We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to get back in!”
Review of Hotel Amelie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amelie
Ranked #735 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

All great apart from when we returned to the hotel after dinner at 9.30pm on the Saturday night - the hotel was locked and the reception dark, and we could see through the window there was no one there. After ten minutes of ringing the doorbell and getting quite worried (as two women we didn't want to be hanging around in the dark, the hotel is on a deserted side street) and when we were just panicking that we would be on the street overnight, eventually a member of staff came back from a cellar area where he said he couldn't hear the doorbell. Apart from this annoyance it is a sweet little place with small clean rooms and the location is perfect for a couple of days sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Paris for a short city break. We went to this hotel on my friend's recommendation and we don't regret it. It makes our trip more enjoyable. We were accommodated in new renovated room. Hotel is located in a great area, there are lot of shops and cafes, but still quiet for a good sleep. Tube is just 2 minutes walk so very handy. All staff was very friendly. Only one thing I would mention, rooms are pretty small. We were absolutely fine with that as we didn't spend too much time in the hotel, but I know some people prefer bigger rooms. Are you going to Paris? Make sure, you have enough pocket money, Paris is expensive, but it worth it to visit. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Booked this hotel for 3 nights after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and Expedia. Fantastic location, and close to the amazing Rue Cler market (a must-see). Lots of cute neighborhood-y cafes, bars and shops. I actually liked this neighborhood more than the other touristy areas. While the room was pretty bare bones, it did the trick. Like most of you, you will be out walking around all day and just need a place to sleep at night! We faced busy Rue Amelie, so it was pretty noisy, but bearable. See if you can get a room facing a different way. Also, walking up the stairs is good exercise. :) There was a safe that worked, and the shower worked, so that was good enough for us. Awesome, friendly staff - had a great conversation with one gentleman that worked the night shift. Would definitely come back here next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaBoston1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

For my Birthday, my boyfriend and I went to Paris, Hotel Amelie came up in a few searches, was quite a cheap price and seemed well located. I was however dubious, with so many b&b's to choose from in Paris, you just never know what you are going to get, even with loads of research into the hotel.

It turned out to be a little gem. There was a calm, shabby chic atmosphere and it was perfectly located near the Eiffel Tower. I recommend for easy going couples who want to add a romantic sparkle to their Parisian adventures.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust_Fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was my second trip to Paris this year, and unlike last year when I travelled in May and room prices were cheaper, this year work sent me in June, so all of a sudden hotel rates tripled. I stayed it near the Eiffel Tower last year, and wanted to stay in the same area this year as it's the only part of Paris I'm familiar with.

I found Hotel Amelie via TripAdvisor, and am so glad I did. The neighbourhood is very safe and quiet - particularly for a female travelling on their own, and Amelie, whilst small, is clean and the staff warm and friendly.

The rooms are very small, but you're only after a place to sleep after hard day of shopping. The rooms are clean and recently refurbished. The bathroom is small, but very functional and very clean. Again has recently been refurbished. It's in a very quiet neighbourhood, and it's hard to believe you're only a couple of blocks away from a major tourist attraction.

Amelie doesn't have a restaraunt, but omn the short walk to the Eiffel Tower or the Metro station you will find many many wonderful cafes and restaraunts. My waste line is starting to show my love of french food.

I would definately recommend Amelie to particularly female travellers due to the safe location and the lovely 2 elderly gentlemen who seem to run the place. They are helpful - particularly with getting your suitcase up and down the small sprial staircase, and their knowledge of Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Clarks_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during our recent vacation to Paris - our first visit to the city. Overall, I thought the hotel was reasonable for the price given the location. The quality of the room was average, but for us it was worth it because we were not looking for a hotel that we were going to hole ourselves up in for our visit.

This hotel's location is probably the best aspect. It's in the 7th arrondissement, just around the corner from the Rue Cler area (and about 5/6 blocks from the Eiffel Tower). The neighborhood is very quiet and not overrun with tourists (compared to other areas.) We were able to easily get to the popular landmarks during the day and then leave all of that at night when we needed peace and quiet for sleeping or a quiet dinner.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They all spoke English very well and some had very helpful tips/advice on locations and the culture.

Our room was very simple - a bed, a bathroom, a nighstand, a small desk, a TV, and a small fridge. If you're looking for something with more substance, this probably would not be the place for you. However, our bed was very comfortable and the room served it's purpose for us - a place to clean up and sleep.

The one drawback to this hotel for us was the bathroom. It was very tight and the amenities were not exactly ideal. The shower was very small, and we had difficulties keeping the water temperature consistent. As I mentioned above, this was our first visit to Paris, so I don't have anything to compare expectations in terms of bathroom quality, etc.

If location is important to you, I would definitely consider this hotel. I'm sure there are others that offer more, but there's usually a price tag that goes along with it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dmeband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

There is a small elevator. And two stairways.

Close to rue CLER. and small grocery grocery stores.

Buy a small coffee pot and use the little fridge.
Great "camping" in Paris.

Small room but bigger than most bedrooms in Canada.
Small but clean washroom.

Nice and ample common space on ROOF and in lobby area. Very club like.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VoyagerCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#848 of 1,809 in Paris
410 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Malar
Hotel Malar
#898 of 1,809 in Paris
278 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#830 of 1,809 in Paris
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#562 of 1,809 in Paris
360 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
#725 of 1,809 in Paris
237 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Pavillon
Hotel Le Pavillon
#509 of 1,809 in Paris
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amelie

Address: 5 rue Amelie, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #735 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £80 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amelie 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Amélie, our little charming hotel, with its atypical decoration and 16 rooms, conveniently located in the heart of the 7th district of Paris, only a few minutes' walk from the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, the Orsay Museum, the Rodin Museum, the Invalides, the Champs-Elysées and the Grand Palais, is perfect for a pleasant stay in one of Paris' best neighborhoods. L'Amélie Hotel offers different kinds of rooms : twin beds, double beds, and single bed. Each of our rooms have been decorated and customized differently so that each stay with us can be a whole new experience. We consider tasteful details as essential! From the breakfast room to the bedrooms, the walls are covered in art and poetry so that each part of the hotel tells a story. Paris is wonderful, and we believe that so should be your experience here. Our multilingual staff will always happily guide you so that your stay in Paris goes as best as possible in this dynamic neighborhood full of small restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. A buffet breakfast is served every day 7:00 to 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Amelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing