We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
Ranked #1,288 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 24 April 2013

After reading the other reviews, we emailed ahead of time and asked for a room off of the street which they gave us. That avoided the noisy school kids across the street. Staff was very nice and helpful with directions, tickets, etc. The breakfast was the same every morning but it is what we would have eaten anyway and it saved us having to go out as it was cold while we were there April 5-9. Too expensive for what we got though. The location is excellent as we walked to all of the major museums and monuments, and Invalides Metro was easy as well as the bus to the train station. The room was small but we were only there to sleep so it did not matter. We liked it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanjpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

New Year in Paris - 2 couples - rooms booked well in advance. We had a confirmation for the stay - so we knew the price and that it included breakfast - and this came in very handy - so beware!
The hotel is very basic - as all other reviews have said: tiny rooms, steep stairs, cleaning in the toilet could be improved - and the missing shower courtain is just stupid - fix it - it can't take long! Breakfast for 5 days - if you find comfort in repetition then you'll be happy - 'cause it is just the same every day! Bread a bit stale -but that is maybe due to the holdiay closings.
The neighbourhood is so nice - close to the market street - metro - and of course the Eiffel Tower - and due to the Christmas - New Year holiday the streets were very quiet.
The staff were quite helpful and interested in our experiences of their city.
The negative part is about money - it really is quite expensive for such a basic place - also compared to some of the many other hotels in this area - and also that you can't really trust what you're paying for. In our intial request to the hotel via the homepage we received an offer - 170 euro per room per night including breakfast - we accepted the offer by mail - but then later mails from the hotel mentioned a different price. We brougt along the mail print outs - so remember to do so! At check out we got a different bill - but when we presented the mail they agreed to stick to this first offer - hmmm is that really trustwothy customer service???
A comment to other reviews - yes we also got a few bites - the moscitoes seem to survive in the mild French winter - and that is really not the Hotel's fault - bring or buy a repellant.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking - this is probably not suitable for you - the stairs to some of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

It has a great location, very convenient. I will never complain about the location. There is a very good bakery opposite the street - opposite a church and it was cheap! There is also a local market close to the hotel. We bought lots of fruit and tomatoes locally. Very good and fresh produce. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was quite basic. The room is pretty french (we liked the decorations), but the room was quite small, can only fit in a bed and there is no slippers provided for the room. But it was not very noisy, even we lived very close to the reception area. The staff was very helpful. They helped us with a lot of telephone calls for the local tours we booked. They are friendly. I won't mind to go back again.

Room Tip: We had room no2. I don't think it is too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frieda201301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We liked the quaint hotel and area. Within walking distance to the Eiffel Tower. Staff was nice, and helpful, but 3 of 4 of us all came home with 2 different kinds of bites. Some on the face and extremities. I would go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Quaint but after the bites I would go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Positives: A short walk from Rue Cler. Friendly staff.
Negatives: Very basic accommodations. Small room.
Located across from a bus stop used by dozens of children. Sounds like a school assembly.
But the rates were reasonable.

Room Tip: Don't book a room next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RogerandPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I mostly agree with Edward G's and several of the recent one or two star reviewers. Good location (very near the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, Rue de Cler, public transportation and just a decent walk to the Louvre and sites in that vicinity). But, other than a really comfy bed, not much to recommend this place other than that. We opted for a very small room on an upper floor after the owner offered (I think it was a legit offer and not just a ploy) us an even smaller room on the first floor, both facing the street (YIkes!----noisy, unattractive view, etc.). The steps were a mini-nightmare (we're not THAT young---strong, but just retired!)---very narrow, steep and kind of crooked where you wouldn't think they'd be crooked---an adventure each and every time! And the "no shower curtain" is TRUE and truly a disaster in such a small bathroom (we did learn to cover most of the bathroom with available towels to keep down the flooding and the puddles on all of our things on the sink!). The staff was, in truth, generally very nice to us (but in a French rather than an Italian way, if you know what I mean) and helpful, with a few exceptions (I think there were some language problems, though, that caused these "exceptions"). We actually enjoyed the sounds and sights of the middle school and above school kids each morning---they all seemed to be having so much fun and enjoying each other's company (the joy of youth that is sometimes lost in lesser school districts worldwide). The other noise from the street (and the slightly dreadful view of the gray walls of the school) was not acceptable, however----still, as one reviewer noted, this IS a big city and we were in the midst of it----I just wished we'd had a quieter location overall (the dump trucks seemed to come extremely early---and more than one of them!). The last straw (and this might or might not have been our own fault, but I don't think so) came when we were charged 11 Euro per day (5 days) for the very basic (good, but basic) typical French breakfast (repeated, in identical detail, 5 mornings) when we thought, based on our conversation with the owner at the beginning of our visit (and based on our interpretation of what is in the Rick Steve's Guidebook for France re: Paris and this hotel) that the breakfast was included ("Show them the guidebook and breakfast is free" was our interpretation---so we mentioned that to the owner at CHECK-IN and he said "Yes, yes, of course. Rick Steve's. Yes." At CHECK-OUT, when we questioned the charge for the breakfasts, the owner produced a letter from Rick Steve's indicating (I guess) that the free breakfast applied only if the hotel is booked through his site (the necessity of producing the letter was, by itself, a major indication that many, many before us had had the same interpretation and ended up paying full price for the simple breakfasts). WE DEFINITELY WOULD NOT HAVE EATEN THERE AT 11 EURO A BREAKFAST WHEN THERE WERE SO MANY BETTER AND CHEAPER ALTERNATIVES (WITH A VARIETY OF BREAKFAST ITEMS) SO CLOSE AT HAND! Oh well, live and learn. We will definitely never, ever stay here again even if this breakfast mistake was in fact totally our own fault---so many, many other negatives. Loved, loved, loved Paris except for this unfortunate booking.

Room Tip: Avoid any room facing the street----no idea if the rooms facing the court were much better, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Quizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in September. The location is convenient to the Metro and a short walk to the Eiffel Tower and Rue Cler. Our room was small, but then we didn't come to Paris to stay in our room. It was very clean, and the desk staff were generally helpful and friendly. They arranged transportation to Gare du Nord for an early morning departure and all went smoothly. However, a late night request for more toilet paper went unfulfilled.

The courtyard is quaint, and we might have enjoyed more time there over a bottle of wine, had the weather been a bit more cooperative.

Our only big downside was noise in the street in the morning. We found it quiet when we wanted to go to bed, but there is a school directly across the street and students congregate outside the school gates for 20 to 30 minutes before class. They're high school students, and while they were in no way inappropriate, they were a large group of high school students just outside our bedroom window! It wouldn't have been a problem if we were "Early to bed, early to rise..." but we were just the opposite.

Since we were on the second floor we had to tote our luggage up a narrow staircase. That's a factor to consider for those who might find that difficult.

There is a convenient boulangerie/patisserie at the end of Rue Malar, and a Carrefour supermarket just around the corner. It was nice to pick up bottled waters a lot cheaper than 2-3 euros out of the mini bar frig in the room! There are also several unique restaurants within close walking distance.

I could see us returning here, and I could also see us trying something else next time.

Room Tip: Don't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
#702 of 1,809 in Paris
237 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#322 of 1,809 in Paris
1,073 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#560 of 1,809 in Paris
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#118 of 1,809 in Paris
674 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#77 of 1,809 in Paris
767 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel

Address: 33 rue Malar | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,288 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £224 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Tulipe is truly one of a kind. Nestled in a discreet and quiet neighborhood, at the junction of Paris' most visited and loved districts, this former convent has kept all its wonderful features of the past, like the ancient stone walls, apparent oak beams and quaint inner courtyard.Regular guests form a little community of their own and will be delighted to tell you all about the wonderful times spent in this beautiful friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Tulipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing