We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very quiet”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #287 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very quiet”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My friend and I had a 3 night stay in this Hotel. The staff were very helpful. The room was lovely overlooking the garden and very quiet, very clean with comfy beds. The bathroom had a good shower. There was a good choice for Continental breakfast which could either be taken in the Breakfast room or outside in a lovely well tended garden. We opted for the garden which was really nice and relaxing before our busy days. It was only a short walk from many restaurants and the Metro.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden but many of them do as th hotel is built around a small courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acdtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to review the Magellanl. We greatly appreciate it and we can’t wait to see you around our lobby again very soon!

We encourage you to add us on Facebook to learn about all the great things we have going on in our city!

Many thanks,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    367
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
357
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel. Good location, 5 mins walk to the nearest metro. The room was very nice and was cleaned every day. Breakfast was lovely and we sometimes did not have lunch as we were still full. Bread and pastries were gorgeous. Staff were very nice. there are some negative points however and we feel that we would not stay there again because of these points. The room we were in had windows that opened out onto the street - which seemed lovely at first - but the street was incredibly noisy and as it was so hot when we were there we had to have the windows open as there was no air conditioning in the room. This meant that we did not have a good nights sleep. I did shut the windows one night as in the apartments over the road they were having a party and we could not get to sleep, but we were then way too hot and we ended up getting only a couple of hours sleep, luckily this was at the end of our hols. The other negative is that we were overlooked twice in the breakfast room and we were not asked if we wanted a hot drink. The hotel was quite full and the breakfast room was very busy but I believe that good service was not given on those two occasions. Overall it is a great hotel but the rooms really need air conditioning and then I would have given the hotel an excellent rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14Sheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a TripAdvisor review for us all here at Magellan hotel. We greatly appreciate all the feedback. We are sorry that your stay was disrupted by the heat. Paris knew one very hot August and know that we study very seriously the possibility of installing the air conditioning in all the hotel. For the next time, do not hesitate to ask a room with a garden view :) We try very hard to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible. You should not stay on this dissonance !

Very cordially,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are well appointed, the windows are brand new, the bed is comfortable. The bathrooms are spotless. Yes, there is no a/c but the other strengths offset this issue. The front desk is always staffed and cleaning staff are ever present and always working. I' ve read some of the other reviews. A few are off-base. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it. At these reasonable room rates, you will not find a better hotel in Paris.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read that you had such a great time here at the Magellan Hotel. We greatly appreciate it and we can’t wait to see you around our lobby again very soon! We encourage you to add us on Facebook to learn about all the great things we have going on in our city!

Sincerly,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

hotel fine for a short stay went in july,had problems with the room would not lock but got moved,rooms very hot no air-conditioning,a little noisey on street side,free safe,all you can eat continental breakfast,meats cheese,juice yoghurt,no hot food only eggs is you boil your self,small rooms but you only sleep in them,5-8 minute walk to nearest metro 10-15 minute walk to ARC DE TRI0MPHE,where you can pick the hop on hop off bus which goes round the main attraction 44euro for 2 days,watch our for people asking you to sign a form for the deaf near the eiffel tower it is a CON we saw people sign it then they give money,then they walk away and give money to the main man

Room Tip: garden view.not much of a garden just a court yard avoid over looking main road noisey as you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robby14789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments.
Several customers complained about the heat this summer in Paris and inside the hotel. We are studying the possibility of installing the air conditioning. It should work before the next year.
We gave all summer to our clients ventilators and we regret that you were not able to obtain one from your room. The hotel is considered as being very for the quiet, particularly in our garden. It's rare to find in Paris hotels which have a garden and all our clients appreciate very much this place. You certainly had no luck with the noise pollutions that to evoke you and we are sorry about that. Nevertheless, we hope we can welcome you next time during a next visit in Paris.

Sincerly,

Hélène Dequaire,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Magellan July 19-23 2013. I chose this hotel because of location to the Champ des Elysees as we were in Paris for the finish of the Tour de France. This hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Arc de Triomphe. It is a small hotel with small rooms, narrow hallways and no ac as we were there during a heat wave. The breakfast was included in our package and it was ok. The restaurant/bar at the end of the street was good, I think the name was BA-YEN. Paris is very compact as we walked everywhere and did not try the subway system.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tattoox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I travelled with my sister to Paris for 4 nights and our stay in Magellan was great. We stayed at a room on the ground floor that faced the courtyard. At first I was unhappy about the ground floor but when I came into the room I was surprised. The view is ok, the room is spacious, the bathroom is nice and everything is absolutely clean. Breakfast is fantastic and fresh. However, the only problem that could be one for some people is the fact that at night one can hear otherd outside their own room. I was so tired every night though so I didn't mind (and I'm a light sleeper). Metro stations are close by and so is the arc de triumphe. We also walked to sacre coeur and the eiffel tower for approximately one hour to each place. The staff is nice and almost all speak english well.

Helpful?
2 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your compliments about our hotel during your recent stay and are delighted to learn that you appreciate our installations and our services.

We hope to have again the pleasure of you welcomed.

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the magellan hotel paris for three nights in what must have been the hottest weekend, so we really could have done with air conditioning but that aside every thing else about the hotel was as we were expecting, friendly and helpful staff, ,its also got a very nice courtyard. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the arc de triomphe

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Sir,

We are delighted to learn that your stay was pleasant to you. I shall not miss to transmit your compliments to my associates. We thank you for your comments and we are impatient to welcome you again in our hotel !

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#336 of 1,800 in Paris
190 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#362 of 1,800 in Paris
512 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#204 of 1,800 in Paris
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Les Jardins de la Villa & Spa
Batignolles-Monceau
Niel Hotel
Niel Hotel
#732 of 1,800 in Paris
298 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,103 of 1,800 in Paris
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Property: Hotel Magellan
Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#268 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing