We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 4 star hotel”
Review of Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Royale
Ranked #368 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We cannot imagine how this hotel received it's 4 star rating. It is grossly over-priced for the level of comfort and service supplied. Upon arrival you receive no assistance, gain access via a buzzer system, check in and balance your own luggage in the tiny lift. The reception staff are obviously untrained and have no idea how to supply the standard of service expected from a 4 star rating, The rooms are tiny and a little shabby, lamps have half the decoration missing, showers don't work (although the bathrooms are generally relatively good), the air conditioning in our room did not work very well, the portable television sets do have BBC world news - which is ok if it works but guess what? When we called reception the young man sounded as if it was a great bother to him that we were asking about it. He said that the hotel "Did not have BBC World" I replied that it did - as I had watched it for a while in the room of a friend! He then retorted that he "Did not know as he didn't watch TV in the rooms"!! Hardly a helpful response. The small lift is temperamental and upon our departure at 6.45 am, was not functioning, resulting in us hauling our own luggage down from the 5th floor. The surrounding area is very lively and entertaining but the immediate proximity of the 'Folies Pigalle' next door to this hotel does mean that you have to be prepared for a great deal of noise at night. If this hotel had been promoted honestly and charged accordingly at 2/3 star it would have been acceptable - surely the star-rating system and the resulting consequence that the hotel can charge higher room rates accordingly, is in place so that the unwary traveller may know approximately what to expect? We paid dearly for a sub-standard hotel and of course we are upset and angry. We are contacting the French tourism board who award the stars in the hope that they will look again at Villa Royale and reduce the rating to an honest level.

  • Liked — Close proximity of metro station
  • Disliked — lack of expected comfort
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairtrade19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay at Hotel Villa Royale.

However, we are saddened to read that it did not live up to your expectations.
We are sorry for the different troubles that occurred during your stay - your remarks will help us improve service for future guests.

The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    278
    94
    49
    35
See reviews for
44
461
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed four nights at the Villa Royale. The day we arrived we were shown to our room and I have seen postage stamps bigger than this room. Ok an exageration but it was very very small!! We went with friends, their room was slightly bigger. We decided not to say anything immediately and just live with it. When we went to bed that night we realised that the hotel is next door to an all night discotheque and the noise, all night, was dreadful. People shouting, screaming ,car horns going off and at about 4.30am a thump thump noise when the music must change or their ventilation must kick in.
The hotel is a 'boutique' hotel which seemed to allow them to furnish the rooms in deep red with flock wallpaper and lampshades studded with glass beads, not to my taste but maybe some people like it.
The 'sky' television is BBC world and thats it!
After the first night we complained and were moved to a bigger room four floors further up. No improvement in the noise but at least it was a bigger room. The bed was big and comfortable and the sheets were changed each day.
This hotel is grossly overpriced, we did not bother with the breakfast at 18 euros per head.
The area is indeed a red light district but very well placed for seeing the sights.
On the last morning we left early and the lift broke - five floors to bring the cases down! the night manager did help us but how on earth this hotel got 4 stars is beyond me. The hotel inspector must have walked about with his eyes shut and ear plugs in.
I most definately would not stay here again but it has gone down in the book of experiences!

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — most of it
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Englishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 14 April 2016
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at Hotel Villa Royale.

We’re sorry to read that our establishment did not meet your expectations. However, your comment will allow us to improve service quality for future guests.

We hope to welcome you again at Villa Royale in order to make you have a perfect stay with us.

The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saintes, France
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

More a romantic stay hotel than the business trip I was on. Good for the price & great view of the Place Pigalle & Sacrce Cour. Despite a busy road outside not noisey. Amazing decor, my lady colleague said she'd certainly be back for a weekend with her significant other. Not an area for kids though as the hotel is surounded by sex shops and the like.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank digbyl177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 24 April 2016
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Villa Royale. Pigalle is a lively and young area but it is completely safe.

We are looking forward to have you again!

Best regards,

The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We had a great time in Paris, walked everywhere and this was a very good hotel to be located. The best thing was fantastic Air Con in the room, a welcome feeling after a long hot day walking around Paris. It is very well located next to the Metro and only 30 mins by train and metro from CDG Airport.

Top Tips
Don't worry about the area, it's very safe and a supermarket for xxx toys, clothes and dvd's was good for a giggle.
Easy to get to most attractions on Foot, Taxi or Metro about 50 min walk to the river and Louvre etc.
Give Breakfast a miss, unless it's included (ours was) It's OK but nothing to write home about.
It can be a little noisy at night (it didn't bother us) Take ear plugs if you are light sleepers
Rooms are clean and original in design

I would stay somewhere else next time, but pleased to have stayed here the once.

  • Liked — Location and ease of getting arround - Air Con in the room
  • Disliked — It was a small room. But it wasn't that much of a problem
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
Further to your comment, we would like to thank you for your kind words.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied by the service provided by our Hotel Villa Royale.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Well, the hotel was ok....there's not much more to say.

Our room was small....a bit of a squeeze to be honest, even with an overnight bag each. It was clean, but not spotless and probably could have done with some TLC in places. The bathroom likewise was ok, but again, needed some updating. We had a problem with our shower, the vanity mirror in the bathroom was broken and a bulb had blown - the staff were receptive to our problems and promised to get someone in to fix them. On our return later in the day we discovered all but the shower had been fixed. We brought this to the attention of the staff again, and they were reasonably apologetic, especially when we discovered the hotel was full. As compensation, they promised to upgrade us for our final night. Indeed they did - up to their best room....top floor, jacuzzi bath, fireplace, good views over Montmartre....although the room wasn't worth the money they expected, in my opinion, as it still suffered from a lack of TLC.

The breakfast at 18 euro seemed steep, when you consider you could walk 10 mins down towards the centre of town and pay 2.5 euro for a good coffee and freshly baked croissant.

Overall, not a bad place. I think with the strength of the euro (1.25 to the pound) and the impression that Paris is a pricey city, £100 per night wasn't hideously expensive. The staff were reasonably helpful and friendly, with a touch of aloofness. Location was good - 30 secs walk from Pigalle metro station, or about 20-25 mins walk downhill to the centre of town. Would I recommend a stay? I think I'll have to sit on the fence....

  • Liked — The decor was "interesting"
  • Disliked — Really needed some TLC
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlehippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 24 April 2016
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Villa Royale even if it was just ok. We will try our best to make our hotel better.

We are looking forward to have you again!

Best regards,

The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We had high expectations of this hotel, which were unfortunately not met!! The staff were very unfriendly and did as if it were a great nuisance that you were there. The rooms look like those on the pics... bohemian themed. We had a deluxe room with jaquzzi, but it wasnt so deluxe... the jaquzzi was full of lime scale and even had red nail polish marks all over it. There were light bulbs missing and generally the place was dirty. We wanted a romantic weekend and got a dirty porn set. We will definately visit Paris again... BUT DEFINATELY NOT THIS HOTEL!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank XxMr_and_Mrs_Hxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay at Hotel Villa Royale.
However, we are saddened to read that it did not live up to your expectations.
We are sorry for the different troubles that occurred during your stay - your remarks will help us to improve our service for future guests.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Stayed here for a long weekent in autumn '07. The decor is fabulous, I left the place determined to turn my own bedroom into a french boudoir- sadly hasn't happened. Yes the staff certainly dont go out of their way to make you feel appreciated but I wouldn't go as far to call them arrogant, they show the same level of service as pretty much every other waiter or shop assistant in Paris - the tourist board say unpleasant staff are part of the Parisian 'charm'!

The Rooms were a bit tight but they make up for it with charm. We didnt try the breakfast because it was expensive and there are plenty of boulangeries around that have gorgeous bread and pastries. The lift was also out of order when we arrived, which ment a rather long way to carry our luggage - supprisingly the receptionist didnt offer to help - but it was fixed relatively quickly.

It is a bit out of the way if you're there mainly to see the louvre and eiffel tower but if you intend to visit alot of the city it doesn't really matter because there is a metro station across the road (by far the easiest and cheapest way to get around, in my experience) .
There are a lot of sex shops and strip clubs around, but it doesnt really seem seedy or unsafe, probably just because its paris. The erotic museum down the road is certainly worth a visit for a giggle.

  • Liked — decor, location
  • Disliked — small rooms, difficult staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank funeral_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied by the service provided by our Hotel Villa Royale.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Mercure Paris Pigalle Sacre-Coeur
Opera / Bourse
Timhotel Opera Blanche Fontaine
Gobelins
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Villa Lutece Port Royal
#937 of 1,801 in Paris
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#367 of 1,801 in Paris
727 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Grand Pigalle Hotel
Grand Pigalle Hotel
#247 of 1,801 in Paris
234 reviews
Platine Hotel
#263 of 1,801 in Paris
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale

Property: Villa Royale
Address: 2 rue Duperre, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#236 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#633 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Royale surrounds one of the most legendary squares in Paris, Place Pigalle, the heart and soul of a district that’s both touristy and trendy. Because of the shape of the building, most of the rooms have a view on Montmartre and Sacré-Coeur.In their time, Toulouse-Lautrec and Picasso frequented the establishment. The décor takes its inspiration from the world of the theatre. Details are numerous and the rococo style is clearly evident. Deep reds, tassels and tufted velvets are omnipresent, as is the decorative gilding, which even surrounds the plasma TV screens.In the Suites, a fireplace adds to the cosy atmosphere and a whirlpool bath invites guests to let laziness take over. Another option: fall asleep below the star-studded ceiling of the de la “Michou” room, blue, of course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Paris
Royale Hotel Paris
Villa Royale Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing