We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming. Fun. Eccentric. Excellent base of operations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Degres de Notre Dame
Ranked #1,355 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charming. Fun. Eccentric. Excellent base of operations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This small hotel is very conveniently located and is in a nice, fairly residential neighborhood. Rooms are quiet if you face the interior courtyard. Our daughter's room even had a small balcony! You can hear the bells from Notre Dame, and they are not distracting, but are just nice. Although the building is very very old, the water pressure for showers was fine, and water was very hot. No AC, but we were there during a heat spell and the fans provided in the rooms were just fine for sleeping, in fact the fans are pretty powerful!! All the staff is wonderful, and a pleasure to sit with and have a coffee. Very clean, the linens were nice. The stairs ARE steep, and features motion-activated lights, so in the pitch dark you may want a flashlight for a couple of the corners! Interestingly though, the stairs are in a spiral going up, so there are some landings to stop and put your bag down for a minute. We had to catch an early train to the airport and pre-ordering the breakfast at the hotel was convenient for that. Lots of restaurants in the area, just about every kind of food you could think of as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoxValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    65
    27
    16
    13
See reviews for
24
104
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was a charming and conveniently located inn. Not for everyone one but we absloutely loved its quaint atmosphere. It's old and has no elevator, the staircase is steep so you need to be aware of those things. We loved it so much more than what a regular hotel would have provided for us in Paris.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms, every one is different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicago3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent 4 nights hear for my 50th birthday in April 2014. It was perfect. I loved that there was no busy lobby or hustle and bustle. We had a room with a view of Notre Dame and it was lovely to wake up to the bells. It was well kept room that was tidied and cleaned everyday. I would stay here again as we loved the latin quartre.

Room Tip: Pay for a view of Notre Dame
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I surprised my girlfriend with a trip to Paris for or year anniversary! She thought we were going to Blackpool and found out we were coming to Paris outside the Eurostar in St Pancras :) Having had the benefit of travelling to Paris the previous month with work i knew exactly where the hotel was and was a little worried with the dining/reception area as we walked in. This was immediately forgotten about with the really friendly and helpful welcome we received from the Lady who i think may have been the manager. We went up to our room which was lovely! there were wooden beams chairs and tables ample space for storage and a lovely large double bed. This was very comfy and perfect after a long days walking between monument after monument.
The hotel was the perfect base as it is right in the centre and short throw from Notre Dame and has many metro links nearby! We didnt use the metro so much as walking is the best way to see Paris.
It wasn't a long trip only two nights but we saw soooo sooo much and could nip back to the hotel to get changed or have a sit down for a bit if we didnt fancy spending it on coffees' etc!

The bathroom was very big! and the shower was perfect for washing away the days travels!

There are plenty of good restaurants nearby or you may have to have a walk around to discover a little gem but you are in the centre of Paris and not much is far away!!

Thank you very much for helping make mine and my girlfriends anniversary as special as it was!!!

Room Tip: Think we were in room 36 and it was lovely! recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jontyf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, close to 2/3metro stations (st Michael notre dame & clune la Sorbonne)
We were told on arrival that breakfast was complimentary (even tho it says online that it is 10 euro pp per day), upon checkout we were hit with a 40 euro breakfast charge (2 days 1 pp) the guy at reception said the breakfast was CONTENENTAL not COMPLIMENTARY, I am 22 years old of good health and hearing I am 100000% sure we were told on arrival the breakfast was complimentary. So not great! There was a lot of work going on inside and outside the hotel which could be heard a lot from the room. There was also a very strong sewage smell on our last night inside our room and indeed in reception. All in all it wasn't a great hotel for the well over 500 euro we paid for 4 nights plus the extra we had to pay for breakfast which was a croissant and tea.
Good points are simply the location and the hotel staff speak decent English. Notre Dame, the louve and the love lock bridge are all within walking distance which saves money in taxis/metro.
If traveling from the airport take the RER B towards Paris and get off at St Michael Notre Dame.
Over all I would give it a 5.5/10

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation ,it could be lovely but in need of a lot of tlc,it's a shame as the location is brilliant.the staff was ok on reception ,all men ,not far from rer to airport .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

As with all journeys we research reviews and assume an average to base our decision on.......
In this case it was an error, as the Hotel/Bar ownership and layout has changed drastically.
The Restaurant is now separated by a wall and under different ownership and currently empty, being Refurbished. This meant no meals or even drinks at the Hotel.
With no drinking facilities in the rooms it means everything is off site!

We had the 4th room, which had all the charm described, but poor lighting and single beds!
Please be ready for a climb with your cases, as there is no lift and the journey is up a narrow wooden staircase.

The location is great, but given the total lack of facilities now, we will pay a little more for a better product on our next trip to this wonderful City.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TheSouthwickGrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Esmeralda
Hotel Esmeralda
#964 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
#608 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#254 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#231 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#738 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Degres de Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Degres de Notre Dame

Property: Les Degres de Notre Dame
Address: 10 rue des Grands Degres, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,355 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Les Degres de Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Degres De Notre Dame Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing