We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when in Paris”
Review of Hotel Vivienne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vivienne
Ranked #426 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when in Paris”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good bedroom, soft bed good view and light! People are very nice and helpful.Great location with public transportations and restaurants. PC available and the most friendly cat! definitely will go back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugoalexandrecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    243
    56
    17
    9
See reviews for
108
204
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked this hotel on our check-in date as we missed out flight and we desperately needed a place to stay. We got the last room available which was on the top floor (where the lift in fact just goes to the floor below and we had to (with help of the staff) carry our luggage up the narrow stairs to our room.

The room was decent, although without air-conditioning. In fact if you open the window you would feel that the weather was in fact very nice at night. Yet we felt opening the window was unsafe given we stayed on the top floor and people could literally climb into out room from the roof. Ended up just opened the ventilation window in the toilet (as it's small and definitely noone could climb through it) and were able to have a good night of sleep without the air-con. The room itself is clean but the furniture (desk and chair in particular) needs to be replaced as they just looked old!

Location-wise it's located in a very convenient location. Surrounded by lots of eateries and is fairly close to the metro station. We did have very local and delicious food around the hotel (we just chose the one with most locals and went in) and it was cheap too!

We can't complain the price as we booked on the same-day booking (EUR 98 for a night without breakfast). Not sure if it would be cheaper if we book in advance tho. (as we previously stayed at another hotel in the area and it was just cheaper with air-con!)

Overall a happy experience! (but not so happy missing the flight!)

Room Tip: People with huge luggage should not choose the room on the top floor as you have to carry your stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_C_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darfield, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Our Kiwi family of four (9 and 11yo) stayed for three days in Room 14. Everything we needed. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were a hassle-free start to the day and gave the kids the energy required for hitting the streets. Superb location. 10 mins walk to Louvre. 2 mins to metro. And lots of food options from take out meals on the run to brasseries and bistros. Great value. Book and enjoy

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jipperchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stay in this hotel whenever fortunate enough to be in Paris. The staff are really helpful the rooms comfortable and the central location both useful and interesting. Good for couples family and buisness trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A very FAT happy cat welcomes you to this tiny and reasonably priced hotel in the old square of Paris. The room is not gorgeous but very practical and compact with friendly front staff.
I would rather stay at a hotel like this than paying triple priced 4/5 star hotels.
You can walk to Opera, Louvre Museum and many spots to see around.

パリでもとくに古い街、パッサージュが走る一角にある小さな家庭的なホテル。
太ったネコがロビーのソファで寝そべっている。
部屋の小さいがバスタブもついていて機能的、部屋代のことを考えると
とってもお得なホテルだ。
親切なスタッフの対応も素晴らしいが、フランス語と英語だけで日本語は話せない。

パリ観光やビジネスで宿泊代を削り、美味しい食べ物にまわしたい向きには
もってこいのホテルである。

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonoya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Accommodation in Paris is quite expensive by comparison to many other European cities and this hotel is no exception. However, we found it very clean and comfortable. The room was very small but adequate with an obviously new "bathroom" about the size of a WC which contained a surprisingly good shower and basin. The toilet was down the hall. As the room was at the back the view from the window was not great, but in spite of these things, we enjoyed our stay immensely and would be happy to return. We found the location perfect as the Louvre (and river) was a leisurely 15 minute walk and the hop on/hop off bus 100 metres away. The staff were very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a first or second floor front room with balcony if you don't mind paying a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have stayed here twice. Good standard of accommodations for this category. Great location right off the Passage des Panoramas, across from the Musée Grévin. Short walking distance to Opéra, Palais Royal/Louvre, Montorgueil/Les Halles, and there are also several metro lines that run right by the hotel.

The lobby/breakfast area is nicely decorated and welcoming. The double rooms are in good condition, clean, and of a good size. Some rooms on the upper floors have a small balcony. The heating worked very well, actually a little bit too well. Water pressure in the shower was a little weak. There were lots of electric outlets in the room, which was a rather pleasant surprise.

There is free WiFi throughout the hotel and a computer in the lobby. The front desk staff was very friendly, no problems with printing boarding passes and luggage storage, etc.

Room Tip: Some 5th floor rooms have a small balcony. Water pressure may be better on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeppityDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
#459 of 1,801 in Paris
609 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#300 of 1,801 in Paris
570 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
#436 of 1,801 in Paris
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#406 of 1,801 in Paris
474 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Cyrnos
Hotel Cyrnos
#1,310 of 1,801 in Paris
132 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Icone
Hotel Icone
#735 of 1,801 in Paris
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vivienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vivienne

Property: Hotel Vivienne
Address: 40 rue Vivienne, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#325 Family Hotel in Paris
#581 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vivienne 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vivienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivienne Hotel Paris
Hotel Vivienne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing