We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairy tale”
Review of Hotel de Nesle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Nesle
Ranked #1,118 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fairy tale”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A peace of a treasure in the most fun part of Paris and near all touristic attractions. Beautiful paintings all over the walls. Reminds me the home of a Arab: little door, magnificent interior and beautiful backyard garden! But the noise is very annoying!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrioceano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    141
    40
    34
    26
See reviews for
57
143
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Situated in the middle of Paris, this is very convenient for all needs. We arrived late on a Saturday night with three heavy suitcases and the duty manager seconded a friend of his to help carry them up to the fifth floor (no lift) without that help we would have started our holiday completely shattered. The room was clean and tidy with the minimum of luxuries (no TV, no tea or coffee) but it did have access to free Wifi. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we had no problems during our stay. This is very much a classic French style hotel which wouldn't suit everyone with no food or drink facilities - but who needs them when the whole of Paris is on your doorstep!
Don't expect to be able to book a particular room, my wife wanted one of the highly decorated rooms but instead we had the top floor apartment, the rooms go on a first come first serve basis. We had no issues but a guest that left the day before we did complained about broken facilities in the shared bathroom (our room had an ensuite). This is not for everyone and if you are the sort of person that complains at the drop of a hat then go somewhere else. If on the otherhand you have a more realistic attitude and are looking for a no-frills, cheap hotel in the middle of Paris then this one should be considered. The nearest metro is Notre Dame, about a five minute walk away. There is no A/C either.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you want a choice of rooms. The 5th floor apartment is nice but walking up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location, horrendous owner and staff. I would never stay there again solely because of this, they were that bad. It took us longer than expected to get to Paris due to the train schedules so we emailed ahead to say we would be late but we were coming. We arrived that night and were informed they gave our room away. When we said we emailed they told us they didn't check their email often and it was our own fault. We had to camp out in the lobby until we found another place to stay at 2 am. When we came back the next day we met the horribly rude owner who was one of the worst people I've ever experienced. The staff was rude for the remainder of our stay. I would never return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reebs721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

First of All. If your looking for a hotel this is probably not the best place to go. It's more a hostel. Our room has a private shower but not a private toilet. The rooms are small but the price is super cheap for Paris. The location is pretty sweet.
For youngsters this is a great place.
If you traveling with family maybe you should search for a different place.
We love it. Because it's an artistic cheap place.
We are looking for location not a flat screen tv and an elevator.
It's not super clean.
The people are really friendly and helpful.

Grtz

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yizzll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with friend back in May (and in 201) and we had an amazing time. We arrived very early and our room was not ready so we went out and explored Paris. My only complaint was that our room was not ready when we got back but it did give us an excuse to enjoy the outdoor patio and take in some sun! It is definitely a quirky place but it was perfect for what we were looking for (low budget trip with friends where we spent most of our time sightseeing - no TV/electronics but none was needed) You should request a room with a bathroom/shower in the room otherwise there are common toilets for use in the hallway of each floor. The location is amazing and we were within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Overall a really great experience! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I found this lovely hotel after much searching on line for something original, central and not extortionately priced, I was not disappointed. Admittedly it was a hike up to our room on the 5th floor and I did not get the room of my choice, but it certainly was original and I loved it. The one thing the rooms need are tea and coffee making facilities even though you have excellent places right outside on the main street.

It is in a great place for exploring and it was affordable, it is very tranquil too considering where it is. We slept very well in our comfortable bed and the room was serviced daily.

Room Tip: Well the top floor is a bit of a hike but the rooms are large with good views to both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziepoo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If what you're after is a flat-screen TV (or, come to mention it, any TV -- hey, when did you last stay at a hotel that didn't force a massice TV into your minute bedroom?), a minibar, internet access which behaves itself, breakfast on-site, or a lift to get you to your 4th floor room, then this is the wrong place for you.

But if what you'd rather find is an amazing hotel at very reasonable prices in a great locoation, then your search is over. (Perhaps I shouldn't be saying this - I don't want it to be fully booked next time I visit.)

This hotel is original, there's no other word for it. Take a look at the pictures on their website! Every room is painted differently - we stayed in "Molière" and so should now know the names of all his plays off by heart, seeing as they were illustrated on our bedroom walls.

Some of the rooms have en-suite facilities, others don't. Depends on your budget! Also, some face onto the street (not much of a view); ours faced back onto the garden (to which residents have access, very nice). Whichever way you face, it's so quiet you won't believe how central you are in Paris - just a 5 minute walk to the Seine and the Île de la Cité, just 5 minutes the other way to the Odéon metro. Good but pricy restaurants close at hand, the Latin quarter is much cheaper and about a ten minute walk.

100% recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Prince de Conti
Prince de Conti
#1,105 of 1,801 in Paris
35 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#290 of 1,801 in Paris
839 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#474 of 1,801 in Paris
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Des Canettes
Hotel Des Canettes
#1,612 of 1,801 in Paris
81 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
#936 of 1,801 in Paris
404 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
#665 of 1,801 in Paris
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Nesle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Nesle

Property: Hotel de Nesle
Address: 7 rue de Nesle, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,118 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Nesle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Nesle Hotel
De Nesle Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing