We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed 1 night ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Welcome Hotel
Ranked #701 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stayed 1 night ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night. The room is very small. Almost no space for open the luggage. The bathroom is even smaller. But both two are new and very clean.
The elevator is extremely small, fits 2 person and 2 luggage, but it is new and works.

Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldoBahiense
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear GeraldoBahiense,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Welcome Hotel.

Welcome Hotel is an old Parisian building, which explains size of rooms and lift. We paid much attention to comfort and decoration to relieve this sensation.We hope that you have been susceptible to this effort, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be pleased to welcome you back to Welcome Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    159
    62
    16
    18
See reviews for
46
146
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mangatawhiri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Small but clean/tidy rooms. Friendly service - was helpful and accommodating (in English too). Fantastic location, near metro, shopping, historical sites, a small supermarket across the road and a cafe/restaurant downstairs. Didn't try the breakfast as wasn't included in our stay and we wanted to explore. Our room was on the corner of the building and had a nice view from the third floor? Noise was fine

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Paul T,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Welcome Hotel.

All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Feedback are very important. As Welcome Hotel is an old French building, rooms are not big. We paid much attention to comfort and decoration for well being of our guests.
Saint-Germain des Près is a central location for a visit of Paris, and it is also a lively area, full of cafés, restaurants, small shops...

We hope to welcome you back at Welcome Hotel, maybe in Summer to enjoy Paris under the sun...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Welcome for the second time this year, and again enjoyed it very much. The room was immaculate, the bathroom very ample (although in the Paris way, they don't supply wash cloths). We were right over the Avenue Ste. Germaine, and heard no noise whatsoever. The English speaking staff was unfailingly pleasant, wifi was available at no cost. For us, this is a perfect place--affordable, while still providing the amenities we have come to expect. We didn't take their breakfast,because there are so many other places to eat, right nearby, we were tempted away by what we saw. The location is amazing; you can walk anywhere, the neighborhood is lively and safe. Our experience was overwhelmingly positive, and we'll look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrookeA368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear BrookeA368,

We want to thank you for your nice comment about Welcome Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always making some renovations in the hotel and your feedback is very important for us. Such a comment is our best reward.
Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice area and a central place for a visit of Paris. Specially if you like walking in the city.
We will be pleased to welcome you again at Welcome Hotel, maybe in Summer to enjoy Paris under the sun...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just needed one night in a hotel in the of Saint-Germains-des-pres. To do a night of clubbing in this amazingly hip and trendy neighborhood. Small rooms, simple and everything what you'd need to sleep and shower.

I paid 95 euros which is a lot. You can get better deals if you book online but I decided to just walk around and pop into a hotel, ask for the price and book if it would be less than 100 euros.

Location is perfect! By taxi I only paid 6 euros when I got back from the amazing club, Kong! If you wanna dance in a posh and trendy club, this hotel is great to get back to afterwards.
Reception is always open, very friendly people and if I'd share the price, I would come back.

To avoid paying more on my own, I would book a hotel online the next time, close to this one because you can pay in between 50 and 70 euros a night in a similar hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose breakfast because you choose out of so many great restaurants around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escobana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Escobana,

We thank you for your comment about Welcome Hotel.

All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Kong is a very nice place, not far from the Hotel, and Saint-Germain des Près is a central location.
Do not hesitate to visit our website in order to have our best rates. However, we inform you that prices depend on season and availability, and you have to know that Saint-Germain Des Près is one of the most attractive and expensive area of Paris. That is why, the best is to book your room in advance.

It will be pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay in Paris.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Welcome Hotel for 7 nights in December 2012. The only reason this hotel is getting 1 star is because the room we stayed in was horrible. There was a terrible smell in the bathroom that made it very unpleasant. The smell was so bad that on several occasions I almost threw up. It made showering or using the bathroom extremely difficult. We had to leave the windows open all day and night to try and air out the room (with little success) in the middle of the winter! Needless to say, we were then quite cold at night when we tried to sleep. We complained to the front desk staff every day and they did nothing except put chemicals down the drain to cover the smell, which only lasted 1-2 hours. Finally, on our last night, they moved us to another room. The new room smelled fine and for the first time during the entire trip we showered without gagging and were able to get a few hours of "warm" sleep. I do not know if they have this problem in other rooms, but if you decide to stay there, DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 46!! We would have switched to another hotel, but it was during Christmas/New Years and it was very difficult.

Despite how much we hated the room and its smell, there are some positive attributes for this hotel. The location is great. You are close to many shops, restaurants/cafes, and public transportation. The hotel is located near a fairly busy street. If you leave your windows open at night, you may be disturbed by the street noises and on the weekends, their are a lot of drunk people and musicians that you can hear until the sun rises. The hotel offers breakfast for a fee, but don't waste your money. For half the price, you can go to one of the cafes nearby and have a much better meal! The front desk staff was usually friendly and helped with directions and even booking one of our dinners. Minus the stink of our room, the room and its size is typical for a small French hotel (which means it is quite small), but that shouldn't matter because you will only be sleeping there! The elevator is also very small and many people complained about it. If you are able, you can take the stairs and avoid the elevator.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gege181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Gege181,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Welcome.

We are sorry to read that we have not been up to your expectations. The piping problem occured last year and we fixed it. It seems that it happened again. The products had to reduce the odor before someone comes to repair. We apologize for not having been able to propose you another room. The hotel was fully booked.
Saint-Germain Des Près is a very nice district full of restaurants and shops. Breakfast is usually less expensive in a café than in a hotel. And as Welcome Hotel is located is the heart of the district, you can hear the sound of the city at night when the window is open.

We would like to apologize again for this technical problem and all the troubles it caused. We would be pleased to welcome you again to show you that you can have a very pleasant stay in our hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for our first time in Paris. The room was small but with nothing to compare it with in Paris I'm told it was about normal. The bed was comfy, bathroom very clean, windows opening onto the street and very very warm. The staff gave us recommendations on where to eat and visit (other than the main sites) when we asked. It was a 10 min walk to the lourve and most other tourist spots. Close to the Latin quarter where the food is excellent. The particular area it is located in is described in guide books as the most expensive so if you are going to eat or shop I would suggest heading into another district for more affordable prices.

An above average hotel in a great spot with good staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM_Travel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37402671, Public Relations Manager at Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear RM_Travel09,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment about Welcome Hotel.
Saint-Germain Des Près is a very nice district and one of the most attractive. That is why rates are so high. However, it is a perfect location for a visit of Paris.
All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again at Welcome Hotel, maybe in Summer...

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

There are many reviews of this hotel that comment on the size of the rooms. I feel qualified to address this issue, because my husband and I stayed for nine straight nights and he was in Paris for work. And due to hard rain, I occassionally spent more time in the room than I normally would do--and I have fond memories of lying on the very comfortable bed, reading, glancing out the full length, large windows, and getting drowsy in the warmth and quiet. In our room (on the Rue de Seine side) the closet was small which means that we used one of the chairs to pile clothes. (This could be remedied by putting in a second chest of drawers in leue of one nightstand.) That aside, we found nothing to complain of in terms of the room size. Yes, it was smaller than some rooms I have experienced, but it was not so "tiny" as to be inconvenient or uncomfortable. It was always warm and quiet and cosy ... I just loved it. I am happy to give up some floor space for warmth and quiet; I have been in large suites that are neither. And, yes, the shower is open but it was roomy, the room never flooded, and the result was no different than at home wherein one steps out of the shower and on to a bathmat. The only difference for me is that this shower and water pressure are much better than what I have at home! In short: Very kind and knowledgable staff, in the perfect location, at a good price, for a comfortable room.

Room Tip: rue de Seine side is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoAriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear ChicagoAriel,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment regarding Hotel Welcome.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your long stay with us.
Parisian buildings are usually small and as standards are different from one country to another. Last year, in order to propose a larger room to our guests, we made a new room using two others.
Your well being is the most important for us and we were pleased to read such a nice feeling about your stay.

We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Welcome.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#568 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#169 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#445 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
#695 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Nesle
Hotel de Nesle
#1,068 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#678 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel

Property: Welcome Hotel
Address: 66 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #701 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent value for our small hotel located in the deep heart of Paris! You will like its charm with exposed beams, atypical corridors, small elevator, and also its modern comfort: free WiFi, air conditioning, heating, double glazed windows, luggage room ... Our terrace offers a nice view on the Rue de Seine, and as its name says, Welcome Hotel is particularly welcoming! The entire hotel is non-smoking. Our 29 rooms are small but have been carefully equipped and decorated. Tourists and business travelers will appreciate comfort and views over Paris. Every room offers a free Wi-Fi access, air conditioning, private bathroom with shower or bath, hairdryer, blackout curtains, double glazed windows, office, ... Welcome Hotel offers Parisian breakfast every morning between 7:30 am and 10:30 am in your room, in the first floor lounge or on the terrace. Welcome Hotel is located at the corner of Boulevard Saint Germain and rue de Seine, a few minutes walk from Luxembourg Gardens, Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing