We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No deals in this neighborhood in high season” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Seine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Seine
Ranked #210 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No deals in this neighborhood in high season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our experience at Hotel de Sein was good. The rooms ere of a fair size considering the hotel is right in the center of town. The places we usually stay in the off season were prohibitively expensive during high season and Hotel de Sein was a good compromise. One cannot beat the location and the staff were extremely helpful. The front desk helped us get to the airport during a taxi strike (Metro was not viable as trains did not run regularly). There was a false fire alarm one night and the management refunded a night's stay without being asked. We would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Triple room was good size, bathroom was large as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear j r,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our location. Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice area and the rue de Seine reflects that village atmosphere.
Taxi and train strike was a difficult situation but we are happy to learn that you arrived at airport in time.
We thank you for your understanding with the alarm and we do hope to see you again at Hotel De Seine.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    170
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
110
169
44
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Please be aware that even if you're spending $250-300 a night, you're not getting a boutique hotel - you're getting the equivalent of a Motel 6, albeit in one of the poshest, best-located neighborhoods in Paris. My "chambre individuelle" was on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard; it was tiny with no natural light, cheap furniture, and stained wallpaper. That said, the lack of light combined with the blackout curtains meant it was blissfully dark in the mornings; the room was clean; the shower was spacious, strong, and well-lit (with a wall-mounted showerhead); the staff was very friendly; the free wi-fi was reliable; and the location can't be beat. As for noise, my first couple of nights were totally quiet, but then someone moved into the room next door who blasted the TV till 1 in the morning; when I complained to the front desk, though, they immediately called the room and asked them to turn the sound down, which he did. Overall, if you're just looking for a crash pad that's cheaper than most places in the neighborhood (mine was 179 euros a night in high season), it's not a bad place to stay, but not if you're looking for something chic or luxe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear AmoryB,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Paris.
However, we are sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your experience with us.
Standards are different from a country to another, that is why our single room seemed small to you, and we understand that. We always propose blackout curtains to our guests to helps them sleep because our large windows let the light enter the room and it can disturb them. Our furniture are not cheap, we can assure you, it is quality wood. We are sorry if you did not like it.

We took note of your remarks, and inform you that luxury services you expected are standards of a 4 or 5 star hotel.

We do hope that you enjoyed your stay in the center of Paris and that you will come back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The single room is small but functional and accessible.
There are no views!
It is clean and the small breakfast room is pleasant. The staff are friendly and helpful

A great location for the Odeon area with good Jazz clubs nearby. Try Chez Papa Jazz Cafe on the Rue Bonaparte for relaxed Jazz and food

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Roghum,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.
All our single rooms are facing the courtyard. It is quiet but there is no special view.
We are glad to see that you had great time in Jazz Clubs and you are right, Chez Papa is a very nice place.

We do hope to see you again at Hotel De Seine, maybe in a double room facing the street...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel de Seine has a great location. it is a small hotel, the rooms are not big, but it is clean, the staff is very friendly and cooperative. The breakfast is the same everyday. The room I was in had an unattractive view of the surrounding buildings, and I had the feeling that anyone could watch me, so i had to have the curtains on all the time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear MilaSBelgrade_Serbia,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion.

Your feedback is very important for us, that is why we took note of your remark. Paris is a city full of building and it is very hard to not have one in front a window. Maybe a room on the rue de Seine would be better for you, however, you will also have a building facing your room...

We would be pleased to welcome you back for a new Parisian experience.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here just one night in passing for a biz trip. Tristan at the front desk is a super nice guy and the room was nice and decor was old style beautiful but small-ish since I got the single.

But then again what hotel in Paris doesn't have small single rooms? Would like to stay again if I was in Paris but maybe other similar hotels close by for less.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Allen N,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a comment about your stay with us.
We paid much attention to your feedback and we are glad to see that you had a great time in Saint-Germain des Près.
May and June are high season, but in August or November for example, you will find lower rates. Do not hesitate to contact us to know the best offers.

We will be pleased to welcome you back soon in a double or a twin room, which are bigger that the single you had.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I spent many hours on the Internet trying to find the perfect hotel. We were looking for an intimate, small, authentic Parisian - centrally located hotel. I couldn't have been more pleased with my choice. The prime location, which meant we only had a very short walk to almost everything we came to see, such as the Louvre, Notre Dame, the Seine, La Marias region, Luxemburg Gardens, and the Latin Quarter. And we were in the very heart of St. Germain. If you are a great walker you could even walk to the Eiffel Tower. We chose to take a short taxi ride there. There were wonderful restaurants everywhere. I would say the heart of the Hotel De Seine is its wonderful staff, especially the always friendly and much appreciated English speaking Audrey and Tristian who were always ready to assist us in any way possible. We had a lovely room overlooking the street below, where in the evenings we could people watch from our windows. I was afraid that since the people in Paris seem to stay up quite late, I would have trouble with the noise. Once the windows were closed, we never heard any noise in our room, both from the street below and from inside this lovely small hotel. I highly recommend to anyone who is looking for the same things we wanted to look no further. This is the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view of the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear June M,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay with us.

Tristan and Audrey were happy to discover your kind comment. We do love our district, so we enjoyed reading the nice words you used to describe Saint-Germain des Près. It is a good choice for a visit of Paris, as you can walk to many attractive places (Orsay Museum, Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden,...), even Eiffel Tower!

We will be pleased to welcome you back soon, maybe this summer, to enjoy a quiet Paris...

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel De Seine for four nights this past week and was extremely pleased. The hotel is located in what I consider the best and most charming area in Paris, right at the corner of the very interesting Rue Jacob and Rue De Seine. The location cannot be beat for access to almost everything Paris has to offer. While close to the bustling cafes in St. germain it is quiet when the windows are closed. My double room at the front of the hotel on the third floor was a very good size for Paris standards and it obviously had been recently renovated and was bright and cheerful with the curtains open. It was also very clean.

I have been to Paris many times and prefer this area. When the hotel I normally stay in was full, I chose the Hotel De Seine based on the location just down the street and the reviews. I am very particular about hotels and I thought it was an excellent value for the time of year. I feel fortunate to have found it and will definitely book it again. Thanks also to the helpful staff at the front desk and the cheerful man who greeted me in the breakfast room every morning. I happily recommend this little hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are bright with good views but quiet when the windows are closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ahk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear ahk45,

Thank you very much for your kind comment.
And what a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so much Saint-Germain des Près. It is a wonderful district, full of cafés and shops, and a central location. You can easily walk to the Seine river, Louvre Museum, Latin Quarter or even Luxembourg Garden.
The whole staff were glad to see that you liked your room and we will be pleased to welcome you back soon for a new Parisian trip...

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#238 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#138 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#68 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#98 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#146 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#287 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Seine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Seine

Property: Hotel de Seine
Address: 52 rue de Seine | 52, Rue de Seine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in Paris
#202 Family Hotel in Paris
#209 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Seine 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Seine is a typical Parisian hotel located in the deep heart of Saint-Germain des Près. Close to the main attractions of Paris, Hotel De Seine is luckily located in the beautiful rue de Seine. Away from noisy places, our hotel offers a quiet, comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Tapestries and woodwork of an old Paris mix with modern facilities: Free WiFi, Business corner with printer, French and international press, shoeshine machine ... Our staff will be pleased to welcome you. Wall fabrics, majestic curtains, marble bathrooms and stylish furniture give the rooms a Parisian charm. Overlooking the street or the courtyard, our rooms are equipped with free WiFi, hospitality tray, flat screen TV, air conditioning, safe, marble bathroom with hair dryer, wardrobe, luggage rack, ... A Parisian breakfast is served in your room or near the fireplace in the breakfast room between 7:30 am and 11:00 am. It includes a hot drink (coffee, tea, chocolate), orange or apple juice, baguette, croissant, pastry, black bread or cereal bread, brioche, fruits, hard eggs, cheese, cereals, yogurt ... Saint-Germain des Pres is the perfect starting point for discovering Paris. The rue de Seine connects Luxembourg Garden to the Seine and the romantic Pont des Arts. On the other side of the river, the Louvre Museum and the right bank. Closest metro stations are Odeon (lines 4 and 10) and Mabillon (line 10). They allow you to reach the main Paris train stations. RER B, at 10 minutes walk from the hotel, will lead you to both airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Seine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Seine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing