We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent The Weekend”
Review of Maison Athenee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Maison Athenee
Ranked #120 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Spent The Weekend”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I spent the weekend at this charming hotel while visiting restaurants and museums. The location is vibrant and alive, it is a very charming location to start your day from. The rooms are comfortable and the service is very accommodating. I recommend hotel athenee!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable relations clients at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to all our teams.

We are glad you had a good time in Paris visiting museums and restaurants.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Thibaut,
Guest relation service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    96
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
248
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Hotel Athenee is like a home away from home for me. Elegant, charming conveniently located to shopping and tourist sights. Friendly staff. Delightful breakfast. Well appointed rooms. Unique refined ambiance. Perfect choice for a business or pleasure stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192Jackie551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable relations clients at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to our employees who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience and a truly "unique moment".

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Thibaut,
Guest relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel after deciding last minute to extend our Paris trip by one night. The location is perfect, just one block from the RossyBus Opera stop that takes you directly to/from the Airport. We walked everywhere when we stayed at this hotel, from shopping at the galeries to going for a night walk around the Louve. Service was impeccable, as we were often greeted by name and all requests were handled swiftly and professionally, often with a nice personal touch. The rooms are quite nice, I wouldn't say spacious but moderate. Overall this hotel did make our stay memorable and we would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable relations clients at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Customer,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team and I thank you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.
We are glad you liked the location of the Hotel and our service. Our goal is to make your stay unforgattable .
Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Customer, yours faithfully,

Thibaut,
Guest relation service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night in business trip. Great location, quiet rooms but very handy for a few minutes walks to the opera and the shops. Rooms are kind of interesting - traditional with modern amenities. Although not to my taste re decor - very heavy and tiny rooms but typical of Paris. Think for a taste of different Paris - worth a try.
Lift is top small so avoid big suitcases. The shower was also tiny and blocked so not ideal as the bathroom got flooded.
Bed very comfy
Tiny cupboard...
Breakfast in the ref parlour was odd and not the most comfortable chairs but again a different kind of interesting experience.
Staff very friendly (especially for Parisians) and helpful

So not my taste but an interesting place. Worth a try if you want to experience a different Paris hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ninimayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Right in the middle of Paris, everything is easy to access from the Hotel Athenee. The staff are so sweet and courteous. They gave us a map and circled the locations we were going to, Staff printed out our Moulin Rouge tickets and had them ready for us the day of the show, If you need a converter, just ask the front desk. The place is immaculate, with wonderful maid service everyday. Deluxe Room feature Hermes toiletries, robe and slippers. Mini bar stocked well and snacks were decent. Room enough to stop at the store and buy your own as well. Plenty of closet room with drawers. Bath was amazing with two separate shower nozzles. All of Paris hotel rooms are small, but this felt special and most importantly, local. Street location is prime. Grocery, pharmacy and very local restaurants surround the place. One street over from Coco Chanel's apartment. - A Must. See. By Appointment. Staff arranged Taxi-like (Driver) service back to the airport at end of trip and billed it to our room - which was great. Awesome driver too. I'm bookin again with this wonderful local boutique hotel. Room 201. 7 day stay. <3

Room Tip: Room 201 windows faced the street. At night you will hear street noise but we still slept with our w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Robin,

Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.

We will not fail to pass on your kind compliments to all the staff who helped to make this stay an unforgettable experience for you. We hope you enjoyed Moulin Rouge and you did everything you wanted to during your stay. Under the name of the entire team I can tell it was a pleasure to help you during these 7 days.

Your entire comment is full of wonderful remarks concerning the location, the room, the cleaning service and we're really glad to read that, as our main purpose is to make our guest feeling like home at Hôtel Athénée.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again, we remain, Dear Robin, yours faithfully,

Manon & Hôtel Athénée team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Nice and little hotel nearby Opèra. Perfect location, near subway and very closed to the main monuments. As I read in many reviews, room was indeed small (though I had chosen a superior one), but anyway in the average for Paris. Room was noiseless, quite and clean. I didn't like the bed: it was not comfortable, because it was not flat but slope just like a roof, so wasn't good for two persons. I neither liked the bathroom: it was indeed very closed to the bed with not a real door, but something like two wardrobe shutters, with a little open space among them ( thus no privacy). Staff was very very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mr Antonio,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your feelings concerning your recent stay at Hôtel Athénée.
We are really glad to read you found the team kind and helpful and that you enjoyed the location and the cleaning service.

Nevertheless, I read each of your comments with the greatest attention and I am sincerely sorry to hear that you were disappointed about the bed you didn't find good for two persons and no comfortable, and the bathroom you found too small and too close to the bed.

The satisfaction of our customers is our primary concern. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed by the teams in order to focus our efforts on the various points you mentioned.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to demonstrate the high quality of Hôtel Athénée during a future stay.

In the meantime, we remain, Dear Mr Antonio, yours faithfully,

Manon & Hôtel Athénée team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is located very close to Opera. We got the Roissybus from CDG airport, which stopped less than a 5 minute walk away.

The room we stayed in was very small. Barely enough room to stand round the edge of the bed, although I believe this is fairly normal for Paris.

The staff were very pleasant, and spoke excellent English. There was someone on, or close to reception at all times. Handy for when our key-card stopped working due to being in my wallet all day.

The hotel is slap bang in the middle of Paris, so its perfect for getting out to all the attractions. I would however recommend not eating or drinking in this area. Its very expensive. Its much cheaper if you venture North around the Sacré Cœur.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenee P, Responsable réception at Maison Athenee, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Sir,

The entire Hôtel Athénée team thanks you for having shared your opinions and your compliments with the TripAdvisor community.

We can read in your comment you enjoyed the location and the service offered by the team at the front desk and we thank you for that. Our main goal is to do everything to make our guests' stay more enjoyable, so we're glad to read we succedeed in our mission.

We apologize you found the room too small, but as you said yourself this is the regular size for rooms in the heart of Paris.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at Hôtel Athénée, we remain, Dear Sir, yours faithfully,

Manon & Hôtel Athénée team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
318 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#144 of 1,802 in Paris
345 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
Hotel Saint Petersbourg
#235 of 1,802 in Paris
870 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
The Chess Hotel
The Chess Hotel
#209 of 1,802 in Paris
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Athenee

Property: Maison Athenee
Address: 19 rue de Caumartin, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Paris
#89 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#91 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#447 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the Place Vendome and the Opera Garnier, encircled by the most exquisite quarters of Paris, the four-star Maison Athenee offers an intimate, luxurious interlude, making any stay in Paris truly extraordinary. Everywhere, from the minutest detail of the petit salon to the sleek elegance of the smoking room, the creativity of Jacques Garcia finds full expression. The 20 rooms of Maison Athenee are romantic cocoons. Each boasts a spacious bathroom and, in a touch of French chic, exclusive toiletries from Hermes. Beyond the elegance of the establishment, it is the hushed atmosphere that is, at once, the most striking. Set in the beating heart of a vibrant capital, Maison Athenee is a peaceful sanctuary, a space of contemplation and reverie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Athenee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing