We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a Street Map”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #322 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

One of the primary reasons I chose this hotel was because of the many positive recommendations about the location. Well, we never had any luck with that. We asked the desk clerk directions on several occasions but he was either not very good or we are seriously directionally challenged. I think he assumed more than he should have about a stranger's knowledge of the area. If we had it to do over, we'd never have stayed here. The room was clean, the food was fine (loved the fresh squeezed orange juice if we could get there early enough to beat the crowd), but Not convenient. [Actually, our trip was June a year ago, I'm just late getting this posted]. I don't remember if they advertised that the wifi worked, but it certainly didn't in Our room. We had to go downstairs to a little room and use the community computer. But at least they had one available for free use.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a pretty view (it's in the Haussmann area) and one that wasn't too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintage40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in Magellan.

We hope that you returned well and that your journey of return was pleasant.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a good stay among us.

We are sorry that the WiFi did not work. We usually have no problems with internet acces.

Very cordially,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here recently (Aug 2013) for a treat for our silver wedding. We booked it as part of a deal with AA Getaways, and it came as a package with Eurostar tickets. Good location, not far from the Porte de Champerret metro station, although I would recommend anyone taking a trip here to download a good local map to get you from metro to hotel. We had an amusing conversation with three armed gendarmes who had never heard of the street or the hotel, but who kindly rang the hotel to get clearer directions for us! The hotel is on a quiet street and has a pleasant reception area. The staff were welcoming and spoke English, although I endeavoured to use my schoolgirl French wherever I could. Our room was spotless, and although not large it was well appointed. The bathroom was large, but my one grizzle was that it was not possible to open the bathroom windows. We stayed during some hot and humid conditions, and the lack of a/c made this feel more airless. We were given a large cylinder fan for the room which was a great help. Free wifi in the room was great (everywhere in uk seems to charge for it). Breakfasts good - great selection, fresh OJ was fab, (much better than the reconstituted stuff on offer from machines in many hotels). Location not bad - easy access to metro. Short walk to Arc de Triomphe. Hotel staff kept our suitcases for us on departure day, and kindly booked a taxi for us for our return Eurostar from Gare du Nord.
Overall, very pleasant experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreesiaBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Hote,

First of all we would like to thank you for your visit in Magellan.

That pleases us to read that the hotel pleased you and that our staff was able to assist you and to make your stay among us unforgettable.

We hope we can welcome you soon at our hotel.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a little gem of a hotel! Great value. The hotel is very clean and smart looking - not luxurious obviously for the price but very nice. Rooms are nice and beds comfy. The breakfast is lovely - all fresh with plenty of choice and re-filled constantly s o nothing runs out. The little courtyard outside is a nice touch - we sat drinking wine (reasonably priced) in the evening as well as having breakfast there. The location is in a nice residential area with good links to transport but it is a bit out of the way, being 15 mins walk from Arc De Triumphe but quite a way from everything else. You can't be near everything though! And it was nice to get away from the crowds and relax at the end of each day. The staff are fantastic - so helpful and friendly.We went during the Parisians holiday time so a lot of the shops and restaurants around the hotel were closed. Nice restaurant at the end of the road though (Bayen). Our only grumble was that the rooms are hot with no air con. However, we asked for a fan which helped. I wold highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable, good value break in Paris.

Room Tip: Ours was overlooking the courtyard so were awoken by the breakfast preparations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice hotel! Nice rooms, very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast!!! Fresh squeezed orange juice! Get there early so you can sit outside in the patio....it's very beautiful. Pretty good location....not to far from the Arc de triomphe and Champs de Élysées. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hello !

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you for your recent review.

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Quiet neighborhood. Metro is a good 5 min away (Pereire station). Selections of restaurants and bars can be picked from around the Pereire station. Wifi is a bit suspect as it only worked for me for 1 night out of the two we stayed there. Room is beautifully furnished. Staff is friendly but the night person seemed a bit unhappy that he had to wake up at 4 am to check us out at that hour. He was also hesitant to help us out about calling our shuttle pickup at midnight. (He kept insisting noone would pick up the phone yet someone did).

Breakfast was EXCELLENT. Best one we had so far in Europe with a variety of selections and very friendly kitchen staff).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cagsawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Very sorry about the internet acces. Normally, there is no problem to get connection in the room...

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I can't imagine a better deal in Paris in August than what I got at this hotel. It's true, I did have to pay full price several months in advance, without hope of refund, but that worked out great. Where can you stay at a very nice hotel, with a huge and varied breakfast, in Paris, for 65 EUR a night? The room was quiet and clean, the bedding crisp and white and clean, and the breakfast ample and good. At times, the bathroom floor was a little sticky, but that was hardly a concern given all the other positives. Note also that's it's not in the center of things, and if you go in August, a bunch of nearby stuff is closed. But, I found most everyone friendly and helpful, and I appreciated the English language newspapers. It's true many of the guests spoke English, and that took me out of the French experience a little, but everything else worked for me here. It was a risk paying a non-refundable fee so far ahead of my visit, but I can't imagine a better Paris hotel experience. This is a very nice and comfortable place.

Room Tip: For the only time in my life, I had Room No. 1. I loved it, but the window opened to the terrace, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! We are so happy that you had a great stay here with us at the Magellan and that you thought our staff was professional and courteous. We try very hard to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible! Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First the positive points - and they were VERY positive. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. It is also great that they are all fluent in English and were very eager to make sure that our stay with them was comfortable and enjoyable. Another very big plus is the breakfast which was very generous and delicous. It consists of delicous pastries, breads ,yogurts and much more. In addition, the breakfast staff is extremeley helpful and kind as well. The rooms were EXTREMELY CLEAN and the bathroom is gigantic by European hotel standards. However as pleasant as the hotel was, I feel that I have to share my experiences for those planning a trip in the summer. As another reviewer mentioned the hotel does not have airconditioning which is very common for small hotels in France. We happened to be in Paris during a heatwave and the temperatures got as high as 35 celsius. Not having airconditioning made it extremely uncomfortable. To compound this problem the windows in the room opened in toward the room instead of out. The curtains did not allow us to open up the windows all the way and it was impossible to position the curtains to allow us to get privacy and fresh air at the same time. We could either open the windows and have our room exposed (no privacy) or close them to get privacy but not both. In addition, our room overlooked the courtyard (garden) which at first looks lovely but then you realize the downside to this. I don't believe that the courtyard is closed at an official time so sometimes people would be outside talking and laughing until 12:00 or 1:00 in the monring. and this made it very hard to get a good night's sleep. In addition, in the morning we would be awaken by the noise of the staff setting up the courtyard for breakfast. In the end I say stay in this hotel if you traveling during the spring or fall but beware during the summer.

Room Tip: If traveling during the summer be on notice that it does not have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time out to review the Magellan. We greatly appreciate.
We are sorry that this idyll was disrupted by the heat. Paris knew one very hot August and know that we study very seriously the possibility of installing the air conditioning in all the hotel.

Everyone here really does try their hardest to create an experience of a lifetime for all our guests! Thank you again for all your feedback and comments! We can't wait to see you here in Magellan again very soon!

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#414 of 1,803 in Paris
528 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Ampere Paris
Hotel Ampere Paris
#204 of 1,803 in Paris
1,300 reviews
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#275 of 1,803 in Paris
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,157 of 1,803 in Paris
166 reviews
Hotel Regent's Garden
#91 of 1,803 in Paris
920 reviews
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#5 of 14 in Levallois-Perret
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#268 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £97 - £1,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Péreire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing