We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for Central Paris hotel!”
Review of Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Royale
Ranked #427 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for Central Paris hotel!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, as I said in the title, great value, the only downsides were that the staff didn't offer to help us with our HUGE bag when the lift was broken and the breakfast was far too expensive (€15 each!)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy123542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you did not feel helped for your luggage when the lift broke down. Although we do not have a porter and our reception staff does their best and put the luggage themselves in the luggage-room one floor up from the reception.

Also as there is one employee at the reception per shift and as they need to be most of the time close to the main locked door of the hotel to release it for our guests who want to come in, we cannot allow them to be absent too long from the reception.

We hope that you would accept our apologies and understand us. Our breakfast rate may seem expensive but compared with breakfast rate of the other 4* hotels of the area, our is cheaper. We thank again for your great review title.

Regards,

Kamel Dani - Manager of the Villa Royale ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    250
    89
    46
    35
See reviews for
31
420
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend. Hotel its self is lovely, rooms are clean. Our room looked onto the front square which has a nightclub directly below. With the windows closed you hear very little but we had to open them due to the heat of the room so we could hear all the outside traffic and commotion. I wouldn't feel safe walking about this area myself but two streets away you are back in beautiful paris.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime_jenson04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jaime,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you mentioned the hotel is nice lovely (and clean) even though you felt disturbed by the outside noise. It is true that we are located in a young and lively area. This is the reason why our windows are double-glazed and our doors are noise-proof. But according to most of our guests, our hotel is well-located at 8 minutes from the Champs Elysées, 4 from Opera area or Gare du Nord. And the metro station is just at the feet of the hotel.

About the heat, our heating/air-conditioning system is centralized and is still on the heating because it was often raining in Paris these last days, the outside temperature was not stable. We advised our guests who were warm to switch off the thermostat in the rooms and in the bathrooms. Also we put a fan in the rooms on request.

Fortunately, you appreciated your stay because you said that you walked in the beautiful Paris anyway. Be sure that it will a pleasure for us to welcome you again for your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Kamel Dani - Manager of the Villa Royale ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Room was a good size for just a bed and the bathroom was about half the size of the room - pretty big. Decor was charming though a bit on the dingy side. There was a wardrobe with an electronic safe that was useful. We also had a view with a small balcony. We didn't open it, but it looks like some people may have by the evidence of cigarette butts in the flower pots.

The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. There was free WiFi available, though it was almost useless as many .com sites were blocked after the first day we arrived. Breakfast was sufficient with a fair selection of foods available. We always had to ring a bell to get into the front door. Make sure that you press the doorbell hard enough. I had some trouble with thinking I pressed it when I really didn't.

The best part of the hotel is its location. Yes, it is in the red light district and it is always good advice to be wary of your surroundings anywhere you go, especially to a foreign country. My wife and I had no issues with the neighborhood. On our walk to Sacre Coeur, we came across two bakeries that wifey had checked out on the internet. Le Grenier à Pain and Coquelicot have the best jambon beurre and cravate (chocolate tie!) respectively.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBiggs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Customers,

We would like to thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you appreciated the decor, the staff, the breakfast and the location.

Regarding the cigarette butts, we agree with you it should be moved from the flower pots every day, we have told the housekeeping manager about this notice immediately.

We are sorry about the trouble you had with the doorbell. Actually if you cannot hear the sound from the outside it means we cannot hear it either from the inside. Therefore if there is no sound we cannot know there is someone waiting at the door for us to release it.

Aware of this, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Kamel Dani - Villa Royale ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Paris and chose this hotel because i wanted us to experience something different from the standard clinical look of you holiday and premier inns!

we were not disappointed. The hotel interior is lovely - lots of pinks and reds and velvet - very sexy hotel! - we had the George Sands room which was lovely - nice comfy bed - great jacuzzi - lovely view of the square below

I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and polite - it was a pleasure staying here - we will most definitely return

i must add that before i left i read the reviews below and got very scared that i had picked the wrong hotel!- however - i did not experience any rude staff and did not leave feeling the hotel needed a make over - everything was perfect in my mind - i encourage you to check it out - especially exciting for couple who want a romantic weekend - this is the place!

and do not worry that this hotel is in the red light district - just a few sex shops around - but nothing seedy or distasteful at all

this is the perfect place for a base if you are sightseeing around Paris - the metro is on the doorstep literally and you can walk to sacre coeur and see beautiful Montmartre very easily -

highly recommended !

Room Tip: when you get there - if you have chosen a standard room - ask for if there is any possibility of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review about your recent stay at Villa Royale.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our “lovely” property and our “helpful” staff, indeed, your satisfaction is our best reward!

We look forward to welcome you back again in our beautiful City Of Lights.

Sincerely,

Villa Royale ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I recently Stayed here for 4 nights. Fabulous quirky little hotel!... We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Van Gogh suite which is a standard room but we found it to be a nice size for 2 people it was very plush and comfortable in our opinion beautifully decorated! The bathroom was also great nice bath and a powerful hot shower!..The hotel itself is in pigalle which is in the red light district of paris but we were not put off in any way,as there are lots of other normal bars and restaurants & cafés nearby a good area with lots of variety and plenty of life!....we went to the moulin rouge on our very last night-it was fantastic!..a must to do as your in the area!.,, and it's also a short walk to the beautiful sacre coeur in montmatre which also has plenty more bars restaurants etc. The metro is also on your doorstep to discover the rest of paris easily!,,Overall very happy with our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to book villa royale again should we return to paris!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for this great review about your recent stay at Villa Royale.

We are glad to read that you have been satisfied and you’ll choose again our hotel for your next trip to Paris! Indeed, your satisfaction is exactly what we are looking for!

Sincerely,

Villa Royale ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formello
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is situated in the Pigalle district with the Metro station right under the hotel.
Effiel tower about 15 minutes (2 metro).
Very fancy with the old style design still maintained. Rooms small but OK.
Staff is very polite.
Breakfast didn't have a lot of choice but anyway enough.
Even if for a fast buisness trip I would really propose this hotel, specially for couples!!!
Price reasonable.

Room Tip: Some rooms have Jacuzzi !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointdexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving a review about your last stay at Villa Royale.

We are pleased to read that you loved the “ old style design ” and the good location of our property.

As you said, the Villa Royale is the perfect solution for couples looking for a romantic stay in our beautiful city! However, our hotel is also appreciated by businessmen for its good value and quiet rooms.

We look forward to welcome you again for your next stay in Paris.

Sincerely,

Villa Royale ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was looking through affordable hotels offered in Eurostar packages from London, wanting to find somewhere with a bit of character, and was intrigued to come upon this one. It lived up to expectation, and our Eurostar package made the price very reasonable. Our standard room had walls covered in crimson silk, drapery over the bedhead and a marble bathroom with antique-like washstand - generally a lot of oomph! A feeling of luxury with a touch of frivolity...Nothing about the decor is bland, dull or anonymous. The room was a perfectly good size for two, it had two chairs, a desk, matching antique quirky bedside tables and a good-sized wardrobe with plenty of hangers. Our room looked out over Place Pigalle - though there is plenty of night life in the area, the hotel is peaceful, clean, well-run. Reception staff were cheerful and helpful. We paid an extra 15 Euro each per day for the convenience of a buffet breakfast on site. We did not use room service. The hotel is only a minute from the Metro Pigalle and there are plenty of recommended restaurants in the area, which is just at the foot of the hill to Montmartre and on a metro line which gets right into the centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Anna,

Many thanks for your review and for choosing Villa Royale for your stay in Paris.

We are glad to learn that you have been satisfied and that you loved your room and our great location.

We hope to welcome you again in our property for your next stay in our beautiful city ! Do not hesitate to book through our website in order to get the best rates !

Sincerely,

Villa Royale ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Mercure Paris Pigalle Sacre-Coeur
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#622 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Gobelins
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Villa Lutece Port Royal
#1,299 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kube Hotel
#864 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Villa Opera Drouot
Villa Opera Drouot
#335 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Timhotel Opera Blanche Fontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale

Property: Villa Royale
Address: 2 rue Duperre, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#261 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#633 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Royale surrounds one of the most legendary squares in Paris, Place Pigalle, the heart and soul of a district that’s both touristy and trendy. Because of the shape of the building, most of the rooms have a view on Montmartre and Sacré-Coeur.In their time, Toulouse-Lautrec and Picasso frequented the establishment. The décor takes its inspiration from the world of the theatre. Details are numerous and the rococo style is clearly evident. Deep reds, tassels and tufted velvets are omnipresent, as is the decorative gilding, which even surrounds the plasma TV screens.In the Suites, a fireplace adds to the cosy atmosphere and a whirlpool bath invites guests to let laziness take over. Another option: fall asleep below the star-studded ceiling of the de la “Michou” room, blue, of course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Paris
Royale Hotel Paris
Villa Royale Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing