couples weeks PRIOR to our arrival! This is an absurd, first because they asked for the credit card number just to secure the reservation; second, the reservation was canceled, and they charged after it was canceled. One can only imagine what type of service this place can offer...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sucupira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

My cousin and I have just returned from a visit to Paris to see other cousins. Our five day stay at the Hotel Sunny was great. Our room and bathroom were clean and the excellent double glazing kept the noise from the street away. We felt the Hotel Sunny offered us good value for money and thoroughly enjoyed the market in the Rue Moufftard close by. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of coffee and croissants. The staff were friendly and helpful. Transport, Metro and Bus are all near the hotel. Anyway a walk through Paris' streets is no hardship.

  • Liked — quiet bedroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank executive-nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2008

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was in a very good location next to the metro station with a direct link to the airport and the centre of paris was also easily accesible, it only took 10 minutes.
the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was small but nice.
plenty of bars and restaurants near by, would especially recommend academie de bierre.
overall a lovely stay and good value for money.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandYoungcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
Hotel de France Quartier Latin
#1,184 of 1,800 in Paris
239 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,457 of 1,800 in Paris
123 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,207 of 1,800 in Paris
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
The Five Hotel
#623 of 1,800 in Paris
1,148 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny

Property: Hotel Sunny
Address: 48 boulevard de Port Royal, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,275 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunny 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel in Paris with 36 comfortable rooms, located a stone's throw away from the Val de Grace and Cochin hospitals. The hotel Sunny Paris is in the Latin Quarter, close to the Pantheon and the Rue Mouffetard. We offer quality accommodation in our hotel close to Montparnasse railway station and the Luxembourg Gardens. Our hotel Sunny Paris is also ideally located for the Gobelins district. Room adapted for use by people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Sunny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Mouffetard Hotel
Sunny Mouffetard Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing