We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welcome Hotel
Ranked #337 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A great hotel at an affordable price in the heart of Paris. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable for short stays with AC. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Erik recommended the excellent "Crepe Rit du Clown", just around the corner and made reservations for us. Walking distance from the Ile de la Cite, rive droite et rive gauche, and beyond. I would recommend for single or couples, not family due to the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marie-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Marie-Anne F,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion.

We are pleased to read that you had a great time in Paris.
Welcome Hotel has small rooms, and the bigger we have is a triple room with 3 single beds. For family of 4 or 5, we will have to propose two rooms.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back, maybe in Winter, to discover another Paris...

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Right on Rue St. Germaine.
Around the every corner are amazing restaurants, and patisseries.
Next to three main metro stations: Mabillon, Odeon, and St.-Germain-des-Pres.
Shopping around every corner along the street.
The hotel was clean, reasonably spacious, had good free internet connection, and decent clean bathrooms.
Even had a small elevator.
24 hr front desk, and concierge.
Good air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Spokeydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Spokeydee,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about your stay at Welcome Hotel.

It will be very useful for readers of Trip Advisor.
Location is very important in a hotel choice, specially in Paris. And sleeping in Saint-Germain des Près means to be in the center of Paris and in a lively district.

We hope that you had a nice trip back home and that we will welcome you back again.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

5 star hotel at a 3 star price!!!!!!! We couldn't be happier!!
From the minute we walked in we knew we chose the perfect place. We were "welcomed" by Erik. All staff spoke English and went out of the way to make our stay great.
One morning there was a bit of loud noise due to some room construction and the staff profusely apologized and gave us a wonderful, complimentary breakfast. He took a lot of time to tell us all about Paris, where to dine, and how to get around. He gave us a wonderful room, which was small but very cozy. Outside of our window was a glimpse of the Eiffel Tower, and at night we were able to see it light up!
Our room face the Boulevard Saint Germaine and we had no trouble sleeping at night because when the windows are closed the room is so quiet. The hotel and room has great A/C.
The bathroom is small but no problems there.
There is a lift, but small as well. We stayed on the fourth floor and loved it. We will definitely return here again.
This is the perfect location. The hotel is literally right next to the corner of the Rue de Seine and Rue de Buci, which Rick Steves says is the #1 spot on the Left Bank. Indeed, there are tons of amazing restaurants, cafes, and shops right outside. There is an amazing, vibrant life right outside on the street. The Smith Bakery around the corner is fantastic for quiche!
The hotel is also in walking distance of the Louvre, two major metro stops, Saint Chapelle, Musee de Orsay, Notre Dame, etc. Right outside the hotel are tons of cafes and amazing places to sit outside, dine and people watch. There is also a wonderful, well known ice cream place called Grom. Don't underestimate this small gem, it truly is a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Eiffel tower, even if facing Boulevard St. Germaine, with window close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Steven S,

After reading your kind comment, we only can say "Thank you very much"!

Eric and the staff were happy to see how much you enjoyed your stay in Saint-Germain des Près.
Welcome Hotel is a simple 2 star hotel but we try to make it as comfortable as we can. That is why we are renovating some bathrooms (which explains noise from another room). Summer is quiet in Paris, it means that you wont' wait too much for visiting the Sainte-Chapelle or Orsay Museum.

We do hope to see you again at Welcome Hotel for new stay in Saint-Germain des Près.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location and price are unbeatable! The front desk staff all speak English and really went out of their way to do anything they could for us. The air conditioning was wonderful on scorching hot days. We bought cheese, baguettes, fruit and cold drinks at the Buci market (at the end of the street) and the grocery store across the street and brought them up to the little breakfast room/lounge in the late afternoon and had aperitifs while we rested our feet and recovered from the heat before going out for dinner. We stored our luggage in the locked baggage closet on the day that we checked out (no charge). There is free wifi in the rooms.

There are art galleries, cafes, bakeries, wine stores, wonderful shops of all kinds, theatres, metro stops, cathedrals, markets, museums, etc. all within a five minute walk, and popular sites such as Notre Dame, the Louvre, the d'Orsay, Shakespeare and Co are all a 10 or 15 minute walk. The price was the best in the area. The beds were comfortable and clean. Our room had a shower and our friends' room had a bathtub. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Paris.

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing both rue de Seine and St. Germain, and with the windows closed we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LearnSomethinEvryDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear LearnSomethinEvryDay,

First of all, what a great name you have!
We thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay with us.

Welcome Hotel is one of the few 2 star hotels of Saint-Germain des Près. That explains why the rates are interesting in such an attractive area.
All the information you gave will certainly help the readers (free wifi, air conditioning, luggage room, location, beds, ...). If you like walking, you can visit many places without using the metro and it is a nice way to enjoy Paris. After a long day, an aperitif with wine and cheese is a very good idea!

We do hope to see you again at Welcome Hotel for a new Parisian stay.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Situated in the heat of the St Germain area, this hotel is ideally placed for a walking around the south bank. Lots of small cafes, restaurants gardens in the various streets and neighborhood encourage you to wander around and experience Paris life. Breakfast is easily found at the many little bakeries in the immediate vicinity.
Like most typical Parisian hotels the rooms are smallish, but also impeccably clean and comfortable. Yes there is the one person/suitcase lift but this is the charm of these hotels. Being off the main road meant that the room was relatively peaceful and quiet. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
While this is our first time at this hotel, it won't be our last. Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Greg H,

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a nice comment.

The whole staff was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome Hotel is in the center of the lively Saint-Germain des Près. Many cafés, restaurants and shops are all around and you can walk to attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral, Louvre Museum or Luxembourg Garden.

We will be pleased to welcome you back soon for a new stay in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Welcome Hotel offers an ideal solution if you are looking for (a) Location...St. Germaine, (b) a clean and comfortable small room with bath that you will only use for sleeping and (c) a terrific staff that goes out of their way to answer questions and make recommendations.

The Welcome Hotel is on the rue de Seine, so there are bakeries and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Its a neighborhood feeling that offers walking access to the major attractions in Paris. It is safe and secure with no street hustlers nearby.

We stayed there at the end of May and found it exactly right for our needs.

If you are not looking to spend $300-450 per night, this is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor. The elevator is small and you will make two trips up and down with your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRiderGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear HRiderG,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion.

The whole staff were pleased to read that you had a good time in Saint-Germain des Près. Of course, that is a great location! With many cafés, good restaurants (we tested a lot), and shops. You can easily walk to the Louvre Museum, Orangerie Museum or even the Luxembourg Garden.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon for a new stay in Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have now stayed at the Welcome Hotel five or six times. We always have a good time because it is so well located. It is just off the St. Germain de Pres within easy walking distance of many well known cafés (e.g., Cafe De Flore), museums, the Seine, etc. it is also very close to a couple of Metro stops if walking is not your thing or you wish to go somewhere faster or further. My wife loves this place and is very attached to it. I have tried my best, but there are many things I don't like, although very typical of these types of hotels. The size of the rooms are very small, the storage is very limited and the bathrooms, although very creative, are almost impossible for someone taller than 5'6". It does have a lift, very important if you don't like dragging your luggage up a lot of narrow stairs. At the same time it is so small, you may have to take turns with one person and luggage at a time. If you travel very light and don't mind the cramped quarters, it is a great place. Prices are reasonable, and the staff are pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can, communicate clearly with them about your needs before you book. If you are tall, you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jim M,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel again.

All your remarks were considered as every feedback can help us to improve our services.
However, as Welcome Hotel is an old French building, we can not propose bigger rooms. Few years ago, we used two rooms to make one triple. Maybe a room with two beds would be better for you because a little larger than doubles...
We will be pleased to welcome you and your wife for a new Parisian stay.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#112 of 1,802 in Paris
547 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#671 of 1,802 in Paris
408 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#504 of 1,802 in Paris
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#415 of 1,802 in Paris
593 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#511 of 1,802 in Paris
344 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#208 of 1,802 in Paris
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel

Address: 66 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £85 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent value for our small hotel located in the deep heart of Paris! You will like its charm with exposed beams, atypical corridors, small elevator, and also its modern comfort: free WiFi, air conditioning, heating, double glazed windows, luggage room ... Our terrace offers a nice view on the Rue de Seine, and as its name says, Welcome Hotel is particularly welcoming! The entire hotel is non-smoking. Our 29 rooms are small but have been carefully equipped and decorated. Tourists and business travelers will appreciate comfort and views over Paris. Every room offers a free Wi-Fi access, air conditioning, private bathroom with shower or bath, hairdryer, blackout curtains, double glazed windows, office, ... Welcome Hotel offers Parisian breakfast every morning between 7:30 am and 10:30 am in your room, in the first floor lounge or on the terrace. Welcome Hotel is located at the corner of Boulevard Saint Germain and rue de Seine, a few minutes walk from Luxembourg Gardens, Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing