We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis of Parisienne opulence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Athenee
Ranked #118 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A true oasis of Parisienne opulence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the moment we arrived, walking into the Hotel Athenee was like walking into an oasis off the bustling Parisienne streets.

The staff were immediately warm and welcoming taking care of our every need.

We arrived a few hours before check in and were directed to a small brasserie for lunch, 'Le Mondial'. We rolled back to the hotel three hours later (and a few grand cru Bordeaux's later) to be shown to our plush albeit compact bijou of a room (Superior Double). Like all Paris hotel rooms, space was not in abundance, however the luxury fittings, Hermes toiletries and absolutely amazing bath and shower more than made up for it.

Indeed throughout the hotel the decor exuded luxury and opulence in a bohemian and a muted calm of a yesteryear Paris.

On our last night in Paris (my partner's birthday), we really wanted seats at a show that was booked out far in advance, but despite this they were able to make a phone call and not only get tickets, but went all the way and arranged VIP tickets for us, concierge at its best!

Arriving back at 3am for cocktails to be served to us in the room was the cherry on the cake.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future and would highly recommend this hotel to couples who are in Paris for a romantic break and want to experience a real feel Paris hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolathecockerspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to all our team, especially to our concierge.

We take the opportunity to inform you that we have renovated our two rooms with terrace, flowers and quiet. On your next booking, please indicate your preference for a room with a terrace, we will be happy to book it for you (at no extra charge, depending on availability).

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    93
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
245
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I needed to find a room after we were unable to book a second night at Le Grand just up the road. I did a quick search and came across the Athenee. We frankly were not that worried about the accommodation since we were leaving for a week's stay in Normandy and had plenty of appointments and lunch and dinner reservations to keep us busy. The website looked promising. I have to say that our stay was one of our favorite of the entire trip and we stayed at some beauties during the rest of the trip. It is small and super cute. It just oozes charm and is a truly "boutique" hotel. The lobby looks like the vestibule of the opera Garnier. Comfortable places to sit, gorgeous drapes and pillows with a very mood full lighting. Our room was super cute too, and as other travelers have noted, an absolute wonder of a shower. Hermes toiletries to boot. Loved the modern design accents throughout the room, coupled with the traditional "mansard" aspect of the original building, also loved the fabric lined walls, truly wanted to rip it off and take it home, I did not though! To sum up it , we want to go back and soon!!! A truly stunning place, Merci et a bientot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our employees who helped make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly ""unique moment""

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Seriously, I have many, many compliments: friendly & helpful staff, attractive rooms, VERY comfortable bed, nice closet space with drawers and excellent location, but the shower was the kicker for me. It was just one of those things that I have found to be sub-par in other hotels, but this one was much nicer. Hermes soaps and toiletries are lovely. The rooms are small, as typical in Europe, but the service is grand, and it is the service upon which European hotels are rated.
My only complaint is that it was too warm in the room (and the hotel in general), but they turned on the air conditioner as soon as they heard the complaint. It is in a lively area, with easy access to metro and train. GREAT SHOPPING AREA!! Lots of fine restaurants, cafes and even a Starbucks (I know, but after three days I needed a giant American coffee).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Customer,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team and I thank you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

We will remind to provide you our best room with shower for your next stay :)

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

If I could define in one Word Hotel Athenee´s team would be SMILE, we spent 8 nights, and no matter morning or late night front desk always met us with friendly smile on their face.
It is a lovely hotel in one of the best locations in Paris

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkorsakass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to all our teams.

We take the opportunity to inform you that we have renovated our two rooms with terrace, flowers and quiet. On your next booking, please indicate your preference for a room with a terrace, we will be happy to book it for you (at no extra charge, depending on availability).

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Before we arrived we had many questions, the type of service we received was comparable to highly rated hotels. We arrived early and left our suitcases and explored the area with more great advice. They made our trip much easier to navigate in so many ways and all staff was friendly. Our room was very cute and intimate(small, but that is what they advertise) our room made us feel luxurious and enveloped in warmth. The breakfast was great, one afternoon I wanted mint tea which they did not have, what they did was made fresh tea out of mint leaves. I love this kind of customer service. The lobby is so cute, and the attention to detail in this quant hotel provides a great experience!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Sir,

It was a great pleasure for me and the entire team to welcome you at Hotel Athénée.

We take the opportunity to inform you that we have renovated our two rooms with terrace, flowers and quiet. On your next booking, please indicate your preference for a room with a terrace, we will be happy to book it for you (at no extra charge, depending on availability).

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Sir, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds, UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel Athenee for 2 nights (5/9/13-7/9/13) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were greeted by Sylviane who quickly checked us in with no problems. We arrived early and our room wasn't quite ready but we were able to leave our luggage in the hotel foyer whilst we set about exploring Paris. The location of the hotel is fantastic. The street rue caumartin is a quiet street with a few bars/cafes but a 5 min walk is a bustling shopping area with a big shopping mall (la fayette) and loads of bars patisseries and restaurants. The major attractions are walkable (just) but the metro underground is a quick, cheap way to get around the city. We chose to walk most of the time and our cosy hotel room with comfortable double bed was the ideal base. The Hermes toiletries were a nice touch and the staff who all speak excellent english all contributed to a great trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longshanks80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to all our teams.

We take the opportunity to inform you that we have renovated our two rooms with terrace, flowers and quiet. On your next booking, please indicate your preference for a room with a terrace, we will be happy to book it for you (at no extra charge, depending on availability).

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a lovely place with magnificent people who take care of their guests very nicely. The first thing is that you feel at home surrounded by people who care about you and your family, never wasting your time and always extremely helpful.

Room Tip: I believe it would be a good idea if for larger people, or people with small disabilities, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 870Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviane S, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our employees who helped make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly ""unique moment"".

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#122 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#146 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#229 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
#228 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Chess Hotel
The Chess Hotel
#183 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Property: Maison Athenee
Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Paris
#87 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#89 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#448 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing