We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.”
Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Athenee
Ranked #119 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sorry for the delay in posting this review.
We visited for three nights in April 2014 for our 30th wedding anniversary.
The hotel is in a perfect, in an excellent location.
It is very close to Louvre, Avenue des Champs Elysees, Place de la Concorde, Galeries Lafayette, Orsay Museum, L’Opéra Garnier. All within easy walking distance.
The Hotel's staff are very helpful and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean.
A superb location and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brassonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Directeur général at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
"Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our employees who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly ""unique moment"".

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Sylviane Sanz
General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    98
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
251
41
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My friend and I had a really nice stay at this boutique hotel. We came to Paris for a girls weekend and really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful and attentive with everything, from arranging the car service to the airport to making reservations at restaurants for us. The hotel was centrally located, pretty much a 10-15 min walk to major attractions. The hotel offers free wi-fi and the connection was consistent. The rooms were clean and kept very cool with the air conditioner. This was important during the summer heat.

We had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to the entire team who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly "unique moment".

It was a pleasure to help you during your stay and we hope to see you again really soon.

Best regards,

Manon & Hôtel Athénée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Words cannot express my profound gratitude to the amazing staff at Hotel Athenee who went above and beyond to make our stay in Paris unforgettable. We have been to Paris three times and now we will make it apart of our annual vacation stop because of the dear friendships we developed. Special mention to Thibaut, Vinnla, Nonon,Narie and the owner Sylviane who has handpicked a wonderful staff. I however have to highlight Guillaume who worked tirelessly and offered us 6 star service. Guillaume has become a friend and to him I owe a debt of gratitude for making our vacation in Paris so special.
To those who are thinking of staying in Paris, don't hesitate to book your stay at this authentic French hotel. You will be treated to a true French breakfast every morning and the location is perfect for those with a desire to shop. The tour facilities and museums are all in walking distance.
All members of staff speak perfect English and together they make this hotel my NUMBER 1 choice to stay in Paris.
See you all next year summer... this time for two weeks!!
Thanks,

Dr. Chris

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable relations publiques at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
"Dear Amara & Chris

The entire Hôtel Athénée team and I thank you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the Trip Advisor community.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again very soon at you home in Paris, The Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Amara & Chris.

Guillaume
Relation Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed our two-night stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was tiny (about three feel between the bed and the surrounding walls) but well-designed and very quiet. Very good sound insulation; air conditioning and bathroom all seemed new and very well designed. The location, near the Opera, was convenient.

The only downside for us was that the bed was an American-style "double", rather than a queen, which made for slightly tight sleeping. As I look back at the hotel's web site right now, I rather wonder whether we weren't given what they refer to as a "single" room.

Room Tip: I suggest confirming bed size when you make the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Customer,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team thanks you for having shared your opinions and your kind compliments with the TripAdvisor community

We are really glad to read you enjoyed your stay, especially thanks to the room and the location.

Concerning the bed, I can assure you than our Single and our Superior rooms are both equipped with a queen size bed.
Moreover, our first goal is to do everything for our guests to be happy, so we wouldn't have given you a single room when you booked a superior one.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon & Hôtel Athénée team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a small, quiet hotel in a one-way street (you may have to carry luggage to the end of the road, as we did when the taxi couldn't reverse up to us). Inside is small, there's an entrance desk with a very nice, bright-eyed and helpful receptionist/concierge/waiter. Ours checked us in, whilst answering the phone, taking orders for food and booking tickets for another couple, very smoothly; but was still on duty that night and early the next day too! All the reception staff we met were similar: young, very helpful and polite, multilingual, eager to please and extremely busy; even serving in the bar too. The entrance leads directly into the long, narrow bar area, with lots of dark red upholstery: swishy curtains around large mirrors and small squashy stools around low tables (we were reminded of a mini Hotel Coste). It seemed to be orientated to appeal to the 20 something, slightly bohemian guest. The room was small (and I think we were in the largest one there), but it was clean, had good strong, well designed cupboards, and the bathroom was also good quality. There is just a saloon-style door between the bedroom and the bathroom and no loo door, so it's intimate - you can wave from the loo to the bed! It was quiet during the night and the bed was comfortable with good, fresh bed-linen and pillows (no feather or down, it's all man-made fibres, possibly anti-allergy). Two gripes: the Hoovering started, loudly at 8.30 on Saturday morning and every door on the landing was bashed several times - absolutely no chance of sleeping through it. On Sunday it didn't start until after 10, but the cleaner had already walked in unannounced at around 9 (we hand't put out the 'do not disturb" notice). Hammering woke us early on Monday - so maybe we were just unlucky. But the cleaners did seem very keen to get us up and out (and yet were still cleaning the room each time we returned mid-afternoon and each time asked us to go downstairs and wait for 15-20 mins.) The second gripe was the breakfast. It was all good quality, but for the cost, it was meagre, (photo below of what came for 36 Euros): a single cup of coffee each - no pot for top-ups(!), one fruit juice, a small dish of chopped fruit, two semi-thawed apricots, two slices of toast, two pieces of baguette, but just one croissant to fight over! There was a plate of meat, but we're vegetarian. We had asked for a full continental for two. (We ordered tea for three in the bar another day, and again, it was a single cup of tea each (served in 3 very small teapots!). A jug of milk and another of hot water would have made all the difference and felt much more generous. Overall, it's a good hotel, mostly because the really sweet and charming reception staff work so hard at making it run smoothly, (but I fear they will be worn out fast unless they get some back-up!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your complimentary comments on the atmosphere and the decoration of the hotel, the location, and the bedding. But most of all for your very kind comments about the staff. We try to make our best to help every guest to make his stay more enjoyable, when we are at the front desk, at the bar, doing room service, and it's an award for us reading your comment.

Nevertheless, we were deeply sorry to hear that your experience at the hotel wasn't perfect and thank you for having informed us. This will allow us to identify the faults which you observed and which, quite clearly, require our fullest attention.

We have duly noted your impression concerning the early cleaning service and the fact you were disturbed every morning. we took also well note about the breakfast you found too poor for the price and will not fail to take your remarks into account.

We trust that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate, during a future stay, that the quality of Hôtel Athénée meets your expectations perfectly.

Reiterating our sincere apologies, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hôtel Athénée. In the meantime, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon & Hôtel Athénée team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a small hotel, but it is cozy, relatively quiet and with a superb location close to many Paris attractions and excellent connections to public transportation. The rooms are somewhat small, but the service is very attentive and speak English well. We travel to Paris every now and then, mainly for relatively short stays for fine dining and that special atmosphere. In particular with the excellent location and the helpfull service, we found that this hotel was very suited to our tastes and needs.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are charming, but you would have to be able to live with the roof beams being very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Søren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to the entire team who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience for you.

We're glad to read that despite the size of the room you felt comfortable in it, and we hope you were able to do everything you wanted to before leaving Paris.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon & the team of Hôtel Athénée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a pleasant stay at this boutique hotel, located near the Opera stop. Situated on a pretty side street in the 9e, it's well positioned in the centre of town (Printemps just up the street) - everything we needed was within a 20 or so minute walk, and anything further afield was just a hop on the Metro or RER.

At a glance:
* Do not mix this hotel up with the $$$$ Hotel Plaza Athenee, a 10 min drive away in the 8e
* Small hotel that has been revamped in recent year or so
* Very dark (mysterious even?) boudoir-esque theme throughout the hotel - be forewarned that this hotel is better suited for single travelers or couples eg not recommended for families (but I wouldn't see any issue if you did decide to bring your family here)
* Front desk folks were always there to greet with a smile, and handled everything professionally.
* Rooms are typical size for Paris, so don't expect a large 1000sq ft room. We are light travelers (1 roll on each), so the room was adequate for us.. but if you have several full size luggage, you may have to Tetris some furniture around to make it fit
* As mentioned above, the general feel of the hotel is very dark and atmospheric. Rooms don't have blaring spotlights, so be prepared for dimly lit rooms (not an issue for us, since we only return to the room to freshen up or to retire for the night)

We are frequent travelers to Paris, and love trying different hotels. Our stay at Hotel Athenee was pleasant and I would recommend to others looking for a centrally located hotel with quiet rooms.

Room Tip: Windows are dbl paned, so no street noise entered the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flubetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.
Your comment is really complete and we couldn't give a better description of our hotel.

It's true that we're not the biggest hotel in Paris and it's a little bit dark in the rooms and in our Red Bar but that is excactly what Jacques Garcia wanted when he thought about this hotel.
We want it to be a little boudoir where our guests could feel like home, as well in the Red Bar than in their room.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to all the team.

You said you like to try different hotels when you come to Paris, so we wanted to let you know a new one will open near Moulin Rouge by October. Don't hesitate to contact us for any more information.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Manon & Hôtel Athénée team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#124 of 1,801 in Paris
330 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#193 of 1,801 in Paris
352 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#220 of 1,801 in Paris
923 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Chess Hotel
The Chess Hotel
#210 of 1,801 in Paris
318 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Property: Maison Athenee
Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Paris
#89 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#447 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing