We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the middle of everything!”
Review of Les Argonautes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Argonautes
Ranked #1,508 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This hotel is right in the center of everything. I could hear the bells of Notre Dame from my room...and it was not a disturbance, rather a beautiful reminder of where you were ;)

I was able to walk to a lot of places from here and if it was too far to walk, the metro/tour bus stop/ or taxi stand was close by.

The bed (the pillows were surprisingly very confortable) and shower and room was small, but it did the trick and they give you soap and douche gel. It was nice having a shower in the room. There was also a window looking out to the atrium...not a very pretty site, but it was quiter than one looking out to the street and the alley cats will keep you entertained in the dark. La Huchette is a loud street at night so if you're a light sleeper like me then ask for a quiet room.

If you get the breakfast ($5/day) they will bring it up to your room in the morning when you call down. Nothing fancy...croissant, baguette, butter, jam, and choice of milk, coffee or tea. The milk was good and cold!

There are plenty of bars, clubs, and cafes around so you definitely won't get bored. And the reception is open 24 hours.

There is info on tours in the lobby and you can store your bags there after check out.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cts808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

Small hotel in the Quartier Latin near Notre Dame, the rooms were very cute in a parisian way. If someone wants to stay in Paris without spending a fortune it's the place to go!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisianluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel is in a great location and everything is within walking distance (approx 50mins to e.tower) Hotel is nothing special and is a bit outdated but for the price it's ok. The hotel is very loud, we were put facing the street for the first two nights and didn't get much sleep until 2am but we were moved for the remainder 2 nights and it was fine. Hotel staff not very helpful and can only speak limited English, didn't eat breakfast here but try the cafe down the road for coffee and bakery delights.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimboAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

The hotel wasn't too bad, I guess we were lucky to get the room with the windows facing the wall, therefore we didn't really hear the sound of dishes breaking in the Greek restaurant downstairs :)) The location is great - you have to cross just one street and you are right in front of the Notre Dame. The hotel itself was ok, toilet was outside of the room, but there was a shower inside. Wi-Fi availiable in some corners of hotel:) Oh and there is a GREAT place for croissants down the street to the right:)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jevgenijad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

The hotel is in the heart of the latin quarter, right by the Left Bank. Fantastic night life, dining, you are in walking distance of Notre Dame, Conciergerie, Sainte-Chapelle, and Jardin du Luxembourg. Room was small but very nice, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I loved the place, the price was excellent. The Metro station was at the end of the block and the neighborhood very safe.

Negatives -- shower in the room but labatory was shared, no elevator so you have to walk up stairs, and there is a disco on the 1st floor which is open to 3:30 am. My room was above the dance floor but I didn't come to Paris to not be part of the night so it was not a problem. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to families with small children but anyone else -- yes.

The location was simply fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

My brother and I visited Paris and ended up staying one night at Les Argonautes unintentionally. We had booked a studio rental but when the shower in the studio didn't work, the owner booked us a night at Les Argonautes. We had a "triple room". There was a queen or double plus a single roll-away bed. Plenty of room for my brother and I although part of my brothers bed went underneath the vanity area. There is a sink and small shower in the room, but it is an open-topped space, so don't shower if your buddy is sleeping. Very different. The toilet is down the hall tucked into a small room and is shared by all on the floor. Our room had a window, but I never heard the sounds of breaking plates and I am a light sleeper. The entire hotel was very clean and the linens were fresh.

What we really loved about this place was the decor. Our room had a safari theme going on which is carried on throughout the hotel. Yes, the room is worn down, but when you have a pack of leopards staring down at you while you lay in bed, you can't help but laugh.

Downstairs in the lobby there is a little breakfast place. The hotel manager makes fresh coffee and serves you the BEST bread and butter. He put some nice soothing Greek instrumental music on for us. We felt like we were on safari in the cozy breakfast place and the music put us at ease. We both smiled and truely felt like we were on vacation. It is one of our favorite memories of the trip.

The manager was very nice. He helped us with tips on how to get to different places, and held our bags for us the day we checked out.

If you are looking for a NICE place to stay, or something with comforts, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a good value, budget place, right in the heart of Paris, with a little bit of ecletic charm this place is perfect. Just keep a sense of humor about you and enjoy this little wacky safari hotel, which plays Greek music, in the Greek part of the French quarter, in the heart of Paris! The location can't be beat as it's practically at the feet of Notre Dame, the Seine, and the Metro.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euro1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Right in Little Athens in the Latin Quarter. Good clean rooms with an accomodating staff that uses English. Is noisy at night due to Cafes and Night Life and early morning with trash pickup and deliveries.

Best deal in Paris and if you are a good sleeper and or are tired this location is not a problem. Just be aware it is noisy at night.

We would stay there again.

Older travelers

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skb3840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#803 of 1,803 in Paris
222 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Mont Blanc
Hotel du Mont Blanc
#1,276 of 1,803 in Paris
432 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#183 of 1,803 in Paris
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#247 of 1,803 in Paris
914 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Esmeralda Hotel
Esmeralda Hotel
#833 of 1,803 in Paris
305 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#617 of 1,803 in Paris
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Argonautes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Argonautes

Address: 12 rue de la Huchette, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,508 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £55 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Les Argonautes Paris
Les Argonautes Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing