We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unfortunate Choice”
Review of Hippopotamus

Hippopotamus
Ranked #12,492 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Unfortunate Choice”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I concede that my family and I look American and that none of us are particularly fluent in French. That said, we're quiet, well-mannered and non-demanding. None of that made a difference during a recent spring break lunch that only served to confirm the old axiom that Parisians are frequently rude to tourists from the United States. Without belaboring the point, suffice to say that the wait staff was slow, rude and seemed to delight in feigning a communications issue until tiring of the ruse. To top it off, the already mediocre food arrived cold - - literally at the point of being inedible. We did not complain or send our plates back. Rather, we politely paid our bill and left to catch a train back to the UK where we enjoyed a dinner that could not have been more different. How sad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    52
    72
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor version of steak house chains”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

If you are used to US steak house chains with tasty and juicy meat..well this is NOT your pick...not clean nor well priced with service in average with the quality and helpfulness you find around Paris

Helpful?
Thank fabrizio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Bad”
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Worst ever service, bad food, not recommended at all, food came after almost an hour and half, uneatable meat, rats on the floor....

Helpful?
Thank Marwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“go anywhere else !”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

when we saw so many people entering we thaought that it should be a good place to eat. what a mistake. the service was slow (as expected), but the bad surpeise was the food. cold dry hamburger, and hard uneatable (expensive) T bone stake.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank i-herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ate there a year ago, celebrating my birthday with cousins”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

It was very good, I took a special dish of cooked "moele" and enjoyed it a lot, even if the cousin warned me of the many calories in the dish

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BettyLeon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippopotamus also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Hippopotamus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing