We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Lovely hotel but shame about the breakfast and room service for the price!”
Review of Le Derby Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Derby Alma
Ranked #74 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location! Lovely hotel but shame about the breakfast and room service for the price!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just got back from our trip in Paris received a warm welcome from reception and the room was just like the pictures, it was also clean and tidy. As it was our first time in paris we had to find our bearings so we were very surprised to find the Eiffel Tower just around the corner of the hotel. We decided to have breakfast at the hotel as we knew we had a lot of walking to do that day. We had been told that breakfast was 17€ each per day so we were expecting a lot for our money, but unfortunately we were underwhelmed with it! Reason being the choice was limited and some of the food had all gone, but on the plus side the quality of the available food was very good. We had stayed in a 5* hotel in the Centre of Rome and had so much more choice for a fraction of the price. Overall perfect location (river seine is a short walk away as is the Eiffel Tower) great standard room and would definitely stay here when we go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidipieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vainney L, Directeur général at Le Derby Alma, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Heidipieeee,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Le Derby Alma.

We make sure that our standards in terms of cleanliness are respected every day.

It seems that our breakfast offer did not gave you full satisfaction, we are working on the improvement of our breakfast by diversifying the choice.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Olivier ROMAIN
Responsable d'exploitation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    167
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
179
338
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have been in Paris for the first time during New Year 2014. I have to say the hotel made every effort to make my stay as comfortable as possible. We arrived Dec 31, 2013 before their policy time for check-in. The concierge managed to find a room at that point. The room was wonderful. It is not big but really cozy. And guess what..?We got an Eiffel tower view from our French Balcony, with was pretty big. I love love love it. Especially for New Year time. The bed was comfortable. Very quiet and nice hood. Location is terrific. We could not ask for more. So close to everything that we will want to see as a tourist. I will advice all my friends to stay here and I will definitely come back. Btw I can give you little tip. Check Derby Alma Cafe across the street. It is not so cheap but with brilliant service and delicious food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vainney L, Directeur général at Le Derby Alma, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Irina Z,

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment on your recent visit to the Derby Alma.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the room and the hotel.

We are very attentive to every customer demand, it is essential for us and it is always a pleasure to make you feel comfortable during your stay.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you very soon in 2014.

Kindest Regards,

Olivier ROMAIN
Responsable d'Exploitation / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed one night, so don't rely on this review alone!
Think premier inn room but smaller, in fashionable muted colours + minibar. Snazzy reception & bar areas, but we saw no more, breakfast being far too expensive when there was a good cafe round the corner. Perfectly good bed for the night, comfortable, quiet and clean & just over 5 mins walk to the Eiffel Tower

Nothing wrong with it, but nothing to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vainney L, Directeur général at Le Derby Alma, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Robert A,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about our place on Tripadvisor.

For your next stay at Le Derby Alma we invite you to enjoy our breakfast to go : a hot drink, a fruit, a pastry and a juice for 10 € !

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Olivier ROMAIN
Responsable d'Exploitation / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at Le Derby alma in September 2013 for our honeymoon for one week. The location was great because it was a walk to the Eiffel Tower, lots of good restaurants and also a short walk to both the metro and RER stations. Down the next block was a really yummy French bakery which we ate at everyday for breakfast! The room was pretty average. Size was small which is normal for paris but the bugs on the curtains did creep me out a little bit. The bathroom was small and clean but it flooded every time you showered because the screen was only about 30cm wide and all the water would just go all over place which meant hotel towels were just used to mop up the floor. Service was pretty average as well with the front desk lady not smiling much and just doing the bare minimum when we checked in. Overall an ok stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiLambb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vainney L, Directeur général at Le Derby Alma, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear LiLambb,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay with us at Le Derby Alma on TripAdvisor!

Thank you also because your constructive feedback will help us to improve our customer service.

We did have a little problem during few days September due to the bugs from the trees next to the hotel, we can assure you that we have taken the necessary measures and that the problem is definitely solved.

For the next stay for more space, and a complimentary minibar, we would like to recommand one of our Executive (18-20m2) or Suite Rooms (28-30m2)...

Best regards from Paris to Australia!

Olivier ROMAIN
Responsable d'exploitation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I really wanted a hotel within walking distance of most sights and the Alma, although small, fitted the bill. Room was good and at the front. No breakfast but there is a coffee maker in the room, as well as a frigobar, and a pastry shop across the road that is open early in the morning. Apparently you can order breakfast but we didnt bother.
Lots of restaurants nearby. 7 arrond. short walk to Eiffel tower and Alma Bridge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armacao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My stay at Derby Alma Best Western hotel was incredibly good. At the moment I arrived there, I was fully amazed by the short distance walking to the Eiffel Tower. Within three minutes you'd be standing by the Tower, so it had a great location compared to other hotels. The room my family and I stayed in was comfortable and spacious: there were two separate ambiances in the same room, so the couple would have some privacy simply by shutting the door. The breakfast was excellent as well, with a variety of options and quality. Attentive staff, free internet connection and great location: all that combined into a memorable trip to Paris. I do recommend the place and I intend to go back there whenever possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfzmoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My group was composed of 4 couples who travel together every few years so this was a convenient and quiet small hotel where we could meet in the lobby for a glass of wine before dinner or afterwards. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and immaculate with modern bathrooms. The location near the Seine is perfect as you can walk to the Eiffel Tower area with many cafes, restaurants and bars; also, Rue Cler is about 10 minutes away. The staff members were very helpful for making reservations, calling cabs if needed, or general information.

Room Tip: Important to me to have a superior room which is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moviegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vainney L, Directeur général at Le Derby Alma, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Le Derby Alma.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed staying at our property and that you found it convenient and quiet. Our lobby and bar is actually a very nice place to meet before going out on a trip or for dinner as you can sit here and enjoy a drink with friends or family.

We only reopened a year ago after a full refurbishing so I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the new looks of the room and the Hotel.

Concerning its location, it has the benefit of being close to main tourist attractions like the Eiffel Tower, Champs-Elysées or Champ de Mars ans still being in the heart of a residential area with typical Parisian cafés, restaurants and brasseries.

I will share your very nice comment with the staff about their helpfulness and efficiency.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you another time to Le Derby Alma when you come again to Paris with your group of friends.

Romain DE LACHEZE MUREL
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#125 of 1,802 in Paris
568 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#30 of 1,802 in Paris
1,420 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#61 of 1,802 in Paris
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#52 of 1,802 in Paris
780 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#97 of 1,802 in Paris
551 reviews
Hotel Le Marquis
#90 of 1,802 in Paris
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Derby Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Derby Alma

Property: Le Derby Alma
Address: 8 Avenue Rapp, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Paris
#55 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#59 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#230 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Derby Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Le Derby Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derby Alma Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing