We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its location saves it from extinction.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hotel Gare du Nord
Ranked #1,288 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Its location saves it from extinction.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We came in from Hilton Innsbruck and didn't expect such a letdown considering we paid a higher rate for this place than in Austria. Staff was good. Wifi available.The elevator stopped in between stairs and we had to haul our luggage up the steps to the next landing. The room is old but clean. The bathroom adequate but had no shower curtain. Shampoo in sachets and tiny soap bars. The bed was covered with blankets reminiscent of prewar years and some rolled up elevations for pillows. I had to use my travel pillow to prop up my head to sleep. No mineral water. No coffee tea facilities. Heater not working well at night. Had to wear thermal to sleep. View of Gare du Nord station beautiful but it comes with traffic noise n siren. Quite an experience to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLkkkhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    111
    115
    37
    48
See reviews for
81
133
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you visit Paris by Eurostar I recommend staying at this hotel. It is right across the street from the station. The are numerous restaurants within a few feet of the hotel, the Metro is adjacent, and taxis are abundant.

The hotel is nothing fancy, no big lobby or entrance, but the room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The room was small but adequate for a short stay, the bathroom was nearly as big as the room. The breakfast in the cellar was OK, but if I went again I would go to one of the nearby eating places or eat in the station.

And, for Paris, the price is right.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor, as long as the elevator is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Best hotel to be in Pairs which is just across the street of Gare Du Nord Train Station. Staff was very help full and also allowed to do early check in. Rooms were clean though it was very tiny than expected. Beware of locks of bathroom as you might get struck.
For Indian food lovers plenty of restaurants which can offer you very delicious food. Hotel is very near to supermarket in case if you need. I would highly recommend for this for budget travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kavyasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My partner and I recently travelled to Paris where we were stating a European tour, we were looking for somewhere to stay near the Gare du Nord railway station as we had a lot of luggage for our one month away, and were travelling on the following day by train.

The New Hotel seemed to tick all the boxes, it's location seemed ideal and it was a reasonable price so, despite mixed reviews, we went for it.

We arrived mid morning after a long journey from Bangkok, via KL, too early for normal check in but we intended to leave our bags there and explore the city, however the very friendly guy on reception managed to find us a room so we were able to shower have a short sleep before heading out.

The design of the hotel means that the lift is a tad awkward, it drops you off half way up a spiral staircase and you have to lug your bags the rest of the way, no big deal though, we were just grateful that previous owners of the hotel had the foresight to install a lift.

The rooms are not particularly big, but were certainly adequate for our one night stopover, the bed, though not particularly big, was comfortable and the bathroom was good with an excellent shower.

We enjoyed a breakfast downstairs the following morning, a pretty good selection and reasonably priced, before crossing the road to catch the Eurostar to London.

We returned to the hotel a month later at the end of our trip, and this time got a slightly bigger room with a view of the station, again a decent room and an ideal location for connecting for onward travel and sight seeing.

The hotel is a budget hotel and doesn't claim to be anything else, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is ideal for onward connections and travel in Paris, there is a subway to the Metro almost outside the front door.

The immediate location has numerous pavement cafes where you can get reasonably priced food and people watch with a glass or two of your favourite tipple.

We caught the RER train to Charles de Gaulle Airport, even with our luggage it was a seamless and painless journey, and, in our view, beats road travel.

All in all a pretty good hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuaHinGovernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a girls (well we're 50's) midweek break here and stayed 3 nights. Staff really nice and friendly. Politely encouraging at our attempts to speak French! Room small but clean and excellent bathroom. We had breakfast there first morning which was ok, but there's so much choice nearby we ate out the other two. Room 206 - 2nd floor and right opposite Gare du Nord. Amazingly quiet with balcony windows shut. Lovely to look out at all the people coming and going. Area not too scary at all but we wouldn't have wandered about in early hours of morning! Our only gripe was the lift....not working! Ok for us on 2nd floor but would have been a pain if we were on top one! Anyone who complains about this hotel is obviously expecting too much. It is a 2 star, it is clean, it is handy for station, staff are polite. We were able to store our bags behind reception on day of departure. What more can you ask for for the price we paid (package with Eurostar). And we plan to return next year. Merci to the staff of new hotel ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,492 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#825 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#414 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
#1,558 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel des Belges
Hotel des Belges
#1,503 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Gare du Nord

Property: New Hotel Gare du Nord
Address: 40 rue de Saint Quentin, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,288 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Hotel Gare du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing