We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost everything you want in a hotel room”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #289 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost everything you want in a hotel room”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Room 103 at Le Magellan for 9 days. The room IS small but it has large TV, bedside tables & lamps, desk, telephone, closet with PLENTY of hangers (unusual in many American hotels!), and a large window overlooking the lovely COURTYARD.
But, there is no room fridge & no air conditioning. Could have used both as it was quite hot & humid during our stay. The compact bathroom has toilet, bidet, sink, bathtub (with built-in laundry line), and a small, wall-mounted hair
dryer.
The front desk staff are helpful, the kitchen staff is very cordial. The breakfasts are basically all you can eat: baguettes, croissants, pains au chocolat, pastries, bread for toasting, cheeses, cold cuts, eggs, fresh & dried fruits, butter, jams, honey, FRESH orange juice, carafes of coffee served with small pitcher of hot milk, tea. We often skipped lunch because we could have such an ample breakfast!
Le Magellan is a small, charming hotel. The lobby & sitting room are nice, you can get drinks at the bar, the location is near the Palais des Congrès, and several Métro stops; the neighborhood has good restaurants & cafés.
So, why would I NOT STAY THERE AGAIN?
CIGARETTE SMOKE.
Before, during, and after breakfast -- and at all times of the day or night -- people went into the courtyard to smoke. I'm allergic to smoke & it aggravates my asthma. And it was too hot during our stay to keep the window closed, so, lots of cigarette smoke came into our room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you for having taken time to share your experiences of your stay among us. We are delighted to read that you have have a pleasant stay. We are sorry to learn that you were disrupted by the smell of cigarette. The hotel is non-smoking and thus it is the only possibility for our customers to go to the garden to smoke a cigarette. The air conditioning should be installed in rooms soon. We hope we can nevertheless welcome you again during your next visit in the city.

Best regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    365
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
356
58
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very, very impressed!
Fantastic location. Normally, I like to stay right in the city centre but you have everything you need around the Magellan and can be on the Metro to anywhere you like in 5 minutes. When we wanted to go to Versailles for the day, the staff not only came out to help us buy our tickets from the machine, but also printed us out a journey plan which was invaluable.
The area is quiet (so the glorious hot weather wasn't a problem as we just opened the windows wide at night) yet has all the amenities you need; Carrefour Express for water, snacks etc., and great cafes and restaurants. We particularly liked the nearby Indian (Shri Ganesh), the Thai (Le Nem?) a pizza place and a little take-away round the corner owned by a very friendly French/Egyptian family.
The hotel staff are fantastic - everyone is extremely helpful and no-one passes you without a smile and a greeting. They take pride in their work and it shows.
Rooms are fine (previous reviewer - our door had an internal lock, we had a bathtub with shower, and I wouldn't expect any hotel to give me a free toothbrush and paste!!).
Breakfast is at a sensible time (not too early!), is plentiful and delicious and you can eat inside or in the lovely courtyard.
We had a fantastic stay (wish it had been longer) and would definitely stay here again.
Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisondonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Alison,

We are delighted to read that you have have a magnificent stay among us ! Thank you very much for your comment. it’s great to know that you enjoyed the concept of the rooms so much. We hope you were able to have some nice dreams in our comfortable rooms.

We hope to see you again soon,

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here while in Paris, and although it wasn't bad, it did have it's quirks.

This location is pretty close to everything, but at the same time isnt, if you get what I'm trying to say. You probably don't so let me try and explain. It is walking distance to the Arc de Triomphe and Charles de Gaulle round about. About a mile away. But to some people a mile is still a way to go. When you run all the time like myself, I think of a mile like nothing, but some people consider it a walk still. However if it's your first time in Paris, exploring and seeing the sights is not bad.

So you want more of a perspective on the location of this hotel? THE EIFFEL TOWER IS 2 MILES AWAY.

As for the hotel it's not located on a main street so you may have to get use to locating if you are here for a few days and navigating through town. The neighborhood itself didn't seem bad. There are a lot of small stores and restaurants/cafe close by.

The Metro is about a 5 minute walk and then from there you can reach anywhere you want to go that is if you want to brave learning to use the Metro

Front desk staff, through the 3 different ones I've encountered all spoke English. However during the breakfast (that is included everyday) the staff maybe more limited in the English language, but you'll do ok. The included breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries that all tasted very good. Especially the baguettes. There are different slices of meats and a few cheese selections. Yogurts, fruit cups, fruits are also available. You can also make your own hard boiled egg. They have a fresh orange juice maker as well. You can ask for coffee, tea, and milk is also available along with various cereals. Now just like with most things in Europe it seems.. ICE is scarce and so is water. The water they have is tap (I've seen it) so if you are scared to drink tap from here, that is on you. There is no ice, no soda. Overall the breakfast was adequate and satisfying to last you through the morning.

The rooms were ok. Not big, but not super compact. Good for 2 carrying 3-4 luggage bags. The bed and the comforters were comfortable. THERE IS NO AC. There is a window. The shower is small, and although fits 1 comfortable, if you are trying to be kinky, it may be a tight squeeze for 2. There is no tub. You are provided some soap, shampoo, etc. No toothbrush or toothpaste for those wondering. THERE IS NO FRIDGE in the room.

So some of the quirks why I had to reduce 2 stars. Our first day there, we just checked in, the house keeper just barges in the room?! To put soap and some other things in the bathroom that we already had. She didn't even ask if she can go in, she just straight up opened the door with her master key.

On another night we were already sleeping, although the lights were on, and this time one of the people in the front desk opened the door suddenly without really making sure to see if someone was there. I overheard and it was because another couple could not open their door and I think the front desk guy misheard the room being 201 and not 210. COME ON NOW. What if my wife and I were making sweet passionate--or heck crazy animal sex? Or perhaps he wanted to take a glimpse of my wife--or worse myself!??

THERE IS NO DEADBOLT LOCK OR CHAIN THINGY THAT USA HOTELS HAVE FOR THIS REASON.

Another quirk was although wifi is free, signal and speed is barely satisfactory. Sometimes it would be super slow to where you wanted to blame your computer/phone although you know it is the connection's fault.

And finally, although the rooms are quiet, you can hear everything once doors start opening and people are outside the hallways.

Would I stay here again? Yea probably if this was the best price at the time compared to others in similar vicinity/location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gn116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Sir,

We thank you for your comments.

We took very seriously the unpleasant incident which marked your previous stay in our hotel.

We always invite our residents to inform the Manager of service of the problems which they meet from their arisen, the purpose being to make sure that the problems are quickly taken into account and that our clients have a pleasant stay in our hotel. In your case, the direction of the hotel was not informed about the incident and deeply regrets the inconveniences which were caused to you.

Do not hesitate to contact me by email in "helene.dequaire@hotelmagellan.com" so that we can remedy the problem and assure that an incident as this one will not reproduce any more.

Sincerly,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked a package through AA Getaways including Eurostar, great value. Close to Periere for Metro, RER & Buses & a 10 mins walk to Arc de Triomphe. Rooms clean & comfortable with safe & Free Wifi which worked OK. Overlooked the garden so could leave the windows open. Breakfast plentiful & nice to have the outside courtyard. Reception staff very helpful (will store luggage on day of departure) A number of restaurants 5 mins walk away & Cafe Bayen at the end of the road worth a visit. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

That pleases to read that we knew how to let in a sunbeam during your stay in Paris.

A bientôt !

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent 3 night here in July.

hotel décor and rooms seem a bit old, but very clean, so that's a good thing.

I read in some reviews that the missing a/c was a problem. I really didn't suffer it that much probably thanks to the fact that we asked for a garden view room and we could leave the window open.

staff very friendly...probably the breakfast staff should smile a bit more :)

hotel very well positioned in Paris.

could easily come back in some future trip!

Room Tip: Get a Garden view room! if possible ask not the ones with the fire ladder...you'd feel safer lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Dona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your stay at our hotel.

It is with great pleasure that I shall inform all our employees of your kind words and your remark (breakfast indeed).

We are delighted to read that you had a magnificent stay among us and we hope we can welcome you soon among us.

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernUS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

One of the primary reasons I chose this hotel was because of the many positive recommendations about the location. Well, we never had any luck with that. We asked the desk clerk directions on several occasions but he was either not very good or we are seriously directionally challenged. I think he assumed more than he should have about a stranger's knowledge of the area. If we had it to do over, we'd never have stayed here. The room was clean, the food was fine (loved the fresh squeezed orange juice if we could get there early enough to beat the crowd), but Not convenient. [Actually, our trip was June a year ago, I'm just late getting this posted]. I don't remember if they advertised that the wifi worked, but it certainly didn't in Our room. We had to go downstairs to a little room and use the community computer. But at least they had one available for free use.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a pretty view (it's in the Haussmann area) and one that wasn't too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintage40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in Magellan.

We hope that you returned well and that your journey of return was pleasant.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a good stay among us.

We are sorry that the WiFi did not work. We usually have no problems with internet acces.

Very cordially,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oop North
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here recently (Aug 2013) for a treat for our silver wedding. We booked it as part of a deal with AA Getaways, and it came as a package with Eurostar tickets. Good location, not far from the Porte de Champerret metro station, although I would recommend anyone taking a trip here to download a good local map to get you from metro to hotel. We had an amusing conversation with three armed gendarmes who had never heard of the street or the hotel, but who kindly rang the hotel to get clearer directions for us! The hotel is on a quiet street and has a pleasant reception area. The staff were welcoming and spoke English, although I endeavoured to use my schoolgirl French wherever I could. Our room was spotless, and although not large it was well appointed. The bathroom was large, but my one grizzle was that it was not possible to open the bathroom windows. We stayed during some hot and humid conditions, and the lack of a/c made this feel more airless. We were given a large cylinder fan for the room which was a great help. Free wifi in the room was great (everywhere in uk seems to charge for it). Breakfasts good - great selection, fresh OJ was fab, (much better than the reconstituted stuff on offer from machines in many hotels). Location not bad - easy access to metro. Short walk to Arc de Triomphe. Hotel staff kept our suitcases for us on departure day, and kindly booked a taxi for us for our return Eurostar from Gare du Nord.
Overall, very pleasant experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreesiaBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Hote,

First of all we would like to thank you for your visit in Magellan.

That pleases us to read that the hotel pleased you and that our staff was able to assist you and to make your stay among us unforgettable.

We hope we can welcome you soon at our hotel.

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#348 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#460 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel le Mireille
Hotel le Mireille
#444 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#232 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Champerret Elysees
#559 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Hotel Gaston
#268 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Property: Hotel Magellan
Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#268 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing