We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings on this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
Ranked #1,330 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Positives: Emails responded to quickly. Location-perfect, located between Odeon and St Michel metro stops, within walking distance to Notre Dame, Pantheon, Louvre. Directions to hotel were spot on, no difficulties. Price-could not find better in central Paris. Breakfast simple but good, coffee and fresh bread with jam and butter. Rooms decent size.
Negatives: No lift. Bathrooms very very small, showers made for tiny people. Rooms aged and worn. Poorly operational wifi. Lots of street noise at night into wee hours. I can live with these negatives. The one I cannot is that one of our 2 rooms had bugs. All over both beds lots of little black bugs. We told reception. She wiped them off bed and told us they had no other room. We tried to find another hotel but had no luck, already close to midnight, had no internet, and all hotels close by booked. When we returned to hotel unsure of what we were going to do-travling with children and needing 2 rooms we were told that they did have another one for us after all. Decided to take it and deal with it in am. New room was fine along with our other first room. In am we decided that we would just stay. We had limited time in Paris and did not want to spend it hotel hunting. We asked to keep new room and were told no, already booked for next evening. We were told they would spray our original room and we could have it back. My response was absolutely not, under no circumstances. At the end of the day, we returned to yet another room, at least without bugs
In the end, everything worked out. The cavalier attitude towards bugs was a little disturbing. Aside from that, hotel perfect for what it is

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a room for 4 people for a total of about 300 euros. The location of the hotel was perfect, within walking distance to the Notre Dame, and in a very lively area with food to be found all around. "Vins et Terroirs", which was just beside the hotel, does an excellent prix-fixe menu for 19 euros, and a cheaper lunch menu for 11 euros and the food is faultless. Back to the hotel: You need to be aware that there are no lifts and it is a long climb to the top (especially with your luggage). The room is comfortable. However, because of the furniture they use, the chairs tended to be rather dusty. I'm also not a big fan of the material they used to make their blankets.

The toilet was clean and spacious, with a bathtub and shower gel/ bath foam provided. The breakfast was just baguettes with spreads and coffee/tea though.

Overall I would rate this hotel 4 stars because I have been to Paris and I know that this price is a bargain. Had this been anywhere else I might have been tempted to just give it 3 stars, but it is extremely good value for Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FireRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you have done your homework on this establishment and realize its (and your physical) limitations (no elevator) this is a 5 star budget choice for central Paris. Desk staff had very good English skills and were friendly and helpful as was all staff. Our room (#18) was quiet, next to stairway on one side and had a so-so view overlooking interior courtyard. We had requested an interior room about half way up with a shower and the hotel accommodate our request. The room was rather small which required some choreography of movements upon occasion for two people. Bed was good. Bathroom was clean and there were a couple of bathrooms available one the stair landings if the need arose or if you experiencing a toilet paper shortage emergency :) Clothes storage was a little tight.

The hotel had a key system in which you left your key, which was attached to a heavy holder, at the front desk when you left and picked it up on your return. We only had one key and didn't bother to ask if a second was available. So one night after my solo trip up the Eiffel Tower and after midnight return I did have wake up my wife to let me in. The key and lock took a little getting used to and you had to use the key to unlock your door when inside so perhaps in an emergency exit situation it might take a few additional seconds to exit.

The breakfast was limited to coffee, tea or hot chocolate with the best bread we had during our entire bread with ample supply of butter, various jams and honey. The bread was supplied by Erik Kayser bakery nearby. The cozy breakast seating was a great asset and facilitated some great converstation with fellow hotel guests which seemed to be comprised of a disproportional share of Canadians (not that there is anything wrong with that :) There was only one morning when we had to wait a while before some seating became available. There was a TV in the small lobby but it was only one time when we were around and that was early in the morning. Otherwise a nice selection of music was often being played.

I was able to get our return boarding passes as a PDF file which I emailed to the front desk who printed the passes. The free wi-fi in the rooms was a little buggy at times but was a very helplful resource.

The location and neighborhood of the hotel was unparalleled. A laundry was nearby as was a large grocery store though we didn't stumble across it for several days. I may have talked to the owner one morning at breakfast about cinema, a French passion, and when he found out we live near Kansas City he mentioned the Merchant Ivory film, Mr. and Mrs. Bridge, set and largely filmed in KC. Of course he slightly misplaced the Mississippi River which is in St. Louis not KC.

We were there in early to mid May and sometimes used the little fan in the room to help with air movement. The windows did a good job with exterior noise. I would stay there again in an instant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Really charming place for architecture buffs. Delightful staff. As mentioned by others, breakfast is a youth-hostel-type affair, but we found it quite sustaining until late lunch and rather jolly with visitors from all parts of the world. Don't stay here if you have trouble with stairs, with or without luggage. Location is ab fab! When it is economically feasible, the carpeting in the rooms could stand a good steam cleaning, and that in the hallways and stairway definitely needs to be replaced. I will be a return visitor and will take my own 'Lysol' wipes to clean the light switch plates in the room.

Room Tip: Recommend you ask for Room 17 (2nd floor) or Room 27 (3rd floor) as they overlook a relatively quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Good location. Very good. But on The other hand, no lift, only stairs, so if youre a little old, it Will take time to get to your room. We had 90 steps to our room, felt like Much more. Old stairs but charming. Breakfast is baguette with butter and honey or marmelade. Coffee or tea. Right in The lobby, funny. Not always room for all. Rooms a little old and beds.....Well if you are taller than 180 cm, you are in trouble. Being 203.... Then you are in deep trouble. If wewould go back, Well been there, done that. Next....
Service is good.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed here on two occasions and plan to stay again next fall. I love the location and it is easy to get around all of Paris from there. The price is right and it is intimate and clean. The history of the building makes me feel like one of the Musketeers.The breakfast is just fine and I love it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buggsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great location right in the heart of St Germain/Odeon and feels like a bit of 'Old Paris' - rickety staircase, exposed beams and all. It isn't five star - but nor is the price - central Paris for under 100 euros a night - but it is clean, welcoming and in a great location. We have stayed a few times and all the rooms have quite different feeling.

Room Tip: In summer it might be worth trying to get a room high up (as long as you can do the stairs) so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Nesle
Hotel de Nesle
#1,118 of 1,804 in Paris
389 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#248 of 1,804 in Paris
905 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Lys
Hotel du Lys
#1,365 of 1,804 in Paris
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#216 of 1,804 in Paris
497 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#637 of 1,804 in Paris
410 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#337 of 1,804 in Paris
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Andre des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Andre des Arts

Address: 66 rue Saint Andre des Arts, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,330 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £85 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel St. Andre des Arts 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel St. Andre des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andre Des Arts Hotel
Hotel St Andre Des Arts
Hotel Saint Andre Des Arts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing