We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and in need of some work”
Review of Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Royale
Ranked #345 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights mid July, when I made the booking I sent an email to the hotel however even now I still have not had a reply! The hotel is well located next to the metro however the hotel looks run down and there is a damp, musty smell in reception. The room was quite small with no mirror at the dressing table and marks and stains on the floor and walls. Curtains were damaged and bathroom dated. No jacuzzi bath, just a shower over the bath. Car park was quite a walk from the hotel and very expensive - had to walk up several streets with bags. In need of a serious refurb!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsDeParis, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Helen,

We thank for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. You had probably made your reservation with one of our partners and may had left an email in their mailbox, in that case your request won’t be automatically transferred by them to us.

Concerning the smell, it is true that at the moment of your stay, we had a plumbing problem in 3 rooms, we did our best to fix it. We are really sorry that you have been affected by this smell.

You were not provided a Jacuzzi bath as you had made a reservation for a classic room which has a classic bath.

Regarding the renovation works, we were waiting for the hotel to be on low season low occupation (August) to start them.

We will be pleased to welcome you next time when our house will be refreshed.

Sincerely,

Kamel Dani - Manager of the Villa Royale ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel was a real surprise. Our room, the "Jean-Paul Gauthier" room, was a good size and being on the corner it had windows on two sides. It was very ornate and had a great view of the Pigalle Square below and Sacre-Cour in the distance. The bathroom was bright, clean and larger than most we had in the UK. The beds were clean and comfortable. We had no problem with street noise. The Metro stop was in the square right outside so travel was no problem. This was an all around good deal.

Room Tip: We had a second story room called the "Jean-Paul Gauthier". It is located on the corner of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
Further to your comment, we would like to thank you for your kind words.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied by the service provided by our Hotel Villa Royale.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
The Villa Royale Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just stayed for two nights on this lovely quirky hotel. Fab styling to the rooms made appropriate for the stay in the moulin rouge area.

Good quality beds and very clean room. Staff lovely. Great location close to the metro and bars restaurants etc. Street noise was no more than to be expected in a city.

Breakfast let it down tho with predictable cool tea and rubbery scrambled eggs. A bit of effort here would make it a must for a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 574Ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate that you loved the hotel, the quality of bed and the cleanliness.

As you said, the metro station is located just at the feet of the hotel, a very easy access to all main spots of Paris. Also our staff is very thankful for your kind comment about them.

We promise to make an effort about the cooking of eggs if you would like to come back again.

Yours sincerely,

Kamel Dani - Manager of the Villa Royale ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A really nice hotel situated in the heart of Montematre. The decor is wonderfully decadent and the rooms smallish but cosy and atmospheric - the bathroom was a good size and the jacuzzi bath a great relief afetr walking round Paris all day. We had a second floor room facing the main road but there was very little noise.
The are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby and the Moulin Rouge is about a 5 minute walk away - if you go up the side street next to the Moulin there are loads more cafes and shops and its like entering a different world.
The hotel is also right oposite the Pigalle metro station which againn is ideal. Probably not the best hotel if you have young children or are easily offended as there a quite a few sex shops around this part but its not at all seedy and seemed perfectly safe -its all adds to the great atmosphere.
The only thing I would mark the hotel down for was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities but this is minor compared to all the pluses.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome - we would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for leaving such a good review about the decor, the proximity to all amenities.

We are happy that you liked the atmosphere and that you could really relief yourself. We use to welcoming guests having young children, actually at the first sight it may be surprising that a 4 stars hotel is located two streets from a few sex shops but once they see the inside of the hotel and walk around, the opinions change quickly.

Also as you said the staff friendliness makes them feel safe and welcome. It is true that rooms are not furnished with kettle because we are used to providing a flask of hot water upon request, next time do not hesitate to ask our staff who will kindly bring it up to your room.

Yours sincerely,

Kamel Dani - Manager of the Villa Royale ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, as I said in the title, great value, the only downsides were that the staff didn't offer to help us with our HUGE bag when the lift was broken and the breakfast was far too expensive (€15 each!)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy123542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you did not feel helped for your luggage when the lift broke down. Although we do not have a porter and our reception staff does their best and put the luggage themselves in the luggage-room one floor up from the reception.

Also as there is one employee at the reception per shift and as they need to be most of the time close to the main locked door of the hotel to release it for our guests who want to come in, we cannot allow them to be absent too long from the reception.

We hope that you would accept our apologies and understand us. Our breakfast rate may seem expensive but compared with breakfast rate of the other 4* hotels of the area, our is cheaper. We thank again for your great review title.

Regards,

Kamel Dani - Manager of the Villa Royale ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend. Hotel its self is lovely, rooms are clean. Our room looked onto the front square which has a nightclub directly below. With the windows closed you hear very little but we had to open them due to the heat of the room so we could hear all the outside traffic and commotion. I wouldn't feel safe walking about this area myself but two streets away you are back in beautiful paris.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime_jenson04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Jaime,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you mentioned the hotel is nice lovely (and clean) even though you felt disturbed by the outside noise. It is true that we are located in a young and lively area. This is the reason why our windows are double-glazed and our doors are noise-proof. But according to most of our guests, our hotel is well-located at 8 minutes from the Champs Elysées, 4 from Opera area or Gare du Nord. And the metro station is just at the feet of the hotel.

About the heat, our heating/air-conditioning system is centralized and is still on the heating because it was often raining in Paris these last days, the outside temperature was not stable. We advised our guests who were warm to switch off the thermostat in the rooms and in the bathrooms. Also we put a fan in the rooms on request.

Fortunately, you appreciated your stay because you said that you walked in the beautiful Paris anyway. Be sure that it will a pleasure for us to welcome you again for your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Kamel Dani - Manager of the Villa Royale ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Room was a good size for just a bed and the bathroom was about half the size of the room - pretty big. Decor was charming though a bit on the dingy side. There was a wardrobe with an electronic safe that was useful. We also had a view with a small balcony. We didn't open it, but it looks like some people may have by the evidence of cigarette butts in the flower pots.

The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. There was free WiFi available, though it was almost useless as many .com sites were blocked after the first day we arrived. Breakfast was sufficient with a fair selection of foods available. We always had to ring a bell to get into the front door. Make sure that you press the doorbell hard enough. I had some trouble with thinking I pressed it when I really didn't.

The best part of the hotel is its location. Yes, it is in the red light district and it is always good advice to be wary of your surroundings anywhere you go, especially to a foreign country. My wife and I had no issues with the neighborhood. On our walk to Sacre Coeur, we came across two bakeries that wifey had checked out on the internet. Le Grenier à Pain and Coquelicot have the best jambon beurre and cravate (chocolate tie!) respectively.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBiggs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Customers,

We would like to thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you appreciated the decor, the staff, the breakfast and the location.

Regarding the cigarette butts, we agree with you it should be moved from the flower pots every day, we have told the housekeeping manager about this notice immediately.

We are sorry about the trouble you had with the doorbell. Actually if you cannot hear the sound from the outside it means we cannot hear it either from the inside. Therefore if there is no sound we cannot know there is someone waiting at the door for us to release it.

Aware of this, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Kamel Dani - Villa Royale ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#396 of 1,804 in Paris
794 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#319 of 1,804 in Paris
685 reviews
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#406 of 1,804 in Paris
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel R. Kipling by HappyCulture
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Kleber Champs-Elysees Tour Eiffel Paris
Opera / Bourse
Villa Opera Drouot
Villa Opera Drouot
#272 of 1,804 in Paris
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale

Address: 2 rue Duperre, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#632 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £93 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Royale surrounds one of the most legendary squares in Paris, Place Pigalle, the heart and soul of a district that’s both touristy and trendy. Because of the shape of the building, most of the rooms have a view on Montmartre and Sacré-Coeur.In their time, Toulouse-Lautrec and Picasso frequented the establishment. The décor takes its inspiration from the world of the theatre. Details are numerous and the rococo style is clearly evident. Deep reds, tassels and tufted velvets are omnipresent, as is the decorative gilding, which even surrounds the plasma TV screens.In the Suites, a fireplace adds to the cosy atmosphere and a whirlpool bath invites guests to let laziness take over. Another option: fall asleep below the star-studded ceiling of the de la “Michou” room, blue, of course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Paris
Royale Hotel Paris
Villa Royale Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing