We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to the station we arrived from and were leaving from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hotel Gare du Nord
Ranked #1,221 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 25 September 2013

When we stepped off the Eurostar into Paris, there was our hotel almost in front of us. What a welcome feeling that is! Hotel reception was perhaps a little dodgy, and this was not helped when we found we had a room for 2 nights on the 4th floor and the lift was out of action. Our big bag was carried to our room. Reception staff helped us find the restaurant we were looking for, and booked a tour to Monet's Garden which we wanted to see. We were picked up at the hotel and delivered back there. We had an extra large room, and were lucky I think. The hotel was quiet, assisted by the little vestibule area in the room, you cd close off. There was a safe and an ok bathroom. The shower was over the bath, and I prefer a shower cubicle. At the Gare du Nord, the hotel was close to great restaurants, and a short walk to Montmartre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a double and single bed. We paid the same price for that as we would have for j...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poodlejosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for New Hotel Gare du Nord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

This Hotel is OK if you are not bothered to much and just need a bed I did not have breakfast as it was cheaper to go out. As I was on my own I had the usual rip-off single costs which made it expensive, looking around I found hotels a lot cheaper and better

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mickclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I would recommend this hotel only if you need a place to crash in Paris. The location is perfect for Gare du Nord station if you travel by Eurostar or try to catch RER B for the CDG airport. I don't recommend this for longer stay in Paris. The location is not nice, especially in the late evening.

I have stayed in Gare du Nord area several times and tried the other hotel. I think so far this hotel offers good value for the money. The room is in good condition, small but that's Paris hotel room. The bathroom looks new and very clean. Didn't try the breakfast because there are many better cafes outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is located just bang opposite Gare du Nord and a stone throw away from Gare du Nord Metro station. I would recommend taking the metro to all the various sites. The lines 1, RER B and D cover almost all the sites and buildings. The hotel has air conditioning, which was a blessing in disguise. The toilets are clean, hot water all the time and at a great price. This hotel is not for those who like to stay in a 3 or 5 star hotel property. This hotel is more those kind of tourists who prefer to spend time seeing the city and do not want to spend a lot of money on hotel but would prefer a decent and safe hotel. There are numerous cafes around the corner of the hotel with great terraces, so we did not have breakfast at the hotel

Room Tip: Go for rooms above 4th floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Right across from the train station. Very friendly staff, breakfast in the basement was nice and the tourist open top bus, hop on and hop off, was across the street too! Plenty of places to eat, real American-style air conditioning! Nice size rooms, private bathroom was very modern. I have a bad back and the beds were a little hard. ** If travelling with someone with physical limitations** to get to the elevator you have to go up and down a few stairs. Very old building with character! Overall would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gpcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Excellent location, we were leaving for Amsterdam from Gare du Nord so chose the hotel for its location. We had a room on the 5th floor with a small balcony looking out at the station. It was very busy on the street below but that made it interesting. The rooms are small but clean and serviced each day. The bathroom was small with an excellent shower. Good internet. Reception staff, day and night were excellent, very helpful. Breakfast was very good and very reasonably priced. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busy_Girl_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the New Hotel Gare du Nord after arriving on a late Eurostar train from London following about 24 hours of flying and layovers en route from Seattle to Paris. In most circumstances, simply having a flat surface to lie on would have earned five stars if I'd written this review that night. A couple of weeks later, and it falls to a more reasonable two-to-three stars. The staff were nice, although I'll admit to not being used to being asked to surrender my key to leave the building.

The downsides, first: the lift was a classic, old, rickety, tiny lift...but still pretty important for our 6th floor room. The room itself was pretty spartan and very small, and the shower was of comical size with a semi-broken bracket for the faucet handle. The location is a blessing and a curse, as it was literally about a three minute walk (through various hustlers and prostitutes and whatnot) from Gare du Nord. The breakfast was perfectly adequate, and made much more interesting by the medieval basement location. The bed was...flat.

On the upside: our room was on the top floor, with a garret window that looked out on Gare du Nord and Montmartre. The views also provided extra entertainment, in that the hotel across the street appeared to be occupied by a number of guests for whom shyness was not a virtue. It's hard to stay focused on the views of the neighborhood when people are having sex twenty meters across the way right in front of the window. But I digress...

The room was very clean and safe. Breakfast was of good if very homey quality, with lots of fresh-tasting pastries, boiled eggs, coffee, salami, etc. The price was great. The free wifi was reliable and, while a bit slow, a nice touch. We were the only guests we met who spoke English as a first language.

If you stay here, know that it's a rougher neighborhood than the more touristy parts of Paris. Lots of hotels, mainly occupied by French folks transiting through Gare du Nord or basing themselves near the train station to save money over the swank downtown hotels. We definitely felt a bit more hassled from the local version of the globally ubiquitous hawkers/schemers/etc., but it never felt dangerous or threatening. Not a bad option for a night, but with the size and location issues I wouldn't have wanted to stay a week there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor with a view of Gare du Nord. The view made up for almost all of the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davenpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,453 of 1,804 in Paris
225 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
#1,571 of 1,804 in Paris
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#795 of 1,804 in Paris
761 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#415 of 1,804 in Paris
722 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Whistler
Hotel Whistler
#346 of 1,804 in Paris
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Gare du Nord

Address: 40 rue de Saint Quentin, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,221 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £74 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Hotel Gare du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your New Hotel Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing