We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel..”
Review of Le Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #1,206 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was a nice hotel. It was clean and bathrooms were spacious. Beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good. We needed to take the metro to get to many of the tourist attractions which was okay. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lov2travelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Beautiful hotel near Place du Clichy. Good location, near good restaurants and near a metro station.

I recommend you to use the metro service to stay in this hotel, the hotel is far from the famous touristic points, like Eiffel Tower.

The Internet wifi service needs to be better, the signal in the room is weak.

The beds are good and the clean service is very good.

The bathroom is good and well equiped.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demetrius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Small , but well-kept hotel on the right bank of the Seine ,at a walking distance of Montmartre and the Galeries Lafayette and Opera .The rooms are small but cosy , the bathrooms are refurbished with Italian showers all bright new . Breakfast is decent ,you can have a decent dinner at the hotel restaurant at a reasonable price by Parisian standards ! The staff are welcoming and available when you need a drink or whatever . All this in a really very quiet environment since the hotel is located in a dead end and at a really reasonable price by Parisian standards .The métro is a few steps away .Not the showy, snobbish left bank hotel but a real bargain .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantvalacruchealeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

My second stay here and what a blooming find! My company gets a corporate rate well south of EUR 100 per night, including breakfast. Amazing. The superior rooms are newly refurbished. Nice enough. TV, mini bar and wifi. I was on 4th floor. The whole place is spotless. It is very centrally situated on a quiet cul-de-sac (French word I guess). Probably the best value for money in Paris. If you are on a bit of a budget but want something clean, tidy with all the mod cons, I don't think you can beat this place.

Room Tip: go for a superior room, they have just been done up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights on the 6th floor. Room ok and clean ,beds comfortable .Bathroom ok but dated V quiet at night. Breakfast v good. 15 min walk to the center and metro at 400 m. V good hotel for a short break. Staff ok but some were not friendly at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We had called before and asked if the room was available att 11 AM and they said yes. When we arrived they said we could not have the room until at least an hour later and if we still wanted it we would have to pay for an extra day! Would have totally accepted if it was not ready and they had told us so, but to try to charge one extra day when it was ready anyway? Very rude and unfriendly.
In the evening we wanted to use the WIFI which they charged 2€ per 15 minutes (!) for but got the answer that they didn't have any passwords until the morning! Was really rude about this as well. Could not work in the evening as planned.
Rooms like an 80's throwback, brown and dark. Would never stay at again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChiliLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during Easter of 2006. The inlaws room was smaller than ours, and slightly darker, and noisier as it faced the roam, but still very nice and quite quiet too.
Our room was very spacious, which isn't really something you can bank on in Paris so we were very pleasantly surprised. The bathroom was perhaps in need of a slight renovation, but it was pretty big (wth a bathtub) and clean. It had a big window facing a small yard so it was light and nice in there too. (Yes, there were curtains, of course.)

The room was clean and comfortable, with a nice bed, a safe, a desk and a chair - plus great curtains (two layers) that really shut out all the light and a lot of the sounds that managed to pry its way into the small yard to which the room faced (which wasn't a lot to begin with).
For a Paris hotel - these rooms are absolutely amazing, at the price you get them!

The breakfast was rich and nice, with lots to choose from.
The staff were very accomodating throughout the entire hotel.

There are a few small shops and diners just around the corner from the hotel, and it's not very far to the city centre either. (But we recommend taking a cab - if not only for the fun experience of it, because it's really worth the money to see the driver maneuver the car into the smallest openings. Paris traffic is really something else. :))

We'd love to stay at this hotel again, when we go back to Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel R de Paris
#46 of 1,804 in Paris
680 reviews
Maison Nabis by HappyCulture
#257 of 1,804 in Paris
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#91 of 1,804 in Paris
691 reviews
Le Grey Hotel
#65 of 1,804 in Paris
471 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#412 of 1,804 in Paris
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cardinal Hotel

Address: Street 3th, Du Cardinal Mercier | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,206 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £94 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Cardinal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven in the heart of the City of Light, you will appreciate the many facets of this contemporary hotel with 78 rooms renovated. Enriched with a cozy bar, spacious lounges, a cozy restaurant and a bright patio, you will enjoy quality service and a personalized welcome adapted to all your needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing